Colorado State Patrol begins heightened seat belt enforcement period | SummitDaily.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Colorado State Patrol begins heightened seat belt enforcement period

Colorado State Patrol began the first Click It or Ticket enforcement period of the year Monday, April 4.

Heightened state patrol presence looking for unbuckled passengers will extend until April 20. In 2021, 232 unbuckled passenger vehicle occupants were killed on Colorado roadways. Of those deaths, 72% were men and 28% were women, according to the Colorado Department of Transportation’s 2021 seat belt study. Colorado’s seat belt use trails behind the national average of 90% — with drivers in Colorado wearing seat belts 86% of the time.

During the three Click It or Ticket enforcement periods in 2021, 2,994 unrestrained drivers were issued citations across Colorado. Fines for not buckling up in Colorado start at $65, and parents or caregivers caught with an improperly restrained child can receive a minimum fine of $82. Last year, state patrol handed out more than 14,000 seat belt citations.




Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.