County approves medical marijuana moratorium |

County approves medical marijuana moratorium

summit daily news

SUMMIT COUNTY – Summit County Commissioners this week approved a 120-day moratorium on medical marijuana dispensaries for unincoporated areas. County officials are expected to create regulations for the businesses like Breckenridge, Silverthorne, Dillon and Frisco – and several communities across Colorado – have done in the past few months.

Location, operations and security requirements are among the regulations adopted elsewhere.

With no regulations from the state level, community leaders have struggled to draft their own rules for the dispensaries – which have become one of Colorado’s fastest-growing businesses.

The cities of Broomfield, Greeley and Superior have opted to ban marijuana dispensaries.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User