Opinion Columns Summit County Colorado | SummitDaily.com

Columns

Mountain Wheels: Colorado drivers – I have some questions for you

December 14, 2018 — Not that it could possibly have anything to do with the coincidence of turning 50 a few days back, but I gotta say that my old-man-styled feelings on the state of driving in contemporary Colorado have finally boiled over. In fact, after a day trip

Learn more »

Opinion | Anderson: When the joy of Christmas escapes you

December 14, 2018 — Betty is one of the seasonal members of our Wednesday Prayer Shawl Knitters and continues to read this column even when she's home in Des Moines, Iowa. I only know this because she was in town this week and mentioned that she knew from last

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Small steps make a big difference in energy conservation

December 13, 2018 — Dear Eartha, I heard some buzz this week about an energy conservation day. What can I do to partake in energy conservation here in Summit? Nancy, Frisco Thank you for you timely question this week. World Energy Conservation Day is indeed today, and the intention

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Blue Christmas and a gravel pit

December 12, 2018 — A couple good ideas for your evening tomorrow: You can go to Blue Christmas, or check out Peak Materials' open house at the Silverthorne Pavilion. Chances are good that either beats another night at the same watering hole, or watching Netflix. Blue Christmas is an

Learn more »

Opinion | Polman: The Republican election fraud Trump refuses to tweet about

December 11, 2018 — In case you're wondering why you should care about a scandal-ridden House race in North Carolina — the last race on the midterm calendar that has yet to be decided — I'll simply quote congressional expert Molly Reynolds, who's based at the Brookings think tank

Learn more »

Opinion | Purcell: I’m dreaming of a debt-free Christmas

December 11, 2018 — Merry debt-fueled Christmas, America! According to a recent NerdWallet study, nearly 40 million Americans are still struggling to pay off credit-card debts from last Christmas. Here's what's worse: NerdWallet finds that this Christmas, "American consumers plan to spend more, charge more to credit, and take

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: Comey testimony shows lack of respect for rule of law

December 10, 2018 — On Friday last the walking, talking ego that is James Comey appeared again before a joint session of the House Intelligence and Judiciary Committees. Although the ranking Democrat, Adam Schiff, opined afterward that President Trump was endangered by the testimony, that seemed more the product

Learn more »

Opinion | Littwin: Findings may be bad for Trump and bad for Cohen, but they’re worse for the rest of us

December 9, 2018 — The more I think about the latest shocks from the Mueller Russia probe, the more I realize how great a disaster the findings represent. And not just for Individual 1 and his vast array of crooked cronies, who make the Nixon accomplices look like your

Learn more »

Biff America: Better kilted than killed (column)

December 8, 2018 — My mate still has wild dreams about me — she's only human. She admitted, "I had a wild dream about you last night." She dropped that bombshell as we were sitting at the breakfast table filling out our ballots for November's midterm election. Being politically

Learn more »

Opinion | Brooke: The simple postcard, an antidote to social media malaise

December 7, 2018 — I have a couple of good friends who still send me postcards when they travel. Over the past decade, these two friends are also the only people, at least in my life, who still purchase postcards as an endearing travel tradition. In 2013, CNN reported

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Antisemitism in America

December 7, 2018 — This week is Chanukah, and so it seems an interesting time reflect on what it means to be Jewish in America. For the record, an American Jew is more likely to be the victim of a hate crime than any member of any other faith,

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Don’t be afraid to talk climate change

December 7, 2018 — Dear Eartha, Over Thanksgiving, I had a difficult conversation with one of my family members about climate change. What are your tips for talking to deniers and should I even worry about them? Gary, Blue River Thanks for your question this week, Gary — gotta

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: When you’re tempted to tell God how the story should end

December 7, 2018 — When I think about my own faith, I picture it as one of those big fluffy snowflakes that seem to fall in slow motion, somehow heavier than the air yet caught in the air perhaps like a parachute so beautiful yet as soon as it

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: The classy Lexus RX 450h helps build hybrid support

December 7, 2018 — Automotive technology and people's interest in it often seem to head in two very different paths. We are excited for a future with highly efficient automobiles, less dependent on gasoline, but as long as gas is impossibly dirt cheap (it's already less than $2 a

Learn more »

Quandary: Looking at pedestrian safety on the mean streets of Summit County

December 7, 2018 — Dear Quandary, Can you remind people of crosswalk laws in Summit County? Samantha Walking across the street shouldn't have to be a death-defying adventure requiring all the courage one can muster, but when local drivers don't know the laws it can definitely feel that way.

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Anti-Semitism in America

December 6, 2018 — This week is Hanukkah, and so it seems an interesting time to reflect on what it means to be Jewish in America. For the record, an American Jew is more likely to be the victim of a hate crime than any member of any other

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Antisemitism in America

December 6, 2018 — This week is Hanukkah, and so it seems an interesting time reflect on what it means to be Jewish in America. For the record, an American Jew is more likely to be the victim of a hate crime than any member of any other faith,

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Antisemitism in America

December 6, 2018 — This week is Hanukkah, and so it seems an interesting time reflect on what it means to be Jewish in America. For the record, an American Jew is more likely to be the victim of a hate crime than any member of any other faith,

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Antisemitism in America

December 6, 2018 — This week is Hanukkah, and so it seems an interesting time reflect on what it means to be Jewish in America. For the record, an American Jew is more likely to be the victim of a hate crime than any member of any other faith,

Learn more »

Colorado Editorials: Colorado should wipe low-level marijuana convictions clean

December 5, 2018 — Colorado should wipe low-level marijuana convictions clean Possessing small amounts of marijuana has been legal in Colorado now for six years, and yet convictions still haunt those who got caught with a small amount of pot or paraphernalia before voters approved Amendment 64 in 2012.

Learn more »