Opinion Columns Summit County Colorado | SummitDaily.com

Columns

Biff America: A postal mourning morning

May 27, 2018 — In 1976, Joanie Kent was one of the prettiest gals in town. She was also smart, funny and tough. Not to brag but I was no slouch back then either. I owned an assortment of embroidered blue jeans and a sizable collection of turquoise jewelry

Learn more »

Mountain Town News: Grand Lake grocery plans to curb use of plastic bags

May 26, 2018 — GRAND LAKE, Colo. – A grocer in Grand Lake, at the west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, plans to phase out the use of most plastic bags this summer. "I have been talking about doing it for years. It was time to put up

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: 10 ways to protect our waterways

May 25, 2018 — Dear Eartha, I'm trying to be a better water steward. What are some ways to improve water quality? — Jim, Copper Mountain Glad you're interested in preserving water quality, Jim. Water stewardship is a key component to keeping our waterways clean, our drinking water safe

Learn more »

A walk in the woods with the Father, Son and Holy Spirit (column

May 25, 2018 — Kiki, my Newfoundland, has run into the woods and refuses to come when I call her home. So, I head off into the woods behind my house to find her. It's a bright sunny day, but because of the density of trees, once I enter

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Subaru’s 2019 Ascent is coming soon to every driveway near you

May 25, 2018 — As we spent a few days in Oregon last week with the much-anticipated 2019 Subaru Ascent, the company's first full-blown SUV, I joked with the staff that I could sell maybe 500 of them in an hour in the Dillon City Market parking lot. Maybe

Learn more »

Barnes: Don’t worry about the bears — really (column)

May 24, 2018 — We can all agree that the recent incident in western Colorado, when a black bear bit a 5-year-old child, and the bear was killed in response, was unfortunate and might have been even more tragic. But I'm a biologist who studies bears, and I want

Learn more »

High Country Baking: Victoria sponge cake can be made multiple ways

May 23, 2018 — Editor's note: High altitude makes cookies spread in the pan, cakes fall and few baked goods turn out as they do at sea level. This twice-monthly column presents recipes and tips that make baking in the mountains successful. Did you watch the royal wedding? Oh

Learn more »

Liddick: The invisible man in the White House

May 21, 2018 — So are the media really Russian 'bots? For those who missed it, a recent analysis of Russian social media activity during the 2016 election by University of Madison researcher Young Mie Kim concluded that Vlad the Terrible's trolls were not out to throw the election

Learn more »

Mountain Town News: Black bears struggle in yearsof drought but also warmth (column)

May 19, 2018 — GENOA, Nev. – Drought invariably means a hard summer ahead for black bears as food sources for the bruins become scarce. The New York Times explains that in 2012, a year of marginal snow in Colorado and other states, food supplies for black bears collapsed.

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: BMW’s tiny i3s is electric exotica at its best (column)

May 19, 2018 — Our strange and occasionally foot-dragging path to the next generation of automobiles occasionally produces a mainstream vehicle so ahead of the curve that you're not quite sure what to make of it. Near the top of that list is BMW's diminutive i3 all-electric, a small

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: The greatest unexplored mystery dwells within us (column)

May 18, 2018 — She told me that when she was in Bible College, a college established by the Pentecostal Church, there was a week when the entire student body, under the direction of the college president, prayed for an indwelling of the Holy Spirit. What followed was a

Learn more »

Heard Around the West: Free-range parenting and social media outrage

May 17, 2018 — Social media has once again outed a vandal who couldn't resist bragging about his allegedly "romantic" act. To immortalize his love for his wife, Jennifer, while visiting Corona Arch, which is about five miles away from Utah's Arches National Park, Ryan Andersen of Idaho Falls

Learn more »

Writers on the Range: ‘Lake’ Powell and me

May 17, 2018 — I have a long relationship with Lake Powell. I have spent hundreds, if not thousands, of hours in its canyons and on its waters. We even used to have a houseboat there. It's complicated. My parents were Danish immigrants, eager to explore the natural wonders

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Recycling event this Saturday the perfect complement to spring cleaning (column)

May 17, 2018 — Dear Eartha, I have an old TV, a pile of clothes, some unused medication, and a bottle of fertilizer collecting dust around my garage, what do I do with these things? — Bailey, Dillon Valley Bailey, we are so glad you asked because the annual

Learn more »

Dan Gibbs and Kathy Chandler-Henry: Protect Camp Hale and the Continental Divide (letter)

May 16, 2018 — The Centennial State was the first state in the nation to establish a public lands holiday, and on May 19 we will be celebrating the second annual Colorado Public Lands Day. This is a holiday when Coloradans honor the positive impact public lands have on

Learn more »

Squillace: Colorado aims to block river access (column)

May 15, 2018 — If you care about fishing or boating Colorado's rivers, this ongoing legal case should have relevance for you. Roger Hill is a 76-year-old Coloradan who likes to fish while standing on the bed of a stream. One of his favorite spots is a stretch of

Learn more »

Liddick: The unexamined Russia connection to Hillary Clinton (column)

May 14, 2018 — It was a respectable amount of money: $2.3 million dollars. It came from one businessman and went to one politician, passing through two shell corporations along the way. It was clearly earmarked "pay for play." Russian businessmen were peripherally involved. But this was not 2016

Learn more »

Purcell: For Mother’s Day, Embracing Our Lost Sense of Humor (column)

May 12, 2018 — "You've lost your sense of humor, and you need to get it back!" Such was the admonishment my mother gave me many times over the years when one of life's temporary failures gave me license to indulge in self-loathing. "Life is full of difficulty," she'd

Learn more »

Green: High schoolers forced Utah to admit climate change is real (column)

May 12, 2018 — It sounds completely improbable: The Utah Legislature recently adopted a resolution that moves the state from denial of global climate change to the recognition that finding a solution is crucial. An obvious question is how this flip-flop occurred in a Legislature with a Republican super-majority

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: How to soak up the sunshine without getting burned

May 11, 2018 — Dear Eartha, With summer finally kicking off in the High Country, what should I know about sunblock and sunscreen? I feel like there's a lot of information and opinions out there, and I'm really just confused. — Peggy, Breckenridge This is a great question that

Learn more »