Frisco named Preserve America community |

Frisco named Preserve America community

FRISCO – The town of Frisco joined 10 other Colorado towns recently when it received official designation as a Preserve America community. Preserve America is a federal initiative created in 2003 to encourage local and regional efforts to maintain and enjoy historical assets. Official Preserve America communities are recognized for their efforts to protect, utilize and appreciate their historical heritage. Frisco Mayor Bernie Zurbriggen got the news of Frisco’s recognition in a letter from first lady Barbara Bush.”I commend Frisco and its leaders for their commitment to preserving an important part of our nation’s historic past for visitors, neighbors, and, most importantly, for children,” Bush wrote.The focus of the federal program is on use of historic assets, not just on preservation, Preserve America spokesman Bruce Milhans said. According to Milhans, heritage tourism is growing rapidly, particularly as baby boomers age.”People have money to travel and they want to see real things, not just Disneyland,” he said.Milhans cited town and community support for the Historical Society, the annual Founders Day Celebration and educational programs for local school children as primary reasons for Frisco’s recognition. The designation gives Frisco the opportunity to apply for up to $150,000 in matching-fund grants for projects such as heritage tourism, promotional programs and historic education initiatives. Frisco senior planner Jocelyn Mills said that, although the town has not yet applied for money through the program, the new grant opportunities are important. Many of Frisco’s historic buildings have been relocated and are ineligible for more traditional preservation grants, she said.In addition to grant availability, other benefits of the designation include use of the Preserve America logo on signs and promotional materials, notification to media and visitor bureaus, and listing in a internet-based directory.Since its inception three years ago, 372 communities nationwide, in 46 states, have been recognized by the program. Colorado towns include Cripple Creek, Glenwood Springs, Georgetown and Steamboat Springs. Frisco is the first in Summit County to be so honored.”We just wanted to promote Frisco,” Mills said. “We take our history seriously here.”Harriet Hamilton can be reached at (970) 668-4628, or at

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User