Plan to cast your vote before spring vacation |

Plan to cast your vote before spring vacation

SUMMIT COUNTY ” Since the April 6 town elections fall in the middle of the local schools’ spring break, voters should consider voting early to make sure their voices are heard.

Spring break is April 3-11, bad timing for elections in Breckenridge, Frisco, Silverthorne and Dillon.

Voters who are planning to leave the county have several voting options.

Registered voters in any of the four towns can request an absentee ballot from their town clerk until April 2.

Absentee ballots can be mailed back to the respective town clerk or absentee voters can drop off their absentee ballot before voters go on vacation.

The deadline for mailed and dropped-off absentee ballots is 7 p.m. April 6 at the voter’s town hall.

Any registered town voter can request an absentee ballot. Once a voter requests an absentee ballot, he or she will not be able to vote at the polls on April 6.

Absentee ballot applications are available from the town clerks in Breckenridge (970) 453-3167, Frisco (970) 668-5276. ext. 3028, Silverthorne (970) 262-7304 and Dillon (970) 468-2403.

Applications are also available online at,, or

Any registered town voter will be able to walk in to their town hall to vote between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. from March 25 through April 2 at the following locations:

– Breckenridge Town Hall ” 150 Ski Hill Road;

– Frisco Town Hall ” 1 Main Street, near the Frisco Post Office;

– Silverthorne Town Hall ” 601 Center Circle, near Blue River Parkway and Sixth Street; and

– Dillon Town Hall ” 275 Lake Dillon Drive, across from the Dillon Post Office.

The deadline to register to vote in the municipal elections was March 8.

However, emergency registration is possible at the Summit County Clerk’s Office, 208 Lincoln Ave., in Breckenridge, for those who qualify.

People who have lived in one of the towns for at least 30 days before the April 6 election and were registered to vote in the county they lived in before might be eligible for emergency registration.

On Election Day April 6, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the town halls of Breckenridge, Frisco, Silverthorne and Dillon.

Christine McManus can be reached at (970) 668-3998, ext. 229, or

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User