Letters to the Editor

Defining freedom isn't isn't easy (letter)

July 4, 2015 — 

Morgan Liddick is a marvelous writer, a fine historian and an asset to the quality of the Summit Daily News. His opinion on the subject of freedom and its foundational importance to the heart of our nation he proffers beautifully in his June 30 column. It is in full accord with conservative philosophy.

Mr. Liddick identifies freedom as the foundation on which America finds it’s strength. It is important to know what freedom is. Is it freedom to do what you please? Or, is freedom doing those actions which most closely accord with highest principle? Too often, political and economic players willfully compromise principle for gain (which is far removed from freedom). The first definition allows one to do harm in his exercise of freedom.

Learn more »

Supreme Court decisions expose legal contradictions (letter)

July 4, 2015 — 

I am so thankful for the Supremes’ two decisions this last week!

Number one: The law doesn’t mean what it clearly says for the good of the citizen and his/her welfare. I’ll soon be interpreting every law using the new “Roberts Rule” so that they are now for the good of this citizen and his welfare.

Learn more »

The price of freedom (letter)

July 3, 2015 — 

It may not be the most beautiful place in America, but it has to be in the top two or three. Looking over the lake water at the snow-capped mountains across from the amphitheater on a bright, clear day makes the occasion for celebrating the birthday of our nation’s Declaration of Independence a wonderful time for thanksgiving. Thanksgiving to our creator who in so many ways has endowed us with the unalienable right to life. Thanksgiving for the right of liberty to live with our family and friends as we freely choose. Thanksgiving for the right to pursue happiness as only a free and blessed peoples can enjoy.

It was a warm sunny day on July 4, 1776 when 56 Founding Fathers signed their name to the world’s most unique document. A document that conceived the world’s greatest nation. Their signature was signing their own death warrant if their great adventure failed. It did not and hasn’t. We are still the greatest nation the world has ever known. But, we are having a difficult time finding the same strength, courage and wisdom that is needed today as in 1776.

Learn more »

Parking garage in Breckenridge? Off with their heads! (letter)

July 3, 2015 — 

Remember, we used to live in the parking lots in our VW Microbuses. (It’s a bus, not a van.) Remember “Dread Fred” used to live in the lot where the Breck Brewery is now? What happened here? When did Hippy-Town Breck die?

Now, the politicians are “seeking financing” to build a covered parking structure for the Front Range worms in their sparkling SUVs on their magnificent adventures to the hardcore mountains (from 5 p.m. Friday to Sunday apres ski)? Can’t get a wet snowflake on the new Range Rover, can we?

Learn more »

Uphold freedom of speech on the Fourth (letter)

July 3, 2015 — 

Re: Tony Flitcraft’s “Even The Pope Says She’s Wrong”

My letter has nothing to do with climate change, racism, the welfare state, the national deficit or any other controversial issue that is bantered about everyday in the media. What this letter is really about is freedom.

Learn more »

Meat-industry independence

July 1, 2015 — 

Nearly 240 years ago, our founding fathers declared our national independence from Great Britain. This 4th of July, let’s declare our independence from the meat industry.

More than 60 percent of U.S. agricultural subsidies pay for meat, dairy and egg production. Fresh-fruit and vegetable farmers receive less than one percent of the total. It’s time to declare our independence by stopping these subsidies.

Learn more »

Even the Pope disagrees with her (letter)

June 30, 2015 — 

Re: Susan Stamper Brown’s June 26th opinion, “Whatever happened to common sense regarding climate change?”

I don’t understand how the opinion of such a climate change denier (CCD) was qualified to be published in the SDN. Moreover, if you look behind her CCD curtain, her sources don’t even support her.

Learn more »

The American experiment: From birth to bureaucracy (letter)

June 30, 2015 — 

239 years ago, the British Colonists in America declared their independence from the King and founded a new nation because of a long list of tyrannical grievances. They won a Revolutionary War against the strongest military force in the Western world. We celebrate each year on July 4th the freedom we gained from tyranny with a holiday topped off with amazing fireworks displays.

The Founders resolved those grievances by designing a government that had never been tried before based on the principle of self-government which derives its powers from the consent of the governed. They also recognized the need to institute the unalienable rights that are the foundation of humanity: Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness.

Learn more »

Fundraiser for Summit County's Kent Peterson a success (letter)

June 25, 2015 — 

I would like to extend my thanks and gratitude to a number of people who helped with a fund-raiser held on Thursday, June 18. On behalf of my good friend and long-time local Kent Petersen, we were able to raise enough money for a down payment on a wheel-chair-accessible van. Something Kent badly needs after his debilitating skiing accident back in February.

The silent auction was a huge part of the success with help from Julie Chandler, Lisa Schorr, Guy Bigelow and Mary Luyet. Extra special thanks to Kathy Grotemeyer for expertly running the silent auction. The front door and greetings were tirelessly held down by Kevin Zygulski, James March, Kevin Milligan and Sandy Smith. With help throughout the evening from Skip Lunger and Dan King.

Learn more »

Unfooled by Liddick's prestidigitation on gun control (letter)

June 25, 2015 — 

Re: June 23 Morgan Liddick’s “Charleston’s tragedy shouldn’t be about gun control

Mr. Liddick, perhaps you are correct in some small way that the tragedy that unfolded in Charleston should not come to be (only) about gun control. On the contrary, it may be about the lack of self-control many implement today with the same brazen lack of decency and callow dependence on the lurid and peripheral imagery used to present today’s disappearing act of journalists and traditional conservatives alike.

Learn more »

Truth that is greater than a gun (letter)

June 24, 2015 — 

My response to the words in a recent letter to the editor — “I want to live in a loving (safe) country...in the wake of our most recent heartbreak at the Emmanuel AME Church in Charleston” (Saturday, June 20) — is more than getting rid of guns. If that was the answer, change the U.S. Constitution to prohibit all guns from the people, the cops and the military.

Truth, greater than any gun, mandates going beyond “bullets” of naiveté from voices of indulgence, entitlement, affluence, comfort and convenience. It involves the recognition that white is black and black is white by living inclusively together as human beings, flawed but free, free to lay our lives down for each other in the midst of a world hell-bent on destruction.

Learn more »

Why we quit Breckenridge vacations (letter)

June 21, 2015 — 

After watching “High Profits” on CNN, my wife an I have decided we will not be going to Breckenridge for any of our future vacations The idea that some people have that marijuana on Main Street is going to harm the brand of Breckenridge are wrong.

What made me decide not to vacation in what looks like a wonderful mountain town is the people who live there and their anti-business attitudes, not marijuana. Ignorant people are what tarnished the Breckenridge brand for us. We can’t spend our money in a place that stifles business at the sake of peoples’ perceptions and what if’s.

Learn more »

Go going on Interstate 70 solutions, CDOT (letter)

June 21, 2015 — 

I just read Phyllis Ohlemacher’s June 19 letter (“Front Range residents frustrated with the Interstate 70 crawl to mountains”) — What a relief to finally have someone speak up!

I have lived in Colorado since 1965, in Frisco since 2006 and can’t believe the ignorance of our CDOT officials.

Learn more »

Charleston mass shooting remind us to stop easy access to guns (letter)

June 20, 2015 — 

I want to live in a loving country, not a land where white supremacist groups are increasing in membership, where law enforcement kills without due consideration, where our President is stopped in his efforts to make guns less easily available. I’m tired of the heartbreaking mass slayings of innocents in a country that should be a leader in peace and acceptance. I do not want to believe that hearts and minds are growing smaller and that intolerance and prejudice are on the rise.

Recently, our community showed its support for the people of Langtang Village, Nepal, which was destroyed by the earthquake, by supporting Doctors to the World. It is extremely heartening to see such care, concern, and action from our community for a critical cause. It is a blessing to live in a loving community. We can reach across the world to help, so let’s reach toward our President to help decrease access to guns in this country. My hope is that we can take action to stop easy access to guns and make our country a safer home for everyone.

Learn more »

Front Range residents frustrated with the Interstate 70 crawl to mountains (letter)

June 19, 2015 — 

We live in Denver and in Frisco; therefore, we often travel I-70 both directions. We take advantage of the information available to us relating to delays on the Interstate — email notifications from CDOT and checking the streaming cameras. During ski season and during the Twin Tunnels blasting and construction, this worked very well. Unfortunately, that is no longer the case.

On June 9 (a Tuesday and not the busy season yet!), we left Frisco for Denver and it took 90 minutes longer. There are at least five different projects on I-70 and there seems to be no coordination between the project managers. You are instructed to “merge left, right lane closed,” then it’s “merge right, left lane closed,” then we had striping, paving, scaling, Idaho Springs bridge... Many choke points for traffic and we were at a dead stop quite often.

Learn more »

Protect the wetlands at Angler Mountain (letter)

June 18, 2015 — 

Keep Angler Mountain space wild

We are opposed to the “wild playground” in the wetlands area near the bridge at Angler Mountain due to the impact on wildlife. Currently, it is habitat for a black bear, two moose, three deer, elk, raccoon and muskrat families, a great blue heron, river otter, various water fowl and song birds. Last year, the injured “Silverthorne” moose calf stayed in that protected area to heal. Further construction at Angler will drive out the wildlife and nesting that can be viewed from the current sidewalk, recpath and Angler Trail.

Learn more »

Demand accident accountability at ski resorts (letter)

June 16, 2015 — 

Re: June 9 Summit Daily story, “Frisco skier pushes for more regulations to prevent hit-and-run accidents.”

I read with interest the above article. The issues that Dave Owens proposes are exactly what I have been thinking. I agree wholeheartedly that the resorts should be transparent concerning ski/snowboard accidents. Currently, one has to pick up on rumors and try to get more information. Why shouldn’t we, as consumers, be entitled to know the facts and circumstances of accidents on the hill? We pretty much take our life in our hands when we go out and need to be armed with pertinent information.

Learn more »

Marco Reifsteck's family thank Summit County for its support (letter)

June 16, 2015 — 

We wish to extend our sincere thanks for the many kindnesses, condolences and support that we received following the loss of our dear son and brother, Marco Reifsteck. We also extend our gratitude and appreciation to the staff and volunteers at Lord of the Mountains, the students and staff of Summit High School, our friends in Kremmling, Rae Ann DeBoneville and many parents/families of Summit County. We are thankful to be part of such a compassionate community.

Bertie, Dennis and David Reifsteck

Learn more »

Dillon mayor's statement over DUI lacked perspective (letter)

June 13, 2015 — 

Dillon mayor’s statement over DUI lacked perspective

My wife and I took offense to Mayor Burns statement in Thursday’s Summit Daily.

Learn more »

Morgan Liddick hits his target (letter)

June 13, 2015 — 

Liddick hits his target

Morgan Liddick’s editorial of June 9 was on target for a number of reasons. He made clear some difficult concepts, and that’s a great talent. First, he rightfully rebutted Hillary Clinton’s characterization of America as a democracy. We’re not a democracy, and the Founders didn’t intend for us to be. I have never recited the Pledge of Allegiance as “and to the democracy for which we stand.” He cites Clinton’s question of what her opponents fear in democracy. I might ask the same of her. Twice the citizens of California voted to make marriage between a man and a woman, and her allies ran squalling to the least democratic branch of government, the judiciary, to get their way. Now THAT is a fear of democracy.

Learn more »

Red, White & Blue and bike rodeos (letter)

June 3, 2015 — 

On behalf of the Red, White & Blue Fire Protection District, I would like to thank the Summit School District for allowing us to conduct bike rodeos for the students of Breckenridge Elementary School and Upper Blue Elementary School. The children learned some basic bicycling skills and safety tips. The instruction presented was based on bicycle crash research.

This was a fun safety event that involved the collaboration of several agencies and community volunteers. I would like to thank Breckenridge Grand Vacations for helping us fund this event. I would also like to thank our community partners who helped make this event possible: Town of Breckenridge Streets Department, Breckenridge Police Department, Think First, Summit Medical Center, Carvers, Mountain Wave, and Moe’s Original Bar B Que. In addition, we had many volunteers who helped staff the event. Their participation helped make the event run much smoother and it gave us flexibility in the event that our firefighters were called for an emergency. Thank you very much to our committed volunteers: Gretchen Joslin, Deborah Young, Helen & Don Gerstein, Bill & Leslie Ramsay, Greg Seebart, Joe Reichert, Teresa Perkins, Alex Eickelman, Eli Burke, Sam Brede, Kris Randall, and our Think First volunteers: Holly, B.J., Dori, Emily, Heather, Karen, Molly, Christie, and Paula. We couldn’t have done it without your dedication and commitment.

Learn more »

Women's Resource Center of the Rockies thanks supporters (letter)

June 3, 2015 — 

The Women’s Resource Center of the Rockies would like to thank the town of Silverthorne for granted use of the Pavilion for our May 7 fundraiser Dance for Life, as well as Dillon Ridge Liquors, Antlers Liquors and Tom Daniels for generous donation all of the beer and wine products for the bar. The WRC board and staff also extend a hearty thanks to our many event sponsors and volunteers who helped with set up (St.Mary’s/Our Lady of Peace and Dillon Community Church Youth), food preparation and tear down, as well as our awesome kitchen manager, Steve Arndt. Thank you to the Summit Daily News and Krystal 93 for promoting the event, Karin Osterloh-Mattern for taking beautiful photos and to Jennifer Voxakis for superb line dance instruction. Your combined efforts contributed to the event’s success. We could not have pulled it off without you. Thank you!

A. Hunsinger

Learn more »

Applauding Polis for Wilderness and Recreation Act (letter)

May 25, 2015 — 

I would like to thank Congressman Jared Polis following his introduction of the Continental Divide Wilderness and Recreation Act. By introducing this legislation Rep. Polis has once again reaffirmed his commitment to conservation and protection of our natural environment. As anyone who has visited Colorado knows, we are blessed with a beautiful state and an abundance of recreational opportunities from rafting to skiing. Unfortunately, much of Colorado’s pristine wilderness has come under threat from various extractive industries. These industries necessarily lead to fewer recreational opportunities and more environmental degradation. Fortunately for Coloradans, Rep. Polis has stepped up as a champion of conservation. The Continental Divide Wilderness and Recreation Act is an important step towards conserving our beautiful state for generations to come, and Rep. Polis should be applauded for his work.

Rachel Brett

Learn more »

Panic at the Memorial Day barbecue (letter)

May 25, 2015 — 

What ever happened to the good old days when the worst things we had to fear on Memorial Day were traffic jams and indigestion?

This year, it’s all about food poisoning by the nasty E. coli, Salmonella, and Listeria bugs lurking in hamburgers, hot dogs, and chicken nuggets at millions of backyard barbecues. The U.S. Meat and Poultry Hotline’s advice is to grill meat and chicken products longer and hotter. They fail to caution that high-temperature grilling forms lots of cancer-causing compounds. Do we really need to choose between food poisoning and cancer?

Learn more »

Giving instead of getting on Mother's Day (letter)

May 9, 2015 — 

Wow. I almost skipped over Cindy Bargell’s column today as the headline had the words “Mother’s Day” in it and I’m not much a fan of the holiday. However, I was completely thrown off as I read it. She is surely onto something. How about no more “stuff” for mothers ? How about remembering those without mothers, fathers, children, friends, community...

Thank you Cindy. Let’s turn around materialism for good towards helping our fellow man and give instead, as Cindy suggested, to the relief effort in Nepal.

Learn more »

A lashing for Mr. Liddick (letter)

May 8, 2015 — 

I’m so glad that once a week we are subjected to the writings of Morgan Liddick to be reminded of the warped worldview of a raving right-wing lunatic. His recent offering on the Baltimore riots was a fine example of his virulent racism, cloaked in buzzwords like “thug” and “absentee fathers,” and offering a scorecard showing that cops die in the line of duty (often at the hands of white criminals) more often than black men do in their custody — barely — as if that is some justification for cops to kill (black) suspects in their custody. He dismisses chants like “black lives matter” as if the content is irrelevant, and he completely misplaces the blame for the riots on a welfare state, because, well, Morgan Liddick is fat and happy and rich, so why should he want to pay to help “those people,” when he is certain that welfare recipients are abusing the social safety net and looting. With his flourishes of archaic syntax and faux intellectual phrasing, his writing is stilted and insufferable as always. Morgan Liddick embodies the term “pompous ass.”

James Baldwin

Learn more »

An apology from former Krystal 93 host (letter)

May 8, 2015 — 

On April 15, I was doing the midday show on Krystal 93 when I made the biggest mistake anyone in broadcasting could probably do. I was venting about the studio being left a mess and settings being changed. With the door shut, I thought it was just me in the room while ranting, but no...I had inadvertently left the microphone on and inappropriate language went out on the air over a song that was playing. 40 years in radio, and I had never done anything like that, but the damage was done. I was, and still am completely ashamed, embarrassed and humiliated by a careless action on my part. Since I have parted ways with Krystal 93, the only thing I can do is ask you, the ones that heard it, and the ones didn’t, who thought better of me than that...I hope you can find in your heart to forgive me.

Roman Moore

Learn more »

Time ticks away: May is Lyme Diseas Awareness Month (letter)

May 1, 2015 — 

May is Lyme Disease Awareness Month

Have you ever been bit by a tick? Did you know that every tick is a cesspool of bacteria, parasites and viruses? While you might not show immediate signs of infection like a bullseye rash or flu-like symptoms, you may have been infected with Lyme Disease or a bunch of other nasty illnesses.

Learn more »

To cut or not to cut Summit County's beetle kill forests? (letter)

April 28, 2015 — 

Kudos to Alli Langley for Friday’s informative article regarding the status of clear-cutting in Summit County. Kudos also to Howard Brown for his leadership in the effort to preserve what’s left of Summit County’s forests.

Alli Langley’s piece highlights the petition to stop clear-cutting and presents a fairly balanced summary of where things stand today.

Learn more »

Summit County learn from Southern California wildfires (letter)

April 28, 2015 — 

I am going to go out on a limb here, but I would posit that few of the signatories to the petition aiming to curb clear cutting in Summit County have ever lived in Southern California. I lived there for 33 years and witnessed firsthand (from both ground and air) the devastation caused by wildfires. It is abundantly clear that defensive space will result in saved structures.

And I would take grave exception to Howard Brown’s statement in a recent letter, “We’ve already cut all the areas … justified on defensible space….” While living in California, I recall going to bed one evening when a fire had just broken out adjacent to highway US 101. That night the fire ran all the way to the Pacific Ocean, taking many homes with it. With large fires and heavy winds, defensible space needs to be huge.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top