Letters to the Editor

Applauding Breckenridge music (letter)

July 29, 2015 — 

Thursday night, I had the pleasure to attend a Breckenridge Music Festival event with headliner “Time for Three.” What an amazing event!

I attended on a whim by the request to join a friend, and I sure am glad I went. Classical mixed with pop and a hilarious rendition of “The Devil went down to Georgia” for a closing act. The energy of the conductor and headliner kept the audience smiling the entire time.

Learn more »

A tip of the hat for everday generosity (letter)

July 28, 2015 — 

My dad and I were having breakfast at Sunshine Cafe last Saturday morning. He is a World War II veteran and had placed his cap on the table. Our waiter brought our food and told us that the people at the table behind us had bought our breakfast. We turned around to thank them but they had already left.

Thank you for your generosity and recognition of my dad.

Learn more »

Ignorance, a fading idea (letter)

July 28, 2015 — 

Re: Chuck Abrams opinion “Shame on the Supreme Court”

It never ceases to amaze me how much hate can result from an idea as peaceful as Christianity. How in the lunacy of your mind does giving someone equal rights take away yours? It doesn’t matter whether you accept or uphold the U.S. Supreme Courts ruling to redefine the term marriage. It is now law.

Learn more »

Freedom of religion, and freedom from religion (letter)

July 28, 2015 — 

In his July 24, 2015 letter to the editor, Chuck Abrams states his dissatisfaction with the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling in favor of same-sex marriage. He implies that upholding the civil rights of homosexuals is somehow violating his religious rights.

I say that this is nonsense, and that his feelings come from a misunderstanding of what religious rights actually are.

Learn more »

Who knows the mind of Christ? (letter)

July 25, 2015 — 

I am quite pleased that Richard Venier (Letter to the editor, July 22), who seems to claim that knows the mind of Christ, finds a great deal of comfort from his belief that the Bible is the absolute word of God and that Jesus is God and, therefore, the gay lifestyle must be “aberrant behavior.”

The only serious problem that I have with Mr. Venier and his ilk is when they attempt to legislate their beliefs, so that I — and others who do not agree with them — must live according to those beliefs.

Learn more »

Construction diminishes Vail Mountain

July 24, 2015 — 

I read with sadness your July 22 article, “Construction continues on Vail Mountain.”

It confirmed what I had already suspected after having recently traveled to the top of the gondola there to hike: That the beautiful summer mountain experience has been totally exchanged for a horribly ugly conglomeration of “tourist attractions.”

Learn more »

Iran deal: In the crosshairs of a rogue nation (letter)

July 24, 2015 — 

I’m trying to get my head around what just happened with respect to the agreement Kerry and Obama made with Iran. Perhaps one of our liberal friends can offer some assistance.

The agreement was made; Congress was to be provided 60 days after they received the document containing the agreement to review, ask questions and then vote up or down to approve or disapprove. Obama could overturn a disapproval if the Senate did not have the necessary votes to withstand the veto.

Learn more »

Shame on the Supreme Court for gay marriage decision (letter)

July 24, 2015 — 

Re: Carrie Brown-Wolf’s July 20 column, “Backlash against gay marriage

We sit here as Americans today with another polarizing decision from the U.S. Supreme Court. In writing the decision for the four other assenting justices, Justice Anthony Kennedy got to redefine the word marriage for the citizens of the USA — which I will never accept nor uphold — and I believe most American’s would take issue with.

Learn more »

From the Goebbels playbook (letter)

July 23, 2015 — 

Morgan Liddick’s scapegoating of undocumented immigrants (specifically those from Mexico — despite his admission not to racialize the debate) is a maneuver out of the playbook of Paul Joseph Goebbels (Hitler’s Minister of Propaganda). With the clever and clinical manipulation of emotions bookending his column and isolated statistics, Liddick masquerades as the guardian of White America’s safety against murderous Mexicans — the Second Amendment and the proliferation of guns notwithstanding. Once again, I suspect he has gleaned unthinkingly the stats from websites like the Center for Immigration Studies ­— sounds innocuous and unbiased; yet, according to the Southern Poverty Law Center, CIS has “direct financial connections to several hate groups.”

I encourage the reader to access the following studies by reputable researchers:

Learn more »

There goes the neighborhood (letter)

July 23, 2015 — 

Well it’s that time again — the invasion of the HOAs marking their territory — putting up proverbial fences to protect the neighborhood. Problem is their neighborhood has no sense of community only the declaration l own it; it’s my right, my entitlement. With the real estate climate ripe for a shift from owning a home to managing an investment, HOAs are becoming a metaphor for what’s wrong in America.

The right to happiness through owning HOA property is a far cry from Thomas Jefferson’s declaration of “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” (happiness being an adaptation of John Locke’s concept of property). Lost in translation is the importance of “pursuit.” Mine, mine, mine has replaced the original intent of life in America being a pursuit of excellence shared in with other Americans.

Learn more »

No pets at Dillon Farmers Market (letter)

July 23, 2015 — 

The Dillon Farmers Market is a no pet event! Yet people insist on bringing their dogs.

On July 17, there were several dogs on leashes there that decided it was time to get in a fight, and their owners were having a difficult time restraining them.

Learn more »

Love doesn't mean accepting sin (letter)

July 22, 2015 — 

In a recent column, Carrie Brown-Wolf makes a good point in stating “There’s nothing wrong with more love in the world.” However, I will argue with Ms. Brown-Wolf’s suggestion that the Bible is an antiquated book which is no longer relevant because “life has changed.” Actually, nothing has changed regarding human behavior in our steady march toward degradation. It is true, as Brown-Wolf states, that we no longer feed people to lions. We have replaced that hideous activity with the more “acceptable” abortion procedure, feeding our unborn children to the insatiable teeth of self-service and expediency. I also take umbrage with Ms. Brown-Wolf’s egregious error in suggesting that, because Jesus’ life was a depiction of love and acceptance, he would have supported gay marriage “hands down.” It is curious that one who believes the Bible to be antiquated would use its most important personality to support her more “intelligently sophisticated” beliefs. As one who has more than a cursory familiarity with the Bible, I have to state unequivocally that Jesus, who is God and who loves the sinner unconditionally, does not condone sin in any way. The Bible gives us a clear understanding that God describes the gay lifestyle as an aberrant behavior to which He objects vehemently, His love for them notwithstanding. It is my objective to follow Jesus’ example to love all people including those who pursue the gay lifestyle, as well as those who inaccurately portray the mind of Christ. Nevertheless, I will stand for the truth as I see it in God’s word, and stand against the prevailing notion that the Bible is obsolete and that God is irrelevant. This notion is rapidly moving our nation and culture down the slippery slope that Judge Robert Bork described as “Slouching toward Gomorrah.”

Richard Venier

Learn more »

More thoughts on the GOP 4th of July float (letter)

July 15, 2015 — 

First, Kim McGahey claims 99 percent approved of the messages at the parade. As chair of the Summit GOP, I am sure he is quoting a scientifically objective survey source. And to him and others who thought that criticism of the signs was an attempt at censorship. No! Conservatives always think Liberals are trying to muzzle them. We are just exercising our freedom of speech to comment when the Right does something stupid. We are curious as to why, on a day when all Americans celebrate the greatness of this nation after 239 years of freedom, the local Right felt it necessary to use highly partisan messages. Then I remembered. The GOP is now represented by Donald Trump.

Ted Thomas

Learn more »

Potential solution to Breck parking woes (letter)

July 14, 2015 — 

I recently read with interest about the dilemma of managing parking and vehicular congestion in Breckenridge. This is a common problem, especially in municipalities in vacation areas where there are huge ebb and flows of traffic.

As a resident of Sarasota, Florida, I am involved with a group grappling with the same issue for our also tourist-driven economy. While doing so, I’ve come across some interesting readings.

Learn more »

Breckenridge, Vail Resorts bungling parking problem (letter)

July 11, 2015 — 

I was both fascinated and disgusted by the two guest columns on the parking structure debate in Breckenridge. Reading them makes one think that we have our own local version of spin doctors and political deadlock. Gary Shimanowitz of Vail Resorts reminds me of the pot calling the kettle black. Just how much has Vail raised ticket and lesson prices in the last 6-8 years? And how much has Vail pushed the boundaries of monopoly with their size and legal harassment – remember what used to be the best restaurant on the mountain? Not to mention their attempts to control every revenue stream from transportation to lodging to restaurants to ski shops. Thank goodness that they’re relatively inept at small business so that the small businesses that built Breckenridge can usually survive just by offering better service. I’m glad I’ll probably be retired before the final shoe drops when Vail builds (and controls) all the retail space in whatever monstrosity the town lets them get away with building around the gondola. Does anyone else think the town was a better place when Art Bowles was strictly in the “uphill transportation business”? Please spare us the lecture about “how to protect our guest” Mr. Shimanowitz.

Listening to Tim Gagen whine about money is just about as insulting. If nothing else, the new Great Wall of Breckenridge at the town’s south entrance justifies Mr. Schimanowitz’s assertion that the town has more money than it should. Remember when the town wanted to raise property taxes because they didn’t have the stomach to trim staff – when the rest of us not only had to trim staff but also skip paychecks to keep the doors open? Remind me, how much did the new Community Center run over budget? And where did that money come from? And how much does the town spend to fund a defined benefit pension plan that the rest of us can only dream about? Please spare us the tears Mr. Gagen. And don’t hide behind the town’s wish list.

Learn more »

Summit County GOP chairman defends Fourth of July slogans (letter)

July 11, 2015 — 

A recent letter to the editor complaining about one of the most popular floats in this past weekend’s Breckenridge and Frisco Fourth of July parades refers to the 99%. By acclamation, 99% of the people in attendance at the parades gave their overwhelming vocal approval to the dozen pro-liberty banners on the Summit County Republican float.

We would like to comply with Donna Every and her fellow Saul Alinsky progressive central planners’ request for new slogans: “If You like Your Country, You Can Keep It — Vote Conservative 2016”, “Obama Lies — Freedom Dies,” “America is Exceptional and You Did Build It,” “Liberals Always Accuse You of What They are Guilty Of” and my personal favorite “Love Your Neighbor As Yourself.”

Learn more »

Remembering Patrick Mahany (letter)

July 9, 2015 — 

I would like to say a few words about the recent accidental death of Flight for Life pilot, Patrick Mahany. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Mahany several times on our hikes on the Wildernest trails in Siverthorne. It was never less than 30 minutes of interesting, lively chat, while our dogs played close by. It broke my heart to hear of this tragedy. Whenever I saw the helicopter flying over, I would always think of him fondly and it would remind that I missed our casual encounters on the trails, since we moved to Breck. I will never forget a quote he shared with me about his job. He told me that he would say to the accident victims that he was rescuing, “We’re the best thing that you will ever see, on the worst day of your life.” Jeff Baldwin’s recent quote about his friend is right on. He will be missed by many...

Dianne Siegfried

Learn more »

Free speech for thee, but not for me? (letter)

July 9, 2015 — 

Ah, another letter from an outraged Progressive. Recently, Donna Every blasted the GOP message “…vote for someone who will defend this country.” Hardly a week goes by without letters to the editor ripping into the opinions of the SDN’s only regular conservative columnist, Morgan Liddick, suggesting the newspaper drop his column. On her Facebook page, a former SDN scribe applauds her current paper’s policy of refusing to publish letters from conservatives.

I find it highly ironic that Ms. Every and her fellow liberals, who claim to defend the rights of all women, children, races, genders — in fact, apparently everyone but white males who own a second home in Summit County — have such a great intolerance for, and demand the censorship of, any opinions that differ from their own.

Learn more »

Learn to share the Summit County recpath safely (letter)

July 9, 2015 — 

Walking the so-called shared recpath from the east end of the Dillon Reservoir dam towards Frisco was a very hazardous undertaking — despite very clearly worded yellow caution signs along the way.

Cyclists were less worrisome to walkers/runners when approaching them from the front. The main concerns being the excessive speed of the riders and/or the cyclists riding two abreast in the narrow lanes while crossing the dam. A slight distraction by a rider, walker, or runner could result in a tragedy and loss of life.

Learn more »

Defining freedom isn't isn't easy (letter)

July 4, 2015 — 

Morgan Liddick is a marvelous writer, a fine historian and an asset to the quality of the Summit Daily News. His opinion on the subject of freedom and its foundational importance to the heart of our nation he proffers beautifully in his June 30 column. It is in full accord with conservative philosophy.

Mr. Liddick identifies freedom as the foundation on which America finds it’s strength. It is important to know what freedom is. Is it freedom to do what you please? Or, is freedom doing those actions which most closely accord with highest principle? Too often, political and economic players willfully compromise principle for gain (which is far removed from freedom). The first definition allows one to do harm in his exercise of freedom.

Learn more »

Supreme Court decisions expose legal contradictions (letter)

July 4, 2015 — 

I am so thankful for the Supremes’ two decisions this last week!

Number one: The law doesn’t mean what it clearly says for the good of the citizen and his/her welfare. I’ll soon be interpreting every law using the new “Roberts Rule” so that they are now for the good of this citizen and his welfare.

Learn more »

The price of freedom (letter)

July 3, 2015 — 

It may not be the most beautiful place in America, but it has to be in the top two or three. Looking over the lake water at the snow-capped mountains across from the amphitheater on a bright, clear day makes the occasion for celebrating the birthday of our nation’s Declaration of Independence a wonderful time for thanksgiving. Thanksgiving to our creator who in so many ways has endowed us with the unalienable right to life. Thanksgiving for the right of liberty to live with our family and friends as we freely choose. Thanksgiving for the right to pursue happiness as only a free and blessed peoples can enjoy.

It was a warm sunny day on July 4, 1776 when 56 Founding Fathers signed their name to the world’s most unique document. A document that conceived the world’s greatest nation. Their signature was signing their own death warrant if their great adventure failed. It did not and hasn’t. We are still the greatest nation the world has ever known. But, we are having a difficult time finding the same strength, courage and wisdom that is needed today as in 1776.

Learn more »

Parking garage in Breckenridge? Off with their heads! (letter)

July 3, 2015 — 

Remember, we used to live in the parking lots in our VW Microbuses. (It’s a bus, not a van.) Remember “Dread Fred” used to live in the lot where the Breck Brewery is now? What happened here? When did Hippy-Town Breck die?

Now, the politicians are “seeking financing” to build a covered parking structure for the Front Range worms in their sparkling SUVs on their magnificent adventures to the hardcore mountains (from 5 p.m. Friday to Sunday apres ski)? Can’t get a wet snowflake on the new Range Rover, can we?

Learn more »

Uphold freedom of speech on the Fourth (letter)

July 3, 2015 — 

Re: Tony Flitcraft’s “Even The Pope Says She’s Wrong”

My letter has nothing to do with climate change, racism, the welfare state, the national deficit or any other controversial issue that is bantered about everyday in the media. What this letter is really about is freedom.

Learn more »

Meat-industry independence

July 1, 2015 — 

Nearly 240 years ago, our founding fathers declared our national independence from Great Britain. This 4th of July, let’s declare our independence from the meat industry.

More than 60 percent of U.S. agricultural subsidies pay for meat, dairy and egg production. Fresh-fruit and vegetable farmers receive less than one percent of the total. It’s time to declare our independence by stopping these subsidies.

Learn more »

Even the Pope disagrees with her (letter)

June 30, 2015 — 

Re: Susan Stamper Brown’s June 26th opinion, “Whatever happened to common sense regarding climate change?”

I don’t understand how the opinion of such a climate change denier (CCD) was qualified to be published in the SDN. Moreover, if you look behind her CCD curtain, her sources don’t even support her.

Learn more »

The American experiment: From birth to bureaucracy (letter)

June 30, 2015 — 

239 years ago, the British Colonists in America declared their independence from the King and founded a new nation because of a long list of tyrannical grievances. They won a Revolutionary War against the strongest military force in the Western world. We celebrate each year on July 4th the freedom we gained from tyranny with a holiday topped off with amazing fireworks displays.

The Founders resolved those grievances by designing a government that had never been tried before based on the principle of self-government which derives its powers from the consent of the governed. They also recognized the need to institute the unalienable rights that are the foundation of humanity: Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness.

Learn more »

Fundraiser for Summit County's Kent Peterson a success (letter)

June 25, 2015 — 

I would like to extend my thanks and gratitude to a number of people who helped with a fund-raiser held on Thursday, June 18. On behalf of my good friend and long-time local Kent Petersen, we were able to raise enough money for a down payment on a wheel-chair-accessible van. Something Kent badly needs after his debilitating skiing accident back in February.

The silent auction was a huge part of the success with help from Julie Chandler, Lisa Schorr, Guy Bigelow and Mary Luyet. Extra special thanks to Kathy Grotemeyer for expertly running the silent auction. The front door and greetings were tirelessly held down by Kevin Zygulski, James March, Kevin Milligan and Sandy Smith. With help throughout the evening from Skip Lunger and Dan King.

Learn more »

Unfooled by Liddick's prestidigitation on gun control (letter)

June 25, 2015 — 

Re: June 23 Morgan Liddick’s “Charleston’s tragedy shouldn’t be about gun control

Mr. Liddick, perhaps you are correct in some small way that the tragedy that unfolded in Charleston should not come to be (only) about gun control. On the contrary, it may be about the lack of self-control many implement today with the same brazen lack of decency and callow dependence on the lurid and peripheral imagery used to present today’s disappearing act of journalists and traditional conservatives alike.

Learn more »

Truth that is greater than a gun (letter)

June 24, 2015 — 

My response to the words in a recent letter to the editor — “I want to live in a loving (safe) country...in the wake of our most recent heartbreak at the Emmanuel AME Church in Charleston” (Saturday, June 20) — is more than getting rid of guns. If that was the answer, change the U.S. Constitution to prohibit all guns from the people, the cops and the military.

Truth, greater than any gun, mandates going beyond “bullets” of naiveté from voices of indulgence, entitlement, affluence, comfort and convenience. It involves the recognition that white is black and black is white by living inclusively together as human beings, flawed but free, free to lay our lives down for each other in the midst of a world hell-bent on destruction.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top