Colorado Mountain College names faculty, staff of the year for Summit County |

Colorado Mountain College names faculty, staff of the year for Summit County

Jeremy Deem, left, Colorado Mountain College Summit County Faculty of the Year high fives graduate Jay Koenekamp at the campus' commencement in May 2019.
Charles Engelbert / Colorado Mountain College

Each year, Colorado Mountain College students and employees recognize faculty and staff members who demonstrate exceptional contributions to the college.

For the 2018-19 academic year, Colorado Mountain College Breckenridge and Dillon named Jeremy Deem the campus’s full-time Faculty of the Year. Deem teaches outdoor education, history and sustainability studies and Barrett teaches sustainability studies. Kristin Barrett was named adjunct (part-time) Faculty of the Year.

Jenn Besser, a college counselor at CMC Breckenridge and Dillon, was named full-time Staffer of the Year for the campus. Annie Peterson, who is an administrative technician, was named the part-time Staffer of the Year.

Joanne Yantz, who is based in Summit County, was named the Online Learning Faculty of the Year for CMC. Yantz teaches English throughout the college’s district and beyond.

“Our faculty and staff – both in the classroom and behind the scenes – play vital roles in ensuring that our students succeed,” CMC President and CEO Dr. Carrie Besnette Hauser said in a press release. “Because of all of you, our college and our students are thriving.”

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User