Copper voters approve mill levy increase |

Copper voters approve mill levy increase

Lu Snyder

COPPER MOUNTAIN – On Tuesday, Copper Mountain voters approved a mill levy question to raise property taxes and selected Brad Leonard and Karl Anuta to the Metro District board of directors.

– Mill levy increase

The mill levy question passed 113 to 44, said district manager Elizabeth Black.

The property tax increase allows Metro District officials to fund Copper’s fire department, which is planning to convert from a combination of paid and volunteer firefighters to a fully paid staff.

In the past year, the Metro District transferred $550,000 from two enterprise funds – for cable television and water and sanitation – to the general fund, said Tom Malmgren, Metro District chairman.

Black said the Metro District will decrease cable and wastewater user fees to offset the increase in property taxes.

The approved mill levy increase is not to exceed $489,778 annually, or 11.65 mills, Black said.

– Copper Mountain Metro District board of directors

There were six candidates for the two seats on the Metro District’s board of directors. Copper Mountain resident Brad Leonard (who received 107 votes), and property owner Karl Anuta (95 votes) were selected by a wide margin.

Both were pleased with the news Tuesday night.

Leonard said he went to the chapel to read the election results after the polls closed at 7 p.m.

“Needless to say, I’m pleased and want to do a good job,” Leonard said. “I was impressed that we had good candidates and a lot of interest in the election.”

Anuta, who lives in Boulder, had not yet heard the results when contacted by the Summit Daily Tuesday night.

“I’m delighted,” Anuta said at the news. “I’ll do my very best to represent my constituents and to make sure that Copper Mountain develops in the way that the people of Summit County and the state of Colorado want and expect it to be.”

Each will serve a four-year term. They are replacing incumbents Bernie Bovee, who did not run again, and Harry Mosgrove, who failed in his bid for re-election.

Mosgrove, who has served on the board since 1987, received only 35 votes.

Also running were Randy Lewis, who received 34 votes, Ruth Hertzberg who received 18, and Jo Laird 13.

Lu Snyder can be reached at 970-668-3998 x203 or

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User