Hold the phone. Did Colorado just make it legal to text and drive?
A new state law only applies to texting while driving carelessly, which critics say opens the door for distracted driving
June 21, 2017
The electronic signs above Colorado highways offer a warning to drivers who reach for their cellphones: "New texting law fines increased to $300."
What it doesn't mention: Texting while driving is now legal in Colorado as long as it isn't done in "a careless or imprudent manner."
The little-noticed provision softening the state's standard is part of a new law that increased the penalties for a texting while driving carelessly citation from $50 to $300 and from one to four points on a driver's license
Trending In: Regional
- Frisco Flight For Life widow featured in campaign ad for Jared Polis touting helicopter safety
- Discovery Channel’s ‘Gold Rush’ is leaving Park County, but residents continue to fight for more mining oversight
- Mountain Town News: When smoke gets in your eyes — and in your lungs
- Colorado’s Constitutional conundrum: Gallagher vs. TABOR amendments, and what it means for us
- Colorado gem hunters are back near Alma mine that was once a mother lode of rhodochrosite, the official state mineral
- Breckenridge updates rules for short-term rentals amid firestorm of protests
- St. Anthony Summit breaks relationship with Vail-Summit Orthopedics for emergency trauma surgeons
- Summit County completes landmark deal to protect 1,125 acres of open land near Heeney from development
- Another piece falls into place for ‘legacy’ housing project in Silverthorne
- Summit County gets a clearer picture of how health care costs are driving up premiums