Education Briefs: Summit woman named to Colorado Mountain College hall of fame |

Education Briefs: Summit woman named to Colorado Mountain College hall of fame

Left to right: Blake Saffell, son of the late Janice Kauvar (Spring Valley alumna (1976)); Steve Saffell, former/first husband of Janice Kauvar; Yesenia Arreola, Spring Valley alumna (2007); David Delaplane, Colorado Mountain College co-founder, honorary member; Amy Jackson, Breckenridge alumna (1999); Brian Allen, Colorado Alpine College alumnus (1969); George Bagwell, retired faculty, honorary member.


Thursday, Feb. 19

Summit Middle School, All School Play

Summit High School, BAAC, 7:30 a.m.

Summit High School, Hockey vs. Resurrection Christian, 6 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 20

Dillon Valley Elementary, Music Program, 3rd - 5th grade, 2:45 pm.

Summit Middle School, All School Play

Summit High School, Hockey vs. Mullen, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 21

Summit Middle School, All School Play

Feb. 23 - Feb. 27

Schools will be closed for winter break

Amy Jackson, the executive director of the Summit County nonprofit Advocates for Victims of Assault, was recently inducted into the Colorado Mountain College Alumni Hall of Fame.

Jackson moved west to Summit in 1993 and graduated from the CMC Breckenridge campus in 1999. While working various jobs in Summit, she commuted down the mountains to complete bachelor’s and master’s degrees in social work at the University of Denver.

Now she helps survivors of violence and those who have experienced other traumatic events through Advocates, which provides 24-hour bilingual crisis response, emergency housing and legal advocacy.

The organization also works with Summit schools to educate young students about violence, assault, harassment and conflict resolution through the Peace Maker Campaign.

CMC inducted six other new members into its hall of fame at the college’s campus in Steamboat Springs on Feb. 7: Brian Allen (Colorado Alpine College, class of 1969), Yesenia Arreola (Spring Valley, class of 2007), George Bagwell (retired faculty, honorary member), David Delaplane (CMC co-founder, honorary member), George Jardine (Spring Valley, class of 1974) and Janice Kauvar (Spring Valley, class of 1976).

The first CMC Alumni Hall of Fame class was honored in 2013, and inductees were drawn from alumni who had attended the college at any time since the 1960s. Also inducted that year were all of the members of the college’s first class of bachelor’s degree graduates.

The college’s alumni board selects alumni for the honor based on noteworthy accomplishments and contributions to their communities. For more information about the hall of fame, contact the CMC Foundation at

Scholarship due date nears for CMC students

More than $600,000 in scholarship money is available for qualified students attending Colorado Mountain College, and most scholarship applications are due March 1.

The CMC Foundation offers and administers more than 300 scholarships. To be eligible, students must be pursuing either a two-year or a four-year degree or working toward a certificate of occupational proficiency.

Students can fill out one online application for all scholarships administered by the CMC Foundation. Once an application is submitted, applicants are matched to qualifying opportunities.

To apply online or learn more, go to For information in Breckenridge, Dillon, Buena Vista, Edwards and Leadville, contact Kathy DesPortes at (970) 569-2969 or

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User