New National Ski Patrol board members take office |

New National Ski Patrol board members take office

Lakewood – On Jan. 8, two new members accepted their election to the National Ski Patrol board of directors. A new board chair was also elected.

Burt Mitchell, a ski patroller at Pahquioque Ski Resort in Connecticut, was elected as the new board chair, replacing Bela Musits, who stepped down.

Norris Woody of the Sugar Mountain Ski Patrol in North Carolina, who previously served as the NSP Fundraising Committee chair, was elected to his first term on the board. Also elected to his first term was Wally Shank of Bryan Mountain Nordic Patrol, which patrols at Devil’s Thumb Ranch in Tabernash, Colo. Two other members, Jim Decker, of Holiday Valley Ski Patrol in New York, and Larry Stone of Frisco, Colo., a patroller at Keystone, were reelected. Stone will chair the NSP Fundraising Committee while Decker will chair the Governance Committee.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User