Dillon Town Council member named ski patroller of the year | SummitDaily.com

Dillon Town Council member named ski patroller of the year

Dillon Mayor Pro-Tem and Arapahoe Basin Ski Area ski patroller Louis Skowyra was named ski patroller of the year by Colorado Ski Country USA, the state's ski area trade association, at the group's annual meeting in Boulder on Thursday, June 11, 2015.
Chris Schneider / Colorado Ski Country USA |

Arapahoe Basin Ski Area ski patroller and Dillon Councilman Louis Skowyra was recently recognized as ski patroller of the year by Colorado’s ski area trade association.

At its 52nd annual meeting, Colorado Ski Country USA capped a record-setting 2014-15 season on June 11 with its Double Diamond Awards, where individuals who have made significant contributions to the industry were recognized for their excellence in competition, patrol, instruction, operations and ski area management.

Industry leaders gathered at Boulder Museum of Contemporary Art to recognize ski area employees whose diligence and expertise were crucial in providing a superior guest experience, including snow makers, groomers, terrain masters, ski instructors and ski patrollers.

In an association announcement, Skowyra was recognized for leveraging a remarkable skill set to benefit the safety and enjoyment of guests at A-Basin.

He is a licensed emergency medical technician, licensed blaster for avalanche mitigation, qualified cable rider for lift evacuations, trained accident investigator and wildland firefighter.

“Louis is one of the few young men I have worked with who rarely need supervision,” said Tony Cammarata, A-Basin ski patrol director. “His skill, drive and service make him exactly the kind of professional by which the next generation of ski industry leaders should measure themselves.”

Besides serving as an elected member of the Dillon Town Council, Skowyra is also a member of the Summit County Wildfire Council, and his community service helped him win the association’s Double Diamond Award.

Other awards went to Trish O’Connell, of Steamboat Ski Resort, who was named ski instructor of the year; Patrick Torsell, of Ski Cooper, named groomer of the year; Chris Branstetter, of Snowmass, named terrain master of the year (night crew); Tyler Reynolds, of Snowmass, named terrain master of the year (day drew); and Emily Barker, of Vail Mountain, named snow maker of the year.

In addition, the association celebrated the most exemplary young winter athlete of the year — 17-year-old ski jumper Logan Stanley of Steamboat Springs — and honored two industry professionals — Chris Diamond of Steamboat Ski Resort and Rich Moorhead of Monarch Mountain — whose dedication has benefited the entire Colorado ski industry.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User