Pet leashes and licensing Summit County, CO | SummitDaily.com

Pet leashes and licensing Summit County, CO

Explore Summit Locals Guide

Owning dogs and living in Summit County are often thought of as synonymous, but letting dogs run around without a leash is against the law in many local towns.

Unincorporated areas of Summit County allow dogs to be off leashes as long as they're under voice and visual control and within 10 feet of their owners.

Silverthorne, Frisco, Breckenridge and Dillon require dogs to be on leashes outside of your house or fenced-in property (and in case you didn't notice, we don't have many fences around here). Same with Arapahoe Basin, Copper Mountain, Willow Creek Open Space and all of the recreational pathways: You need a leash.

The Forest Service requires dogs to be on leashes at all times while in campgrounds and in the Eagles Nest and Ptarmigan Peak wilderness areas, both of which are north of Interstate 70. If the Forest Service or Colorado Parks & Wildlife catches your dog, it can cost you $125. Colorado Parks & Wildlife also has a regulation that prohibits dogs from harassing wildlife. National Forest lands that are not designated as wilderness areas do not have a leash law, but owners need to follow the county's immediate voice-control law when in these areas.

If you're looking for a place for Fido to run free, Breckenridge has an area on the Blue River at the Blue River Plaza where dogs can play off of leashes. They also can be off of leashes on the "dog side" of Carter Park.

registration

Recommended Stories For You

All dogs staying for more than 14 consecutive days in Summit County must wear a Summit County dog license. Proof of rabies vaccination is required to purchase a dog license. You can register a spayed or neutered dog for one year for $15 or $40 for three years. If your dog isn't spayed, it'll cost you $50 per year. Call animal control at (970) 668-3230 for more information.

want a dog?

If you want to join what seems like the rest of Summit County and own a dog — or buck the trend and get a cat or even a rabbit — check out the animal shelter at the County Commons near Frisco. The number is (970) 668-3230.

But, we must give you fair warning: Owning a pet can make it more difficult to find a place to rent, so think twice before bringing home a four-legged friend. If you're a renter and really need company, think goldfish.

Call animal control at (970) 668-3230 for more information