US Forest Service seeks nominations for resource advisory committee |

US Forest Service seeks nominations for resource advisory committee

SkyHi News


The Rocky Mountain Region of the U.S. Forest Service is seeking nominations for a new resource advisory committee.

The committee will comprise 15 residents with diverse interests and function under a formal charter in accordance with the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act and the Federal Advisory Committee Act, according to Forest Service officials.

Members must reside within the state in which the committee has jurisdiction. Terms are four years and unpaid, though members may be reimbursed for travel expenses.

Resource Advisory Committee members will provide recommendations to the Forest Service on the development and implementation of special projects on federal lands.

The national forests that are represented on the Rocky Mountain Resource Advisory Committee include the Arapaho, Routt, Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre, Gunnison, Pike, Roosevelt, San Isabel and White River in Colorado and Medicine-Bow, Bighorn and Shoshone in Wyoming.

Those who are interested in serving on the Rocky Mountain Resource Advisory Committee to represent interested groups are invited to submit nominations. Final selections will be vetted and approved by the secretary of agriculture.

Nominations must be received by April 30. For more information on the committee and member requirements, visit


Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.