Park County honored for conservation |

Park County honored for conservation


PARK COUNTY – Park County was recently named as one of five new Preserve America Communities in Colorado. The national designation is awarded to communities demonstrating strong dedication to the preservation of local history and a desire to share that legacy through heritage tourism. Park County Commissioners Leni Walker and John Tighe accepted the certificate of designation, signed by First Lady Laura Bush, for the people of Park County at a Feb. 10 luncheon at the Saving Places conference in Denver. The conference, hosted by Colorado Preservation, Inc., is the largest historic preservation event of its kind in the country. Representatives from Cripple Creek, Glenwood Springs, and Lake City also received certificates of designations as Preserve America communities. Georgetown was officially designated in August 2005 and had already received its certificate.The Preserve America White House initiative was established in 2003 to encourage and honor communities to share their history through heritage tourism and preservation. The county also applied for designation for the South Park region of Park County as a National Heritage Area. This region was made a Colorado Heritage Area in 1997.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User