Colorado Mountain College selects Carrie Hauser as president |
Kelsey Fowler

Back to: News

Colorado Mountain College selects Carrie Hauser as president

The Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees selected a new president from the four remaining finalists at its Oct. 9 meeting.

Debra Crawford, CMC public information officer, said the trustees chose to enter into contract negotiations with Dr. Carrie Hauser, who would become college's ninth president.

"We had two very strong candidates," said Glenn Davis, CMC board president, in a prepared statement. "Dr. Hauser's experience within Colorado and Colorado higher education was a significant differentiator."

Hauser is currently the senior fellow of Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in Kansas City, Mo. She previously worked as vice president for institutional advancement and external relations at Metro State College in Denver, now Metro State University.

Hauser was one of two candidates asked to participate in additional interviews. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in interdisciplinary studies: business administration, political science and communications from the University of Arizona, and a master's and doctorate in higher education policy from the University of California—Los Angeles.

"This has been a long selection process, and we are very grateful for everyone who participated," said Dr. Charles R. Dassance, interim president of the college, in a news release following the announcement.

The search process began in June, when the board hired a search consultant to find a replacement for former president Stan Jensen. A screening committee composed of faculty, administrators, staffers, one student, three community members and two of the college's seven trustees reviewed applications.

Those reviews were followed by interviews of the candidates by employees and community members, senior college leadership and the trustees in a series of videoconferences and meetings, in addition to tours of two campuses.

The screening committee then gave the board a list of semifinalists, and the board selected five finalists following more interviews. One finalist withdrew from the process in September.