Letters to the Editor

Michael Reagan’s worldview lacks empathy (letter)

March 3, 2015 — 

I am responding to the Michael Reagan column calling anyone who doesn’t think like he does as dumb and dumber. So what is wrong with looking for reasons for problems such as Islamic extremism instead of shooting first and asking questions later. I think it’s forward thinking to try and help people who are living such a terrible life that they would risk it to be a part of something, anything. I don’t believe our president wants to put away all our military actions to find jobs for people who obviously need them, but it’s another way of approaching a problem and we need more thinking outside the box. For instance, I believe the war on drugs we fight putting users in jail and running around the world trying to abolish drugs does not work and we should spend our money on helping people find ways to live a good life that doesn’t want or need drugs, such as good job training, and good rehabilitation for all not just the rich. Just calling people dumb makes you sound dumber Michael Reagan.

Rose Wentzell

Learn more »

Munoz: No to Keystone XL and unwarranted slur (letter)

February 26, 2015 — 

Re. Lorenzo Del Toro’s letter to the editor, Feb. 19:

Despite Mr. Del Toro’s ability to calculate figures into the billions, in reality he has added 2 + 2 and gotten 5, a simple but not surprising error considering he was probably “seeing red” (maybe brown) and could not think straight.

Learn more »

Summit Historical Society shocked by murder-suicide involving member (letter)

February 19, 2015 — 

Needless to say, the Summit Historical Society and its board were shocked and saddened by the recent tragedy involving Jim and Dorthe (Dorda) McNaul. Those of us in the society and on its board who knew Jim as a friend and colleague saw him as a very different person, a person that we would like to share with the public and as a comfort to his family.

Jim was a very active, positive, dedicated, and well-liked member of the society and served as its vice-president and president in 2004-05 and 2005-06 respectively. He was passionate about the preservation, maintenance, and restoration of all of the society’s historical sites and other property throughout Summit County.

Learn more »

Recent Summit County gun deaths show needs for increased regulations (letter)

February 19, 2015 — 

It is sad to see that Summit County is participating in the epidemic. No, not the measles epidemic where most people, even Morgan Liddick, are realizing that vaccination is an important public health measure that protects not only the individual but the community in general. The epidemic I am talking about is that of guns being used to harm others. You earlier showed Jim McNaul showing off his pistol at the Summit County shooting range. Is a gun that will later be used as a murder weapon a matter of pride? No. Gun ownership, like the privilege of driving a car, needs to be regulated so that only individuals who have a real need for such weapons, perhaps hunters and surely police, can own them.It needs to be regulated so that only individuals who can prove that they know how to keep guns safe and out of the hands of angry people and children can own them. If driver’s licenses can be strictly regulated—also a public health measure, just like the measles vaccine—why cannot guns receive the same treatment?

Peggy Neville

Learn more »

Summit County Coroner objects to use of photos in murder-suicide coverage (letter)

February 19, 2015 — 

I am writing to express my concern and disappointment at the photographs that accompanied the McNaul story on February 14. It is my opinion that the photos were in extremely poor taste and inappropriate for print given the facts of the case.

This has been a devastating event for the family and friends of Jim and Dorthe McNaul. I do not see the value in contributing to their pain by publishing said photographs. I would urge you and the Summit Daily News staff to please use caution in the future when dealing with very personal and sensitive matters in a small, close knit community such as ours.

Learn more »

The 20-20 fallacy on weapons of mass destruction and Iraq (letter)

February 19, 2015 — 

Re: the “Chopper whopper dwarfed by the Iraq lie” article by John Young.

Mr. Young’s article would have you believe that U.S. citizens were “lied to” to accept the USA invasion of Iraq. Mr. Young bases his conclusion on the fact that no weapons of mass destruction were ever found in Iraq after the U.S. invasion and occupation and that is certainly true. What he doesn’t tell you is what the situation on the ground was at that time the invasion was being considered. So let me bring you up to date on some events that were happening the time.

Learn more »

Linking Keystone pipeline to immigration debate (letter)

February 19, 2015 — 

Folks, the “Music has Died,” courtesy of President Obama. This guy says “Yes We Can!” to 5 million illegal immigrants, but “No We Can’t” to Canadian shale-oil and tight sands formations. “Yes!” to tax-evaders from South-of-the-Border, but “No!” to Canadian crude?

The “No We Can’t” represents Obama’s promise to veto the Keystone XL pipeline. This drives up the cost of shale/tight-sands “plays” in the Bakken/Exchaw Formations, Williston Basin shale, Shaunavon, Lower Viking, and Spyglass Formations in Saskatchewan and North Dakota. With the recent “Dump-the-Pumps” strategy by Saudi Arabia, Brent and WTI crude prices have gone sub-$40. Without the Keystone XL, this make these shale plays economically unviable to continue drilling. Bear in mind, there are at least two “Super-Giant” fields that need this pipeline, where a “Super-Giant Field” is defined as technically and economically recoverable amounts of refinery-grade crude in excess of five billion barrels. But, Obama says “No!” hence there goes the “Economically Recoverable” requirement to develop.

Learn more »

Krane: Summit County GOP chairman’s Obama rant misses bigger picture

February 12, 2015 — 

Reading Kim McGahey’s rant about the “imperial presidency” (Wednesday, Feb. 11) made me realize that as chairman of the Summit County Republican Party, he’s taken an oath to completely forget about the eight years of “ineptitude presidency” preceding Obama, and to brush aside the narrow-minded, constipated flow of opposition from his party to our current president. Don’t forget, it was (Republican Sen.) Mitch McConnell who brazenly crowed in 2008 that anything and everything must be done to make this president a one-term president. Honestly, reading McGahey’s piece was like reading some C+ high school essay by John Wilkes Booth.

On the left half of the page, Leigh Girvin had so many more important things to say about spending money (not), the environment and truly honoring our legacy of land use for the unabated policy of rape and pillage which it has been.

Learn more »

Colorado’s unvaccinated won’t just stay home

February 12, 2015 — 

Morgan Liddick’s column of Feb. 10, “Civil liberties, measles and vaccines,” accurately reflects the problems related to the current under-vaccination for measles in the U.S. and especially in Colorado. However, in his last two paragraphs, he argues against mandated vaccination and proposes a voluntary decision of unvaccinated individuals to “remain home.” This is unrealistic for several reasons and will afford little protection from spreading the disease. (1) Since individuals with measles are asymptomatic for the first several days of their illness, they will have no reason to stay at home, but are highly infectious at that stage. (2) We know that many people with symptoms of the flu continue to go to work and school, thereby exposing others, although they are advised to stay at home. Similarly, people with milder symptoms of other infectious diseases, such as measles, will not avoid going out into the public. (3) Even if unvaccinated children are prevented from attending school, there are plenty of other ways they come in contact with others to spread the infection (such as visiting Disneyland). As pointed out in Liddick’s column, vaccination has had a dramatic effect in reducing deaths from these childhood illnesses. Medical science has given us the answers for how to best protect the children in our communities from these illnesses. But it requires participation from all of us.

Dr. Peter C. Raich

Learn more »

Summit County’s free electronics recycling event a hit (letter)

February 10, 2015 — 

We would like to extend our tremendous thanks to the residents of Summit County, who turned out in amazing numbers during our community’s inaugural free electronics recycling and pharmaceuticals collection event on Jan. 31, made possible by voters who approved Summit County Measure 1A in November.

Total numbers on the collected items are still being tallied, but we do know that more than 600 vehicles came through the Summit Stage Bus Barn to drop off old televisions, computers, phones, medications and supplements. By keeping these items out of our landfill and wastewater systems, our community has scored a major victory for local lakes, rivers and streams.

Learn more »

An imperial president: An overview of the Obama presidency (column)

February 10, 2015 — 

After seven years, do you think you are getting the truth from the Obama administration? Do you think their lies are adversely influencing federal public policy? Do you think the American people are being represented honestly by this president? I would submit several examples that indicate the wool continues to be pulled over our collective eyes.

This imperial president is acting more like a dictator than a duly elected public servant. He complains constantly that he can’t wait for the legislative branch of our government to deliberate and compromise as the Constitutional process created by the Founders requires. But despite his public claim that he does not have the right to act unilaterally, he privately proceeded to govern by fiat when he arbitrarily awarded amnesty by executive order to illegal immigrants under 30 years old and again when he recently proposed blanket amnesty to illegal immigrants by executive order.

Learn more »

‘Cannabis prohibition is the devil’s law’ (letter)

February 10, 2015 — 

It’s disappointing but not unexpected, reading past Mayor of New York, Michael Bloomberg, believes re-legalizing cannabis in Colorado is “stupid.”

As a cannabis prohibitionist, Bloomberg used dubious stop and frisk methods to arrest more citizens for pot than any mayor in the world, all while possession of cannabis in NYC is decriminalized. Possessing cannabis in NYC is an infraction similar to a parking ticket, not leading to arrest while displaying cannabis in public is still a misdemeanor. Bloomberg’s police would ask if a suspect had cannabis in their possession and if they said yes, their policy was to have the suspect empty their pocket. Once cannabis was then viewed in public due to police request, they would make an arrest. Minorities paid the price of Bloomberg’s scheme at alarmingly disproportionate rates than the general public.

Learn more »

M. John Fayhee: The carbonated origins of Frisco’s Spontaneous Combustion

February 9, 2015 — 

Spontaneous praise

I want to thank Krista Driscoll for the flattering story regarding the history of the Spontaneous Combustion community bonfire in Frisco. When Ms. Driscoll was interviewing me via phone, I vaguely remembered that the seed of the idea was germinated over adult beverages at Tuscato. Tom Fricke of KYSL radio told me he thought that seed was germinated over adult beverages at the Blue Spruce. Rick and Judy Amico told me they seem to remember it was the Moose Jaw. What can I say? The idea of a community bonfire in Frisco was born in some bar or, more likely, numerous bars along Main Street.

Learn more »

Girvin: Breckenridge’s endangered Reiling Dredge should die a dignified death

February 9, 2015 — 

I am one of those citizens who believes that we should let the Reiling Dredge die a dignified death and rust in peace in the grave she dug herself. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. Nothing lasts forever and any preservation efforts, like a face lift on an aging Hollywood celebrity, will merely delay the inevitable.

Rather than preserving the Reiling Dredge as a “reminder of humans’ potential harmful environmental impacts,” let’s show how nature can reclaim from the devastation caused by decades of gold dredge destruction. Nature is reclaiming the Reiling Dredge and pond today. The old dredge is slowly decaying into her basin. Willows, mosses and other water loving plants are re-inhabiting the shores of the pond. Water bugs skim across the surface of the still waters and bats hunt the abundant insects that find a home around the small lake.

Learn more »

Hage: Liddick takes on Girl Scouts? Seriously?

February 4, 2015 — 

Re: Morgan Liddick’s Feb. 3 column:

Great timing for Liddick! Just when Girl Scout cookie sales begin (Feb. 8) he trashes the girls’ efforts by gratuitously misrepresenting how sales work and how the proceeds are used. Each troop decides as a group how much money they want to earn, how many boxes they need to sell to earn that much and how to use the money they earn so they all can partake. It is a wonderful individual and teamwork learning experience for the girls. My grand-daughter’s troop just returned from a snowshoeing overnight hut trip which they planned and earned with their cookie money and which was free to the Girl Scouts and their mothers. Last year they went on an overnight river raft trip. The fictitious story of “Allie” is completely bogus and had nothing to do with the Girl Scouts, the cookie sales or the point he was attempting to make.

Learn more »

Chisholm: Right to life versus a right to die

February 4, 2015 — 

It is amazing how euphemism (making something bad sound good) can change the meaning of life-and-death issues into polite exchanges between “extreme conservatives” and “enlightened progressives.” This may be a case in point especially in the issue of euthanasia and physician assisted suicide (Colorado House Bill 1135, “right to die”). This legislation is being pushed by a political agenda espousing the culture of death over our unique American Declaration of Independence of the individual vs. the state with its God-given right to life.

Why would a physician with a lifetime of the privilege of professional medical training and the gifts and talents to heal and ameliorate suffering want the burden of assisting in deliberately taking the life of another human in the name of compassion and a bogus “right to die”? Would this not be the act of killing using the euphemism of “physician assisted suicide”? Would we want “our doctor” to assist in this practice and also be the medical protector of our lives and the lives of our family?

Learn more »

Joyce: At Breckenridge Ski Resort, two crashes and two very different reactions

January 31, 2015 — 

What are the chances that a husband and wife would be crashed into on the same slope on the same run? My wife and I started out on Centennial run on Peak 10 at Breckenridge.

I was about 50 yards downhill from the starting area when I heard a strange noise and looked at my skis and saw a snowboard about 12 inches from my skies and closing fast. The next thing I knew I was on my back on the snow with my head facing downhill. The boarder who hit me never even stopped to see if I was injured. I hope he felt macho that he put a 73-year-old skier on his back. Fortunately, I was not hurt.

Learn more »

Animal abuse story sparks strong Summit Daily News reader reaction

January 29, 2015 — 

Editor’s note: We recently received two letters responding to a Jan. 9 article looking into why a Summit County animal control officer resigned in protest and how that resignation sparked changes within the department. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but we believe the letters misrepresent the article we published to such an extent that a detailed response is necessary to set the record straight. Please read that response after the letters. We also urge you to go back and read the story in question at http://bit.ly/1zVoRcy.

Learn more »

Karl: Frisco mayor’s comment on marijuana and ski racers misses the mark

January 17, 2015 — 

Frisco mayor’s comment on marijuana and ski racers misses the mark

In your paper, Frisco’s Mayor Wilkinson offered to give $100 for finding a ski racer that does not smoke pot. No matter how “off the cuff” this comment may have been, it will cost him nearly $20,000 from Team Summit Colorado, alone. We would love the opportunity to line up and introduce our 200+ ski racers at the next town council meeting. Team Summit Colorado athletes, coaches and parents work hard to achieve our mission of “Elevating Youth through Winter Sports” and our athletes abide by our code of conduct, which prohibits the use of alcohol, tobacco and drugs. These dedicated and hard-working individuals deserve better from the mayor and from The Summit Daily News.

Learn more »

Birklebach: Yes we can afford to educate our populace

January 16, 2015 — 

We can afford to educate our populace

In a Jan. 13 article, Morgan Liddick indicated the U.S. cannot afford to help students with tuition for a community college education. Yes, we can! Year-end forecasts indicate that the budget deficit has come down from over 10 percent of GDP, to about -3 percent in 2014 and should be balanced or show a small surplus by 2016. (Remember, the last time we had a budget surplus, a Clinton was president.) The U.S. deficits are going away, because we no longer have to pay for Bush’s two wars and the mistakes and costs of Bush’s Great Recession.

Learn more »

Miller: Who’s Morgan Liddick calling lazy?

January 15, 2015 — 

Who’s Liddick calling lazy?

Morgan Liddick’s most recent opinion piece, “The president promises, we pay up” (Jan. 13), is insulting in so many ways. The opinions he expresses are both callous and ignorant.

Learn more »

Powell: Left out in the cold by Summit Stage

January 8, 2015 — 

On Saturday, Jan. 3, I and many others tried to catch the Stage from Copper Mountain at 4:30 p.m. The weather was miserable. The traffic on I-70 could be seen at a stand still. I called the Stage office. I asked when the next bus would arrive at Copper and was told in 10 minutes. I waited a half hour. Another person called and was told they didn’t know when a bus would arrive. Many of us left to get a bite to eat.

A friend called me and said that the bus arrived at 5:30 and had departed. I called the Stage at 5:40 and asked when the next bus would arrive now that traffic was moving. I was told 10 minutes. Two friends and I went to the bus stop and stood in 15 degrees cold. At 6:05, someone called the Stage and asked when the bus would arrive. They were told 10 minutes. At 6:30, a young woman at the stop called. She said, “I know the roads are bad. I know you can’t control the traffic. But I’m standing here freezing. Please just tell me when the bus is coming. I don’t care if it is two hours late; you can’t control that. But at least tell me when it is coming. I can go inside and not freeze to death.” She was put on hold for a minute and then told the next bus would not arrive until 7 p.m. We all left to get warm.

Learn more »

Kunst: Not as a clear-cut as the Forest Service says

January 6, 2015 — 

Howard Brown’s recent criticism of the U.S. Forest Service’s clear cut/slash pile burning of Summit County’s beetle kill is spot on. His proposed solution to abandon burning in favor of chipping debris and scattering chips to cut down on noxious weeds and flammable tall grasses is far too practical for U.S. Forest Service consideration. This is a typical government approach to problem solving: devise a plan and stick to it notwithstanding community suggestions for more practical, common sense solutions. It would be appreciated if the forest service would write and explain why it has not or will not consider chipping as an alternate solution to burning slash. Don’t hold your breath waiting for an explanation.

I have attended two programs hosted by Summit’s Forest Health Task Force to learn why the forest service has adopted clear cutting as the only solution to beetle kill fire mitigation. Granted, the dead lodge poles need to be cleared, but live fir, spruce and aspen need not become victims of the indiscriminate logging machines that can clear an area quickly and cheaply. Sadly, the forest service provided no direct explanation but offered false denials to many questions; i.e., “the contractors don’t cut fir and spruce.”

Learn more »

Wood: Mankind is our business

January 6, 2015 — 

Recently, Ken Gansmann of Silverthorne asks what it is that left leaning contributors to the Summit Daily, who he views as critical of his community values, would have him do differently. It’s a question that deserves an answer.

Mostly, these left leaning columnists are addressing issues of fairness, equality and stewardship within our society. They are questioning whether the principles upon which our country is founded are being applied fairly and wisely, not just to the majority or those in power but to individuals and the less advantaged as well. They are inviting us to eschew quick and easy answers and to think beyond our own personal experience and comfort zone; in essence to not believe everything we think. To listen to the left leaning columnists is to know that:

Learn more »

Gansmann: Questions for the Summit Daily left

January 1, 2015 — 

Questions for the Summit Daily left

Our parents were there for us and guiding us when we were young. Many of us:

Learn more »

Mulcahy: More corporate responsibility in the mountains in 2015

December 29, 2014 — 

Giant corporations like Vail Resorts bring vast improvements to the infrastructure of our mountain communities, but we as citizens must continue to encourage these corporations to act in the best interest of all, including their workers.

What is not known by many guests is that in the full day $750 plus private lessons given by the Vail, Beaver Creek, Breckenridge and Keystone Ski Schools, some of the instructors teaching the lessons make less than $100 working a full day.

Learn more »

Piller: Breckenridge sends mixed messages this holiday season

December 24, 2014 — 

I was walking by the main square in Breckenridge today and noticed that there’s a modest-sized menorah there, with a sign wishing everyone a Happy Hanukkah on behalf of the Chabad congregation. Given the vast number of Christmas decorations in town, including an enormous and beautifully lit Christmas tree not 30 feet away, I thought this was very sweet. Then I saw a sign dangling from the menorah, stating that “This display does not constitute an endorsement by the Town of Breckenridge of any religion or religious doctrine.”

Excuse me? You don’t have to be Jewish to be offended by this sign. In addition to the aforementioned Christmas tree, Breckenridge has green foliage and red bows all over the place, and none of those Christmas decorations has a disclaimer from the town.

Learn more »

O’Neill: Violence against women not a liberal media creation

December 24, 2014 — 

Morgan Liddick’s latest diatribe once again focuses primarily on race and the “liberal media,” while ignoring the seriousness of the underlying issue; rape and violence against women. After many disparaging comments aimed at the University of Virginia, the UVA school president and the state of Virginia’s attorney general, Liddick takes aim at the University of Colorado and asks readers to visit one of the school’s web pages (www.colorado.edu/studentaffairs/sexual-misconduct) as proof of CU’s liberal corruption. I visited the CU web page and, in part, this is what I found:

“Members of the University of Colorado community, guests and visitors have the right to be free from sexual violence. All members of the campus community are expected to conduct themselves in a manner that does not infringe upon the rights of others. We believe in a zero tolerance policy for gender-based misconduct. When an allegation of misconduct is brought to administration’s attention, and a respondent is found to have violated this policy, serious sanctions will be used to reasonably ensure that such actions are never repeated.”

Learn more »

Miller: In Summit County, the herald angels keep quiet

December 19, 2014 — 

This is now my third Christmas season living in Summit County, my second living in Breckenridge. It is a great place to live, but there is one thing this time of year that really bothers me: the lack of Christmas music. Where I’m from in East Tennessee, there is a radio station that plays nothing but Christmas music starting on Thanksgiving Day and continuing through Christmas. The other radio stations there will at least mix in Christmas songs with their non-holiday playlist. Every store you go to will be playing the sounds of the season. But here in Summit County, I hear hardly any Christmas music. In fact, I don’t think I’ve heard a single Christmas song on the radio yet this season. I also have not heard any holiday music at Breckenridge Ski Resort, where I work on weekends; instead, they’re just playing pop/rock or reggae. I think the only time I have heard Christmas music this season is occasionally while shopping. I don’t know about anyone else here in Summit County, but to me, Christmas just isn’t the same without the music, and I would like to encourage the local radio stations, resorts, and stores to play some, at least once in a while this holiday season.

Rachel Miller

Learn more »

Fields: Questions on the Summit Cove Loop project

December 16, 2014 — 

I attended the Summit Cove Loop project open house recently and was disappointed that there wasn’t much of a Q and A. It is my understanding that the proposed improvements will be paid with surplus tax funds; however, I overheard a road and bridge employee who stated that each property owner would be assessed for new culverts, once for a single culvert and twice for two culverts in circle driveways. He remarked that this would be necessary to upgrade existing culverts to support the new roadway. I did not have the opportunity to ask questions about this.

I am opposed to making forced upgrades to my culverts. I am concerned about the funding for this project and want to see full transparency now. I oppose the project if I will be expected to provide funding in this way.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top