Letters to the Editor

Summit Daily letters: Takeaways from the Republican National Convention

July 24, 2016 — 

RNC — the anti-Woodstock

At last, the “love fest” in Ohio is over.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Honor our men and women in blue

July 22, 2016 — 

Our family in blue

Along with the well-publicized tragic deaths of police officers in Dallas, Texas and Baton Rouge, Louisiana, there have also been numerous threats made against officers in the past weeks — some national and some closer to home. While I am a firm believer and advocate in the First Amendment, I do not appreciate hateful rhetoric of any sort aimed at any group of people.

Learn more »

Newkirk: Breckenridge Town Council on the right transit track (column)

July 19, 2016 — 

I’ll readily concede The Village at Breckenridge HOA’s contention in a recent letter that most people probably thought that they were voting for a structure on F-lot. Though I loved the idea of forcing the ski area to acknowledge their financial responsibility to contribute to a solution to the parking issue, I actually voted against it because I thought a parking structure was not the answer. I also thought the dust up between the town and ski area was not really settled.

Unfortunately, I was right — the dust up continues with surrogate help from an HOA that will benefit most from a F-lot parking structure.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Terrified by Republican viewpoints

July 18, 2016 — 

Terrified by Republican viewpoints

Few things are scarier than a politician who invokes God to support his or her views.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letter: Justice not served in Breckenridge hit and run

July 15, 2016 — 

Justice not served in Breckenridge hit and run

Kudos to the Summit Daily staff reporters for an apparently accurate and fair reporting on the “hit and run” incident from December 25, 2015 on Airport Road, Breckenridge.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Signs, signs, everywhere a sign on recpath

July 10, 2016 — 

Signs, signs, everywhere a sign

I just read Phyllis Ohlemacher’s letter regarding common courtesy on the Summit recpath and agree with all but one thing she said.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Common courtesy needed on Summit recpath

July 7, 2016 — 

Every time I ride the recreation path in Summit County — whether it’s Frisco to Copper, or to Breckenridge, or to Silverthorne, or to Keystone — I find myself thinking about the letter I need to write to the local paper. Today a miracle has occurred and I am actually writing it! The county is very busy; everyone up here knows that. The paths are crowded with all sorts of users; there are walkers, runners, experienced bicyclists and not-so-experienced cyclists. Can’t every user please be a little considerate? If you are a biker, PLEASE announce that you are passing; this is not difficult. You can say “Passing” or “On your left.” It is a courtesy to the person in front of you. If you are walking, please keep single file or at most two abreast. If you have your family on the path, please try to keep your children on the proper side of the path. Also, bicyclists, it is a recreational path, not a racing path, so if you see a collection of people in front of you, slow down for Pete’s sake. And to everyone, please be happy about being up here. It is so darn pretty everywhere; I can hardly believe how unfriendly a lot of users are. You can say hi or smile. It’s just a nice thing to do.

Now here are my comments for the county or the town leaders — how about some signs on the path to help the experienced users and the new users? Some people are unsure of which side to walk on and I know some riders need to be reminded to announce that they are passing. Please invest in some signs.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Partisan politics not helpful on local level

July 5, 2016 — 

Partisan politics not helpful on local level

My enjoyment of the 4th of July parade was diminished by a group of my friends and acquaintances who found it entertaining to “boo” the Democrat’s float as it passed by.

Learn more »

Letters to the editor: American history more complicated than presented

July 2, 2016 — 

Re: Reflection on Independence Day (Don Severe, June 30, Summit Daily News).

I was born in another country and moved to this country when I was 2 years old. My father was a U.S. citizen, but my mother was not. My birth certificate reads United States citizen, born of an American parent. I am proud to be an American and would not choose to live in any other country.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Making tourism in Summit County more sustainable

July 1, 2016 — 

Making tourism in Summit County more sustainable

Summit County has become a victim of its own success. Tourism volumes are causing serious employment/housing issues, traffic and parking issues, and now add in closures of many local dispersed camping areas. These issues are not unique to Summit. Resort areas across the West are facing the same challenges.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Reflection on Independence Day

June 29, 2016 — 

Reflection on Independence Day

Most people will agree that 2016 must be one of the most unique as well as troubling years in our recent history. It certainly is for me in my eight decades on Earth. Each day brings another undesirable event on some level be it tragedy, political, economic and in some regions, the weather.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Parking garage not the answer to Breckenridge traffic

June 26, 2016 — 

Parking garage not the answer to Breck traffic

The old adage “if you build it, they will come” has never been more applicable than in regard to the parking garage proposed by Vail Resorts.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Global warming and TABOT touts

June 23, 2016 — 

Breathe of hot air

RE: Let’s tax what makes the whole world sick (Summit Daily News, June 17)

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Vote your support for affordable healthcare

June 23, 2016 — 

Vote your support for affordable healthcare

Our November ballot will seek approval of tax-based funding for Summit schools and for affordable housing. Those are significant community programs addressing important community needs.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Disappointment at the Colorado BBQ Challenge

June 22, 2016 — 

Disappointment at the barbecue

I was very disappointed in last weekend’s Colorado BBQ Challenge.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Crisis, radicals and cheap shots

June 17, 2016 — 

Cheap shots and unwarranted attacks

In his opinion column. “Three words the Republican [sic] refuse to utter”, in the June 15, 2016, Summit Daily News, Dick Polman faults a long list of Republicans for offering their prayers and sympathy for the victims of last Sunday’s horrendous attack that killed 49 innocent and undeserving victims. Why fault these Republicans? Because they did not identify these Americans as “gay.” I realize that people who hold different world views often see events differently. Those he named offered sympathy and prayers because of the senseless deaths of these innocent men and women. The sexual orientation of these victims is irrelevant to me and to those offering their condolences. That those killed were “gay” was important only to the American radical Islamic terrorist who killed them and, unfortunately, to Dick Polman and others with his world view.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Enough of the 'Weed Wonderland' coverage

June 16, 2016 — 

Enough of the ‘Weed Wonderland’ coverage

Wow! You just can’t say enough to about pot.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Orlando resident learns of massacre from Breckenridge home

June 15, 2016 — 

Murder visits the happiest place on earth

I am a part-time resident of Breckenridge. My family lives here for several months over the summer and fall. My permanent home is Orlando.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Befriend your forest

June 13, 2016 — 

Befriend your forest

I’m usually an early riser, one of the curses of getting older. But the upside is being outside early and being awed every morning by the beauty of Summit County.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: A breath of fresh air and reefer madness

May 31, 2016 — 

The diverse and the dedicated

My wife and I spent this past Memorial Day at the National Cemetery in Santa Fe. It was a beautiful, bluebird morning, perfect for walking through the symmetry of rows and rows of white grave markers. Reading the names engraved on the stones, I am struck by how many are Hispanic: Baca, Sanchez, Garcia, Montoya, Gonzales, Padilla, Martinez, Duran and so many more. I’m guessing that as many as 50 percent are Hispanic (This is New Mexico, after all).

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Why we observe Memorial Day

May 27, 2016 — 

Why we observe Memorial Day

A couple of centuries ago, a tiny group of British colonists defeated the mightiest military force in the Western world to wrest their freedom and independence from the tyrannical British crown. Those colonists created a unique form of self government, which derives its power from the consent of the governed. It had never been tried before, but it produced, in its first hundred years, a standard of living surpassing all other established nations.

Learn more »

May 20, 2016 — 

Overgrown cannabis coverage

I would like to make a recommendation to the Summit Daily News that you start looking into an alternative to tree-based paper on which to print the news. The option I recommend is HEMP because it will reflect the disproportionate coverage of marijuana articles in your paper. Another suggestion is to change the name to the Summit Daily Hemp. (Yes, that last bit was sarcasm.)

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Liquor and grocery stores in Colorado

May 18, 2016 — 

Liquor and grocery stores in Colorado

SB16-197 is a compromise that 95 percent of the liquor industry and the big box retailers have worked on together and agreed on to bring the liquor in the state of Colorado into the 21st century without destroying many people’s lives in the process.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor (05.13.16)

May 13, 2016 — 

The Bruce Brown I know

I am sending this letter in response to a piece I noticed in The Denver Post about District Attorney Bruce Brown from the 5th Judicial District.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Support for ColoradCare

May 10, 2016 — 

Correcting the record on ColoradoCare

There were a few errors and misleading statements in Tim Orwick’s article on ColoradoCare, Amendment 69, on Wednesday, May 4.

Learn more »

O'Neil: No rocks needed for reclamation project (letter)

May 8, 2016 — 

I am an 11 year Breckenridge resident of the corner of Tiger Rd. and Gold Run Rd. I would like to express my anger and disappointment at the disregard for the residents and recreational users of Tiger Rd. by Summit County and the town of Breckenridge in the reclamation plan for the Swan River. The article in the May 4 edition of the Summit Daily about the residents’ failed appeal is reasonably accurate. What it fails to report is that the agenda for summer 2016 was already a done deal before residents learned of the plan to bring approximately 3400 truckloads of rock from the valley down Tiger Rd. resulting in 6800 truck trips on what is already a busy residential and recreational road. We were told that it is only a minor inconvenience to have up to 100 truckloads a day on the road. This is phase one of a five phase plan of work on the river. The conditional use permit for a rock crusher has been issued for a period of 5 years with option for a 5 year renewal. Commissioners did agree to monitor the permit’s usage closely.

Most residents of the area are in favor of the reclamation project though not of the rock trucking. I question why rock that was dredged up but not imported into the valley has to be trucked out of the valley and sold. The plan to crush rock for the actual project makes sense. Hauling thousands of truckloads of rock down Tiger Rd. at the expense of the safety and quality of life of the residents and recreational users of the valley does not. The reclamation can be completed without this. Leave the rock where it originated.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Bruce Brown works hard on behalf of victims

May 3, 2016 — 

Bruce Brown works hard on behalf of victims

The Denver Post’s article regarding elected District Attorney Bruce Brown’s “vacation days” mischaracterizes his work ethic.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Health care costs impact Summit's small businesses

April 29, 2016 — 

Health care costs impact Summit’s small businesses

As small business owners, the consistently rising and unpredictable costs of health care are a worry when we are planning out our budgets and seeking to provide for our families and encouraging our employees to plan, as well.

Learn more »

Cobb: All votes matter in botched Frisco election (letter)

April 22, 2016 — 

All votes matter

This is in response to the Frisco town councilman’s decision to not accept the position he recently won: I think it should only be proper that the town hold a special election to fill this vacant seat.

Learn more »

April 20, 2016 — 

Eating is an environmental act

With the 47th annual observance of Earth Day just around the corner, this is a great time to explore more effective ways of slowing climate change and conserving Earth’s natural resources for future generations.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top