Opinion Columns Summit County Colorado | SummitDaily.com

Columns

Opinion | Guidi: California’s apocalyptic fires are a side effect of modern life

September 21, 2018 — Megafires, firenados, constantly drifting smoke: The words seem to come straight out of the latest apocalyptic superhero flick, but lately we've been tossing them around without giving it too much thought. The Thomas Fire that destroyed parts of Ventura and Santa Barbara counties last December

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: An imperfect, cobbled-together life of gratitude (column)

September 21, 2018 — On Wednesday evening, I rushed home from work to make another pot of soup before I was due at St. Mary's for 5 p.m. Mass and 6 p.m. Formed Bible Study of Acts. I had two different soups already prepared which I'd made for my

Learn more »

Recipes: Smoked salmon chowder and velvety squash soup

September 19, 2018 — As we followed the dusty path, the Aspen glowed orange-yellow against the overcast sky, the lake rippled steel gray, and Joyce Mueller described a smoked salmon chowder that her husband, Ted, had made. It wasn't only that a smoked salmon chowder sounded like the perfect

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: Jared Polis appropriates 9/11 for political gain

September 17, 2018 — I was minding my own business when my email alarm chimed. I looked and noted an arrival from Colorado's own Jared Polis, which I opened, despite knowing better. Good thing I have a healthy heart and a strong stomach. "Dear Morgan," it began, and a

Learn more »

Hey, Spike! spools up thread bobbin with Paul Schiff’s story

September 14, 2018 — It may not be as glamorous as teaching skiing at Breckenridge or being a commercial airline pilot and flight instructor, but Paul Schiff has taken up sewing — for world good. Born in Newport, California, one of the Golden Bear state's hoity-toity coastal cities, Paul

Learn more »

Opinion | Koehler: My summer of stewardship

September 14, 2018 — I recognized that Colorado is "loved to death" and wanted to contribute to its health and healing. That desire sparked my summer of stewardship. On June 6, over 35 people gathered for National Trails Day to help heal the heavily used Salt Lick Trail system

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Infiniti’s full-size SUVs offer peerless comforts and style

September 14, 2018 — Looking back over this year's crop of hot rides, the trend is definitely skewing bigger and bolder — we still have a few old-fashioned actual passenger cars to address before the snow really flies — but the SUV revolution continues to be in full swing.

Learn more »

Walking our Faith: If you ever lose your faith in God

September 14, 2018 — It can arrive like a cloud that covers the sun on an otherwise beautiful day. It can happen anywhere, to anyone, it happened to me in the middle of Mass one day. It can be an unexpected medical diagnosis that changes our future. It can

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Gas stove tops wood burning for environmental factors

September 13, 2018 — Dear Eartha, My neighbor has been busy chopping wood all summer to get ready for the winter. I'm a bit jealous of his ability to heat with wood because it seems more natural. What is better for the environment — his wood stove or my

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Wake up to our plastic world with new Easy Being Green program

September 13, 2018 — Did you know there are five plastic islands floating in our oceans, and the biggest one — The Great Pacific Garbage Patch — is more than twice the size of Texas? It's floating halfway between California and Hawaii. It's been described by ocean travelers and

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: The clowns at the Kavanaugh hearing

September 10, 2018 — The circus came to Washington D.C last week. It was only a one-ring performance, but it featured more clowns than one could count and enough blubbering children to try the patience of a saint. Yes, it was hearing time in the Senate Judiciary Committee, as

Learn more »

Quandary: Why you can’t pedal with power on Summit’s recpath

September 8, 2018 — Dear Quandary, I want to purchase an e-bike because now, at age 76, I have a hard time pedaling up big hills such as the recpath from Frisco to Copper or Vail pass. I understand presently they are not legal on the Summit County recpaths,

Learn more »

Biff America: Songs And Promises (column)

September 8, 2018 — The drugs kicked in just before bedtime. The warning label specifically warned of not mixing the decongestant with alcohol. Had I read that label I might have known that. And if that combo didn't keep me awake my mate's elbows to my ribs cinched the

Learn more »

Opinion | Rosen: Protecting our digital kids

September 7, 2018 — Around 2010, therapists and counselors in high schools and college campuses around the country started to see upward trends in depression and anxiety in our youth. Teen suicide rates have also increased. These disturbing trends seemingly coincide with the availability and usage of online platforms

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: How to get started on composting

September 7, 2018 — Dear Eartha, I've always wanted to compost, but I'm afraid of the smell and attracting wildlife. How can I get started? Sara, Blue River Sara, this is such an important question. The U.S. government estimates that more food waste — 37 million tons annually —

Learn more »

Hey, Spike! drops names like falling aspen leaves

September 7, 2018 — Labor Day weekend provided a whirlwind of social action on The Summit for Hey, Spike! and artist wife Mary E. Staby. Among the roster of 120 artists at the 43rd Annual Gathering at the Great Divide in Breckenridge, we saw old friends and made some

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Fast-selling Subaru Crosstrek still rules the High Country

September 7, 2018 — What's more ubiquitous than a weed shop, an off-leash dog or an endless weekend traffic jam in present-day Colorado? How about the super-popular Subaru Crosstrek, now in the second year of its second generation? The revised version of that marginally lifted but certainly lifestyle-oriented hatchback

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: Is Sabbath worth keeping? (column)

September 7, 2018 — As I drive into town, I glance at Boreas Pass as it bisects a mountain. I'm checking the progress of the Aspen, gaging when it will be time to make my fourth annual drive beneath the canopy of gold and orange with many stops to

Learn more »

Colorado Editorials:Teller and El Paso county sheriffs are on the wrong side of the law

September 6, 2018 — Teller and El Paso county sheriffs are on the wrong side of the law The sheriffs in Teller and El Paso counties got it wrong when they decided to hold people in jail — beyond when a judge ordered they be released — at the

Learn more »

Knopf: Beware of big money (column)

September 4, 2018 — It's starting again. The battle of the mind. And they want yours. We all like to turn on the television and be mindless. That's what they're hoping for. They hope you aren't paying close attention. They hope you don't notice how they pull at your

Learn more »