Mozart, Beethoven together at the Riverwalk Center in Breckenridge |

Mozart, Beethoven together at the Riverwalk Center in Breckenridge

Amy Skjerseth
Special to the Daily
Assistant conductor Nicholas Hersh.
Special to the Daily |

The Breckenridge-based National Repertory Orchestra will perform “Mozart & Beethoven,” conducted by Nicholas Hersh, assistant conductor, today at the Breckenridge Riverwalk Center.

“These are some of the most beautiful musical masterworks played by some of the most talented young musicians alive, and the Second Symphony is Beethoven at the top of his game, overflowing with bubbling energy and unforgettable themes,” said Hersh, who also will conduct the NRO in its “Chiefly Tchaikovsky” concert on Sunday. “It’s the kind of program that makes a conductor simply drool.”

Hersh is the winner of the 2012 Solti Foundation U.S. Career Assistance Award and a two-time Aspen Music Festival conducting fellow. He was one of 20 young conductors from around the world to participate in the 2011 Bernard Haitink Conducting Masterclass in Lucerne, Switzerland, and in 2012, he competed and advanced in the Malko International Conducting Competition in Copenhagen, where he conducted the Royal Danish Orchestra for a jury headed by Lorin Maazel.

The “Mozart & Beethoven” program will feature Beethoven’s Symphony No. 2 in D Major, the last work he composed in his early period.

“Beethoven composed this work when he was realizing that his deafness was serious and progressing with alarming speed,” said Douglas Adams, CEO of the National Repertory Orchestra.

Works in the first half of the concert include Ottorino Respighi’s “Ancient Airs and Dances, Suite 1,” Max Bruch’s Romance in F Major, Opus 85, and Mozart’s Adagio K. 261 and Rondo K. 373 for Violin and Orchestra.

The second and third pieces will both feature string soloists. Hyo-Joo Uh will play the solo viola part on German Romantic composer Max Bruch’s Romance in F Major, a relatively unknown piece. After finishing her musical studies at the Colburn School Conservatory of Music, Hyo-Joo is currently pursuing her master’s degree at the Cleveland Institute of Music under Robert Vernon. She attended the Brahms Chamber Music Workshop with the Hill Piano Quintet, where she worked with Yo-Yo Ma, Leon Fleisher and Pamela Frank and performed at Carnegie Hall. Currently, she plays in the Canton and Akron Symphonies.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Adagio K. 261 and Rondo K. 373 for Violin and Orchestra will feature Kazato Inouye, violin, on a combination of pieces paired by maestro Carl Topilow. The Adagio was written in 1776 and the Rondo in 1781; played together, the delightful Mozart works will close the first half of the concert. Inouye, hailing from New York City, completed his undergraduate studies at the University of Michigan with Yehonathan Berick and will begin his second year of graduate studies there in the fall with David Halen.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.