Deadline approaches for education nominations |

Deadline approaches for education nominations

HARRIET HAMILTONsummit daily news

SUMMIT COUNTY – Every spring for the last six years, the Summit Education Celebration has given the local community an opportunity to thank those who have made outstanding contributions to the education and well-being of area students.All local residents, including students and teaching colleagues, are invited to nominate teachers, support staff, administrators and friends of education who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, asset building and commitment to Summit School District and Colorado Mountain College (CMC) students and schools, for recognition at the seventh annual Summit Education Celebration.The event, to be held this year on May 4, recognizes all Summit School District and CMC employees by providing them with a special evening that includes a banquet, awards ceremony and school showcase video.”It’s a wonderful, feel-good event,” said Scoop Daniel, member of the Business Education Alliance (BEA), which sponsors the banquet. “We buy dinner for everybody in the school district and CMC.”The BEA, Daniel said, was originally founded in the 1990s as a joint project between private business and the schools to help kids acquire the skills they need to enter the workforce. Currently, the nonprofit organization sponsors a variety of career programs in the school district, as well as the annual banquet.”We decided to thank the educators on the part of the community for taking care of our kids,” Daniel said.Frisco Elementary paraprofessional Trudy Gleiforst, who received the award for outstanding support staff at last year’s event, said the recognition was especially meaningful to her.”They give you the letters that were sent in to nominate you,” she said. “People took the time to think about it and to do it.”Students, colleagues, parents and other community members are encouraged to submit nominations. Nomination forms are available at any Summit School District school or CMC campus; any Alpine Bank, FirstBank, Wells Fargo Bank, Community First National Bank or WestStar Bank; Summit Prevention Alliance, Visitor Information Centers, Summit Chamber of Commerce, Summit County Libraries, Breckenridge and Silverthorne recreation centers and online at, under “What’s New?”All nominations must be received by 4 p.m., April 14. For more information, contact Noel Hansen at (970) 513-5906 or Hamilton can be reached at (970) 668-3998, ext. 13624, or at

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User