Mining Hall of Fame set to induct four |

Mining Hall of Fame set to induct four


Ceremonies for the induction of four mining industry pioneers into the National Mining Hall of Fame will be held Saturday at the Charles F. Barber Pavilion of the Museum Convention Center in Leadville.

The 21st Annual National Mining Museum and Induction Banquet will begin with an open house and reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by the dinner and program at 7 p.m. The four inductees are:

– Lew Eklund, 76, founder of Eklund Drilling Co., based in Elko, Nev., who helped to revolutionize gold-deposit exploration. He will attend the banquet.

– Carrie Jane Billings Everson (1843-1914), who patented a flotation process for the concentration of mineral ores.

– “Colonel” William C. Greene (1851-1911), a promoter who developed the rich copper mining properties of Cananea in northern Mexico.

– Arthur L. Hawkesworth (1860-1925), whose invention of the detachable drill bit in Butte, Mont., contributed greatly to mine economics and safety.

For reservations and information contact executive director Bob Hartzell at (719) 486-1229 or e-mail

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User