GOP, Dems announce caucus schedules |

GOP, Dems announce caucus schedules


SUMMIT COUNTY – Precinct caucuses will be held statewide on Tuesday, March 21. Colorado is one of 15 states to begin the election cycle through precinct caucuses, which are neighborhood meetings for voters registered with a political party. In Summit County, all 17 Democratic Party precinct caucuses will be held in the Summit County Community and Senior Center near Frisco, while all 17 Republican Party precinct caucuses will take place at the Best Western Lake Dillon Lodge near Safeway in Frisco. At a precinct caucus you have an opportunity to connect with friends and neighbors, to support a favorite candidate and to contribute to your county platform, a statement of principles and positions on issues of common concern.The precinct caucus is where activists set the direction of the party for the next two years. At the caucus, you:• Elect delegates and alternates to the county assemblies who may then go on to the state or congressional assemblies;• Discuss and vote on resolutions and issues to be submitted for inclusion in the party platform; and• Elect precinct committee people, who are the volunteers who lead party activities within a precinct and elect the party leadership at the county and state levels. Attendance at a Republican or Democratic caucus is open to all interested people, but to vote or to become a delegate, you must be a registered with your respective party for two months prior to the caucus and reside in the precinct for 30 days before the caucus occurs.The Summit Democrats caucus will be preceded by a potluck supper and entertainment beginning at 6 p.m. at the Summit County Community and Senior Center, while the Summit Republicans will gather for their caucus at the Best Western Lodge at 6:30 p.m.For more information on the Republican Party caucus, contact Ron Bristol at (970) 547-8138. For details about the Democratic Party caucus, contact Sandy Briggs at (970) 389-0987.Precinct detailsWhat’s a precinct?: One of 17 districts by which our county is divided for voting purposes. Each precinct has one polling place, the physical location where voting occurs on Election Day. The precincts are: • The Upper Blue has five precincts (Nos. 1-5) stretching from Blue River through Breckenridge down to Farmers Korner. • The Snake River area has four precincts (Nos. 6-9) which cover Montezuma, Keystone, Summit Cove, Dillon and Dillon Valley. • In the Lower Blue, five precincts (Nos. 10-14) represent Heeney and the Silverthorne region. • The three Ten Mile precincts (Nos. 15-17) take in Frisco, Copper Mountain and surrounding areas.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User