Ritter asks for federal assistance for 22 counties | SummitDaily.com

Ritter asks for federal assistance for 22 counties

DENVER ” Gov. Bill Ritter is asking for federal assistance for farmers and ranchers in 22 counties hit by drought or late spring freezes.

Ritter made the request to Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer in a letter Friday.

Ritter says native pasture production has been dramatically reduced in 20 counties because of drought.

They are Adams, Crowley, Kit Carson, Park, Arapahoe, Douglas, Kiowa, Prowers, Baca, Elbert, Las Animas, Pueblo, Bent, El Paso, Logan, Teller, Cheyenne, Huerfano, Otero and Washington.

Ritter also asked for additional aid for Fremont and Delta counties as well as Pueblo because early freezes destroyed fruit and vegetable crops.

Earlier this month, the federal Farm Service Agency approved emergency drought assistance for six counties, mostly in southeastern Colorado.

That allows ranchers to graze on Conservation Reserve Program land there.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User