Letters to the Editor

May 20, 2016 — 

Overgrown cannabis coverage

I would like to make a recommendation to the Summit Daily News that you start looking into an alternative to tree-based paper on which to print the news. The option I recommend is HEMP because it will reflect the disproportionate coverage of marijuana articles in your paper. Another suggestion is to change the name to the Summit Daily Hemp. (Yes, that last bit was sarcasm.)

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Liquor and grocery stores in Colorado

May 18, 2016 — 

Liquor and grocery stores in Colorado

SB16-197 is a compromise that 95 percent of the liquor industry and the big box retailers have worked on together and agreed on to bring the liquor in the state of Colorado into the 21st century without destroying many people’s lives in the process.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor (05.13.16)

May 13, 2016 — 

The Bruce Brown I know

I am sending this letter in response to a piece I noticed in The Denver Post about District Attorney Bruce Brown from the 5th Judicial District.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Support for ColoradCare

May 10, 2016 — 

Correcting the record on ColoradoCare

There were a few errors and misleading statements in Tim Orwick’s article on ColoradoCare, Amendment 69, on Wednesday, May 4.

Learn more »

O'Neil: No rocks needed for reclamation project (letter)

May 8, 2016 — 

I am an 11 year Breckenridge resident of the corner of Tiger Rd. and Gold Run Rd. I would like to express my anger and disappointment at the disregard for the residents and recreational users of Tiger Rd. by Summit County and the town of Breckenridge in the reclamation plan for the Swan River. The article in the May 4 edition of the Summit Daily about the residents’ failed appeal is reasonably accurate. What it fails to report is that the agenda for summer 2016 was already a done deal before residents learned of the plan to bring approximately 3400 truckloads of rock from the valley down Tiger Rd. resulting in 6800 truck trips on what is already a busy residential and recreational road. We were told that it is only a minor inconvenience to have up to 100 truckloads a day on the road. This is phase one of a five phase plan of work on the river. The conditional use permit for a rock crusher has been issued for a period of 5 years with option for a 5 year renewal. Commissioners did agree to monitor the permit’s usage closely.

Most residents of the area are in favor of the reclamation project though not of the rock trucking. I question why rock that was dredged up but not imported into the valley has to be trucked out of the valley and sold. The plan to crush rock for the actual project makes sense. Hauling thousands of truckloads of rock down Tiger Rd. at the expense of the safety and quality of life of the residents and recreational users of the valley does not. The reclamation can be completed without this. Leave the rock where it originated.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Bruce Brown works hard on behalf of victims

May 3, 2016 — 

Bruce Brown works hard on behalf of victims

The Denver Post’s article regarding elected District Attorney Bruce Brown’s “vacation days” mischaracterizes his work ethic.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Health care costs impact Summit's small businesses

April 29, 2016 — 

Health care costs impact Summit’s small businesses

As small business owners, the consistently rising and unpredictable costs of health care are a worry when we are planning out our budgets and seeking to provide for our families and encouraging our employees to plan, as well.

Learn more »

Cobb: All votes matter in botched Frisco election (letter)

April 22, 2016 — 

All votes matter

This is in response to the Frisco town councilman’s decision to not accept the position he recently won: I think it should only be proper that the town hold a special election to fill this vacant seat.

Learn more »

April 20, 2016 — 

Eating is an environmental act

With the 47th annual observance of Earth Day just around the corner, this is a great time to explore more effective ways of slowing climate change and conserving Earth’s natural resources for future generations.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Ski school competition and Frisco fracas

April 18, 2016 — 

Dear Madame Secretary Penny Pritzker

As a billionaire, current Commerce Secretary and regular speaker at the Aspen Institute, you stated yesterday on NPR that President Obama wants the feds to encourage “competition.”

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Fighting against high healthcare premiums

April 13, 2016 — 

Summit fights against the status quo

Summit County has one of the highest health-insurance premiums in the nation. We hear it in the news daily and feel it in our wallets every time we go to the doctor or buy medication at the pharmacy.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Transgender rights and climate change

April 8, 2016 — 

More than a bathroom battle

I’m writing to offer a very different perspective on North Carolina’s new anti-LGBT law than that of Morgan Liddick in his April 5 On Your Right column, “Bathrooms: The New Battlefield.”

Learn more »

April 2, 2016 — 

POLI SCI

The war machine clatters on

Learn more »

April 2, 2016 — 

SILVERTHORNE

Challenging Marmins’ claims

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor on elections, open space and a note of gratitude

March 30, 2016 — 

BRECKENRIDGE

Mayor Mamula has a ring to it

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Lost in the back country

March 30, 2016 — 

SILVERTHORNE

Along came Marmins

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Natural wonders and political picks

March 29, 2016 — 

Silverthorne

Taking issue with Marmins’ campaign claims

Learn more »

Letters to the editor on local elections and the political future

March 26, 2016 — 

Silverthorne

Debunking Marmins’ positions

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Local politics and picks

March 26, 2016 — 

Silverthorne

Please vote for Nadalin, Camp, Shattuck and Kieber

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Transforming Colorado's healthcare system

March 23, 2016 — 

REJOINDER

Coloradans can affect healthcare change

Learn more »

Letters to the Editor: Municipal elections and environmental health

March 22, 2016 — 

SILVERTHORNE

Tanya Shattuck for town council

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Local politics and supreme obfuscation

March 21, 2016 — 

BRECKENRIDGE

Support Dudick for town council

Learn more »

March 19, 2016 — 

REJOINDER

Liberty does not stand alone as a value

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Politics and computer scammers

March 18, 2016 — 

FRISCO

Vote for Burley in town council race

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters to the editor: Politics, computer scammers and social Darwinism

March 18, 2016 — 

SILVERTHORNE election

Nadalin, Camp, Shattuck and Kieber deserve your vote

Learn more »

Silverthorne Town Council letters of endorsement

March 15, 2016 — 

SILVERTHORNE TOWN COUNCIL

Support for JoAnne Nadalin

Learn more »

Pacot: Political establishment lack respect for our liberties (letter)

March 15, 2016 — 

The events that unfolded at the Trump rallies this last week were absolutely indicative of what our society has degenerated into, the absolute intolerance of the progressive/liberal/socialist/totalitarian left on display and resorting to any means (virtually none of them honorable) to stop the exercise of any speech they disagree with.

Those of us that have sworn to uphold and defend the U.S. Constitution find this not only offensive, but an actual denial of those freedoms that we have put our lives on the line and at risk to defend.

Learn more »

Wexler: Is Summit County committed to recycling or not? (letter)

March 15, 2016 — 

If you search the phrase “vail resorts commitment to environment” you’ll get many hits, mostly to press releases in which Vail sings its own praises. This commitment doesn’t extend to making sure our landfills aren’t unnecessarily being filled with glass.

I’m a full time resident at Keystone, and suddenly the recycle bins in all condos say no glass. In the resort, there are still recycle cans that don’t ban glass, so I would take my glass there. But people who work here tell me they are being dumped into the trash — plastic and glass. They told me the blame goes to Waste Management, that they reject the glass.

Learn more »

Crispell: Wendy Wolfe is a clear choice for Breckenridge Town Council (letter)

March 15, 2016 — 

We can be grateful to live in a community that has a long tradition of great leadership. In the Breckenridge Town Council election, Wendy Wolfe is the only incumbent running for re-election. She along with the mayor, council and town staff can be justly proud of their accomplishments in the past four years. We are fortunate to have a slate of qualified candidates, but when you are casting your vote, I urge you to cast one vote for Wendy Wolfe to affirm the progress that has been made and the direction for the work ahead on major issues facing the town. Wendy Wolfe has earned our support. Wendy has worked hard, is always prepared, and has pushed for the passage of many issues that have shaped our community in a positive way. She pushed hard for the shared funding solution between the town and ski resort that led to the success of November’s 2A vote. In 2017 a funding stream of $7 million annually will be available to address parking, transportation, and congestion. Wendy served on the capital campaign committee for the Breckenridge Grand Vacations Community Center that raised over $2 million to make the project a true community effort. If you are like me, and love the entrance to town with its rock walls, landscaped median, banners and flower baskets, you can thank Wendy for her hard work and input. Wendy will continue to work the current irons in the fire producing needed workforce housing and quality affordable child care for working families. Wendy understands that our community needs to be successful, but not at the cost of losing our quality of life we all love so dearly; and to get there our marketing needs to be strategic and focused. Please vote Wendy Wolfe for town council.

Larry Crispell

Learn more »

Wellen: Vote Nadalin and Kieber in Silverthorne town council race

March 14, 2016 — 

I am writing to endorse JoAnne Nadalin for re-election to the Silverthorne City Council and to endorse Bob Kieber for election to the council.

For the last few years, I have served with JoAnne on the HOA board in our neighborhood. She has been extremely helpful not only with her complete command of all financial issues, but also with her detailed research on the topic of the day. She is always prepared to identify and interpret the relevant rule, law and/or covenant that applies to that topic. Her focus is always on what is best for the community and town.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top