Colorado Mountain College names faculty and staff of the year |

Colorado Mountain College names faculty and staff of the year

Colorado Mountain College recognized its 2020-21 faculty and staff of the year, with two members of the Summit County team being honored.

Abby Crew, who teaches in Summit County, received the collegewide adjunct Faculty of the Year Award. Crew teaches English, history, sociology and gender studies on campus and through the online learning department.

“Abby is an innovative team player,” Chris Wenger, director of technology enhanced learning, said in a news release. “She’s had a positive impact on student learning and has worked to build collegiality.”

Flor Cruz Valdez, an academic adviser and senior enrollment services specialist in Summit County, received the full-time Staff of the Year Award.

“Flor makes me love coming to work, and she makes students feel like they belong in college,” English professor Sharon Aguiar said in the release.

Jason Shoup, Rifle campus assistant professor and welding instructor, was chosen as the full-time Faculty of the Year Award winner. Ezekiel “Zeke” Hall, prototype lab manager at Colorado Mountain College Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs, received the part-time Staff of the Year Award.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Summit Daily is embarking on a multiyear project to digitize its archives going back to 1989 and make them available to the public in partnership with the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection. The full project is expected to cost about $165,000. All donations made in 2023 will go directly toward this project.

Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.