Booster seats required for children under 8 | SummitDaily.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Booster seats required for children under 8

Daily News staff report

On Aug. 1, the expanded child passenger safety law in Colorado hit its one-year mark, which means law enforcement will start pulling over and giving $82 citations to drivers transporting children under age 8 who are not in a car seat or booster seat. Previously, the law only required child safety seats for children under age 6.

The year grace period allowed parents and caregivers to get informed and be prepared.

According to a press release, the law is meant to enhance the chances a child will emerge from an accident alive, less severely injured or unscathed and is based on research.

Colorado State Patrol is offering free help finding the appropriate car seat or booster seat for children. For parents facing financial hardship, some car seat fit stations provide car seats and booster seats at a reduced price or for a small donation. Find a fit station at http://www.carseatscolorado.com or call (877) LUV-TOTS.

When a child turns 8, the law allows them to use a vehicle seat belt. But for the best protection, safety experts recommend that kids continue to use a booster seat until they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall, which half of children will not reach until they are 11 years old.


Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.
 

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User