Colorado Mountain College forced to delay Board of Trustees officer selection |

Colorado Mountain College forced to delay Board of Trustees officer selection

Mary Ellen Denomy

The Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees on Wednesday, Nov. 13 approved a resolution to delay the board election results until December.

Debra Crawford, CMC public information officer, said because the official election results were not available as of the date of the November meeting, the board was required to pass a resolution to wait until the next meeting.

The Junior College Organization Act requires the CMC Board of Trustees to meet within 10 days of the election to select board officers. But, the state’s election statute allows 17 days for the Board of Canvassers, in a coordinated election, to certify election results.

A junior college is a college offering courses for two years after high school, either as complete training or in preparation for completion at a four-year college.

The CMC board is not able to certify election results and select a board president, secretary and treasurer within the 10-day deadline, “because they don’t have certified election results in hand,” Crawford said.

In order to comply with the law to the extent possible, they will select board officers at the Dec. 11 meeting.

“There isn’t any question about the election outcome,” Crawford said. “This resolution shows that the board is making every effort to follow two laws that have conflicting timing.”

County Clerks informed CMC they will be conducting their final canvass of votes Nov. 21.

Incumbent CMC trustee Mary Ellen Denomy, of Parachute, won re-election Tuesday Nov. 5 with about 61 percent of the votes cast across the six-county college district, compared with about 39 percent for challenger Jay Rickstrew, of Rifle.

Two other trustee positions up for re-election, held by Charles Cunniffe and Glenn Davis, were not contested and the incumbents will return to their seats.

One resident from each of the following counties is elected to the board: Eagle, Lake, Pitkin, Routt and Summit. Voters also select an East Garfield and a West Garfield County resident.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User