Summit Foundation honors Philanthropy Award winners |

Summit Foundation honors Philanthropy Award winners

Daily News staff report

The Summit Foundation honored area individuals and organizations Friday night at the 20th Annual Philanthropy Awards hosted by Wells Fargo Bank.Approximately 300 people turned out at the Keystone Conference Center to pay tribute to the honorees. Over the event’s 20-year history, 202 individuals, families, community organizations and businesses have been recognized for their generosity and support to the local community.

The 2010 awards were presented to Mitzie Hawkins as the Dr. Oliver Stonington Outstanding Philanthropists, Barbara Calvin as Outstanding Volunteer, Barbara Leffler and Aris Sophocles as Outstanding Board Members, Ellen Reid as Outstanding Nonprofit Professional, Therese McGraw as Outstanding Educator, Chamonix Adams Porter as Outstanding Youth, Maureen Westerland as Outstanding Citizen, Advocates of Victims of Assault as Outstanding Nonprofit Organization and Karl Barth received the David Olbright Outstanding Youth Mentor award.Honored as the Dr. Oliver Stonington Outstanding Philanthropists, Hawkins’ philanthropic contributions are numerous and generous and include contributions of both time and money. Hawkins’ volunteer and financial support to community organizations includes Summit Medical Center, Flight for Life, the Keystone Science School, Lake Dillon Foundation for the Performing Arts, Summit Women’s Club and The Summit Foundation.In recognition of her outstanding leadership, dedication, and commitment to the National Repertory Orchestra, Barbara Calvin was honored as the Outstanding Volunteer. In addition to her volunteer work with the NRO she coordinated the “Friends of NRO” program and was instrumental in raising funds for the organization. Calvin also volunteers her time at the Saint John the Baptist Episcopal Church and is a member of their governing board.Two people were recognized as Outstanding Board Members. Barbara Leffler was recognized for her dedication as a devoted board member and President from Oct. 2007 to Apr. 2010 of Colorado West Regional Mental Health. During her term as Board President, she led the organization through major transitional and organizational change. Through her leadership and commitment Dr. Leffler has preserved a crucial community resource.Aris Sophocles also received the Outstanding Board Member award for his leadership with the Breckenridge Outdoor Education Center. Dr. Sophocles is a founder of the organization and has been involved with BOEC for 34 years. He has served four six-year terms on the board and four two-year terms as Chairman of the Board. His impact on the organization and the clients they serve is enormous.Ellen Reid of Keystone Science School was recognized as the Outstanding Professional in a Nonprofit Organization. Ellen has been an employee of the Keystone Center for seven years, becoming the executive director of the Keystone Science School in 2007. Through her leadership, camp attendance and programs have increased significantly, and she has led several collaborative efforts with Summit School District, the Lake Dillon Foundation for the Performing Arts and The Children’s Hospital. Reid also serves on the Board of Director of the Little Red Schoolhouse. Therese McGraw was recognized as the Outstanding Educator. McGraw has been a teacher in the Summit County Day Treatment program and worked with special education kids for 15 years. On a daily basis, she displays incredible creativity, patience, problem-solving skills, enthusiasm, compassion and empathy for all of her students and families. Additionally Therese is vice president of the Summit County Education Association and chairperson of the Summit County School District Insurance and Benefits Committee. Chamonix Adams Porter was recognized as the Outstanding Youth for her academic excellence at Summit High School, her student leadership skills, her passionate attitude for others and her insatiable drive to right the injustices of the world. Maureen Westerland was recognized as Outstanding Citizen for her volunteer work with the Friends of the Dillon Ranger District, the Family and Intercultural Resource Center, Lake Dillon Foundation for the Performing Arts, Domus Pacis, Colorado Mountain College, Summit Community Care Clinic, Summit in Honduras, the Keystone Science School, The Summit Foundation, Summit Medical Center and the Senior Housing Task Force.The Advocates for Victims of Assault was recognized as the Outstanding Nonprofit Organization for its work in helping victims of assault and its educational efforts. Celebrating 31 years of service delivery Advocates have responded to individual and families in crisis. The David Olbright Outstanding Youth Mentor Award was presented this year to Karl Barth for his motivational coaching of the Summit High Women’s Rugby program. Barth is influential to the young women he coaches because of his skill as a speaker and motivator. In many cases it is only after the girls graduate do they realize the extent to which he has changes their lives.

The 2010 Community Collaboration Award was presented to the Free Surgery Day. The first Free Surgery Day was help in April 2010 and 13 patients received life altering procedures allowing them to return to a higher level of functioning in our community. Thirteen partners, led by Dr. Peter Janes, collaborated to provide medical and surgical services to patients selected by the Community Care Clinic. This type of professional alliance is an outstanding example of what a caring community does for friends and neighbors in need. Partners included Vail Summit Orthopedics, Peak One Surgery Center, Summit Community Care Clinic, High Country Health Care, Summit Surgical Consultants, Pinnacle III, Summit Cardiology, Anesthesia Consultants, Summit Medical Center, MetroPath, Centura Health System, Surgical Notes and Peak One Pain & Spine.

The Spirit of the Summit Award is given to a Summit County individual, couple, partnership or family who has shown a will and character that stands as an example to others. This year, the committee posthumously honored Jay Bauer, who made a strong impact at many community events as master of ceremonies and was a committed member of Summit County Rotary. The Summit Foundation developed the Summit County Philanthropy Awards program in 1991, modeling it after national and state celebrations in which residents are honored for their contributions to their community. Special thanks to Wells Fargo Bank, Master of Ceremonies Jeffrey Bergeron for this year’s event, as well as the staff of the Keystone Conference Center, LaserGraphics and Wilson Lass.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Summit Daily is embarking on a multiyear project to digitize its archives going back to 1989 and make them available to the public in partnership with the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection. The full project is expected to cost about $165,000. All donations made in 2023 will go directly toward this project.

Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.