Sublime Sounds of Summer Annual Community Concert |

Sublime Sounds of Summer Annual Community Concert

This Wednesday, June 14 the National Repertory Orchestra is hosting its annual free Community Concert at the Riverwalk Center in Breckenridge. Music Director, Carl Topilow, will lead the orchestra concert. This evening's performance will feature works by Elgar, Rodrigo and Stravinsky. For more information, visit
Courtesy National Repertory Orchestra |

If you go:

What: Stravinsky’s Petrushka – Free Community Concert

When: Wednesday, June 14, at 7:30 p.m.

Where: Riverwalk Center, 150 W. Adams Ave., Breckenridge

Cost: This is a non-ticketed event with general admission seating

More information: 970-453-5825,

Sublime Sounds of Summer Annual Community Concert

Gather friends and neighbors and head over to the Breckenridge Riverwalk Center for The National Repertory Orchestra’s annual free community concert.

In Joaquin Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, the composer describes this concerto as capturing “the fragrance of magnolias, the singing of birds, and the gushing of fountains” in the gardens of Aranjuez. Originally composed for guitar and orchestra, this work captures that sound so intrinsically associated with Spanish culture. Organizers look forward to the charm and individuality NRO Fellow Rachel Lee Hall will bring to this adaptation for harp and orchestra.

Famous for the riot that came after the premier of The Rite of Spring, Russian composer Igor Stravisnky has a spellbinding signature style built on driving rhythms, shocking harmonies and frequently dark subject matter. His ballet burlesque Petrushka tells the story of three puppets come to life. The lead character, Petrushka, is the very same playfully wicked figure known across the world by many different names such as Punch (England), Kasperle (Germany) or Pulcinella (Italy). Stravinsky’s imaginative orchestration vividly portrays the struggles of love and jealousy in this gripping masterpiece.

This program also features the soaring, lavish stylings of Sir Edward Elgar with his overture Cockaigne (In London Town), op. 40. While this self-taught composer is best known for his Enigma Variations and Cello Concerto in E minor, op. 85 his signature style which made those compositions so famous carries through to this positively English overture.

Seating is first come, first seated. The Sublime Sounds of Summer will take place on Wednesday, June 14, at 7:30 p.m. at the Breckenridge Riverwalk Center.

For questions or more information, please call 970-547-3100 or visit the websites at

—Summit Daily staff

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User