Kelsey Fowler

Follow Me

Back to: News
September 8, 2013
Follow News

One seat on Colorado Mountain College's Board of Trustees contested in November election

One seat on the Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees is contested in the upcoming Nov. 5 election.

One resident from each of the following counties is elected to the board: Eagle, Lake, Pitkin, Routt and Summit. Voters also select an East Garfield and a West Garfield County resident.

This year, three districts have seats up for election. The one contested seat is in District 3, within Garfield School District Re-2 and Garfield County School District 16. Current trustee Mary Ellen Denomy will be running against Jay Rickstrew. Trustees serve four-year terms.

Debra Crawford, public information officer for the college, said in 2011 all four seats up for election were contested, while in 2005, 2007 and 2009 none were, which resulted in the elections being cancelled. One or two seats have been contested in elections in the last two years, she said.

The current Board of Trustees is in the process of selecting the next president of the college.

Stories you may be interested in

The Summit Daily Updated Sep 8, 2013 08:30PM Published Sep 9, 2013 02:53PM Copyright 2013 The Summit Daily. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.