Summit County business briefs: Leaders recognized at awards ceremony |

Summit County business briefs: Leaders recognized at awards ceremony

The Northwest Colorado Small Business Development Center awarded five women as mountain town business leaders. From left to right: Amanda Wagner, Andrea Stewart, Dr. Christine Ebert-Santos and Candy Elkind (Awardee Robin Waters was not present).
Courtesy of Lindsey Stapay / Northwest Colorado Small Business Development Center |

The Northwest Small Business Development Center (SBDC) recognized five women in its inaugural Mountain Town Business Awards on March 3. The award recognized prominent and upcoming women business leaders in eight of Colorado’s mountain counties.

Five award winners were honored in the following categories: Legacy Leader, Creative Innovation, Emerging Leader, Legacy Health and Wellness Leader and Emerging Health and Wellness Champion.

Shannon Foley of St. Anthony’s Summit Medical Center presented the Emerging and Legacy Wellness Leadership awards to Dr. Christine Ebert Santos, of the Ebert Family Clinic in Frisco, and Amanda Wagner, Executive Director of the Aspen Clinic.

“We find ourselves in a transformative era in healthcare; one that fosters an alternatively proactive approach to community health,” Foley said. “…We commend those who follow a similar mission and appreciate your commitment as health and wellness leaders — your efforts have not gone unnoticed.”

Other Summit County honorees include Candy Elkind, who was given the Creative Business Women’s Award for launching her own fundraising business. Amy Kemp, co-founder of Elevate Co-Space in Frisco, was recognized as a distinguished Emerging Leader Honoree.

“Small business owners have made our nation’s economy strong,” Small Business Association regional administrator Betsy Markey said in a statement.

In 2016, the “Mountain Town Business Nomination Committee” will include the 2015 awardees and two nominating committee members from the previous year. The full list of awardees is as follows:

Legacy Business Women’s Award Winner:

• Robin Waters

Distinguished Legacy Honorees:

• Jamie Brown

• Lisa Adamo

Emerging Business Women’s Award Winner:

• Andrea Stewart

Distinguished Emerging Leader Honorees:

• Kristy Lee Gogolen

• Abbie Leigh Arbie

• Amy Kemp

Creative Business Women’s Award Winner:

• Candy Elkind

Distinguished Creative Leader Honorees:

• Lindsey Joyce

• Megan Ledin

Legacy Health & Wellness Leadership:

• Dr. Christine Ebert-Santos

Distinguished Health & Wellness Honoree:

• Kathleen Killion

Emerging Health & Wellness Champion:

• Amanda Wagner

Distinguished Health & Wellness Honoree:

• Denise Latousek


Kaiser Permanente will celebrate the recent openings of its new medical office buildings in Frisco and Edwards on Saturday, March 12 and Saturday March 26, respectively. Kaiser Permanente employees, physicians and executives will be joined by members of the Frisco and Edwards business communities as well as the public to commemorate the grand openings of these facilities.

Tours will be given of the facilities which offer primary care, routine laboratory services, routine medical imaging services and health education all under one roof.

There will be complimentary food and refreshments provided at each open house along with live entertainment, giveaways and fun family activities.

The event will take place on Saturday, March 12 from 1-3 p.m. and Saturday, March 26, from 1-3 p.m. at the Kaiser Permanente Frisco Medical Offices at 226 Lusher Court.


The Colorado Trust, a foundation dedicated to creating fair and equal opportunities for Coloradans to lead healthy lives, hired Jess Hankins, Candace Johnson and Mia Ramirez as community partners.

On March 2, the Trust announced it will now have seven community partners statewide, who will help organize and encourage resident-led initiatives to improve communities and make them healthier places to live.

“Candace, Jess and Mia all bring exceptional skills and experience to this important work in Colorado communities,” said Colorado Trust president and CEO Ned Calonge, MD, in a statement. “As we empower Coloradans to create their own visions for improved health and well-being, these talented new community partners will be there to help them every step of the way.”

Hankins will work with communities in Clear Creek, Eagle, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Lake, Moffat, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt and Summit counties. She previously served as public health specialist for Garfield County Public Health in Rifle, where she is also an adjunct faculty member at Colorado Mountain College. Hankins also worked at Eagle County Public Health. She has a Master of Science degree from Colorado State University.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User