Summit County Scoreboard: High Lonesome 100, Junior Olympic Sailing regattas, Discrete Cirque Trail Series |

Summit County Scoreboard: High Lonesome 100, Junior Olympic Sailing regattas, Discrete Cirque Trail Series

Compiled by Phil Lindeman
Muddy mugs on the trail at the 2017 Breck 100 in Breckenridge, Colorado.
Phil Lindeman/ |

Ultra-bada** Hannah Taylor wins High Lonesome 100 in Salida by 2 hours

Winning an ultra-marathon is an enormous feat. But to beat the next-fastest runner by two hours? That comes with bragging rights for life.

On July 28, Hannah Taylor of Dillon did just that when she crossed the finish line at the High Lonesome 100 in 29 hours and 59 minutes — more than two hours ahead of the next female finisher, Ivy Lefebvre of Silverthorne in nearly 32 hours flat.

Oh, and both of these Summit locals ran 100 miles in nearly continuous rain.

“Undoubtedly a great race for her and great to (be) taking a second win here after her (adventure racing) win at the Teton Ogre with us about a month ago,” said Olof Hedberg, head coach for Summit Nordic Ski Club, where Taylor is a coach in winter. “We are obviously lucky here at SNSC to have coaches that are such good athletic role models for our athletes and understand what it takes to succeed at a high level in sports.

Taylor finished about six-and-a-half hours behind the overall winner, 23-year-old Anthony Lee, who finished in 23 hours and 29 minutes. The next-fastest man, Mike Wolfe, finished in 23 hours and 57 minutes.

Junior Olympic Sailing regattas | Dillon, July 29-30

A series of regatta races for junior sailors between 10 and 17 years old, hosted by Dillon Junior Sailing on Lake Dillon from July 29-30. After a non-starting regatta on Saturday — there was no wind during one of the few daylong rainstorms of summer — racing began in earnest on Sunday when more than 50 youth sailors from across Colorado and the region competed in four boat divisions: one-person Laser Radial, RS Tera and Optimist fleets; and the two-person C-420 fleet.

For complete results, see

Laser Radial, overall (9 races)

1. Cameron Holland, Community Sailing of Colorado

2. Kaan Johnson, Park City Sailing

3. Caleb Gilliam, Fort Peck Sailing Club

RS Tera, overall (7 races)

1. Lucas Fesenmeyer, DILLON YACHT CLUB

2. Benjamin Schreiber, Bow Mar Yacht Club

3. Cole Grider, Bow Mar Yacht Club

Optimist, overall (9 races)

1. Parker Younger, Fort Worth Boat Club

2. Jack David, Community Sailing of Colorado

3. Tanner DeMarzo, Clearwater Community Sailing Center

C-420s, overall (8 races)

1. Cameron Robinson/Jack Parks, Community Sailing of Colorado

2. Dora Shlosberg/Jole Paciulli, Community Sailing of Colorado

3. Cooper Robinson/Colton Parks, Community Sailing of Colorado

Discrete Cirque Trail Series | Arapahoe Basin, July 29

The inaugural Colorado installment on a national trail-running series, jhosted and founded by pro skier Julian Carr on July 29 at Arapahoe Basin. Nearly 200 runners from across the state and region came for an 8.2-mile run with nearly 2,200 feet of elevation gain from the base village to Little Lenawee Peak and back. Divisions were split between sport, expert and professional, with no age or time requirements for registration.

For complete results, see the “Cirque Series” tab at

Sport division, men

1. Patrick Gephart, BRECKENRIDGE — 1:09:23

2. Noah Brown, Golden — 1:13:22

3. AJ Laskowske, Broomfield — 1:15:08

Sport division, women

1. Erinn Flynn, Denver — 1:17:09

2. Ellen Downing, Denver — 1:25:45

3. Kate Levasseur, Craig — 1:28:12

Expert division, men

1. Jason Killgore, Boulder — 1:04:26

2. Kieran Nay, Monument — 1:04:34

3. Brian Macpherson, Lafayette — 1:05:07

Expert division, women

1. Eva Hagen, BRECKENRIDGE — 1:18:04

2. Mitzi Gray, Salt Lake City — 1:18:51

3. Jonnah Glassman, Denver — 1:25:48

Pro division, men

1. Timmy Parr, Leadville — 1:01:11

2. Chris Grauch, Nederland — 1:03:23

3. Logan Greydanus, Broomfield — 1:03:44

Pro division, women

1. Ashley Brasovan, Westminster — 1:08:40

2. Brandy Erholtz, DILLON — 1:09:31

3. Lanie Szuch, Evergreen — 1:16:49

Breck 100 | Breckenridge, July 29

The 13th edition of an annual ultra-endurance mountain bike race, hosted by Warriors Cycling on trails in and around Breckenridge July 29. Despite nonstop rain and a chilly morning, nearly all 300 registered riders started the event in one of three divisions: 32, 68 and 100 miles, with options for two-person and three-person teams. Everyone competed on one (or more) of three loops: Wheeler Pass to Copper Mountain to Peaks Trail, Colorado Trail to French Gulch and Boreas Pass to Como to Carter Park.

For complete results, see

Men’s winners, 100 miler

1. Sam Sweetser — 9:04:43

2. David Krimstock — 9:07:35

3. Josh Tostado — 9:30:16

Men’s winners, 68 miler

1. Kyle Trudeau — 5:43:56

2. Bryan Alders — 6:12:03

3. Zachary Dolzani — 6:12:05

Men’s winners, 32 miler

1. Ryan Currie — 2:52:34

2. Nathaniel Vacura — 2:52:34

3. Ian Catto — 2:56:35

Women’s winners, 100 miler

1. Larissa Connors — 10:10:18

2. Chase Edwards — 11:37:49

3. Parker Tyler — 11:42:40

Women’s winners, 68 miler

1. Ashley Carelock — 7:43:43

2. Andrea Wilson — 7:57:38

3. Jennifer Hibbits — 9:02:14

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User