Ute nation elections new council member | SummitDaily.com

Ute nation elections new council member

DURANGO – A new member has been voted in to the Southern Ute Tribal Council, according to unofficial vote totals.Two of the six council seats were at stake in the election Friday. Incumbent Ramona Eagle and Steven Herrera Sr. won seats with the two highest vote totals, while incumbent Joycelyn Dutchie lost hers, according to preliminary results. Eldred Vigil Jr. also ran.The tribe’s election board will verify the results in the next several days.Other Council members are Vice-Chairman Matthew Box, Jimmy Newton Jr., Michelle Olguin and John Washington. Tribal Chairman Clement J. Frost remains in his post.The tribal membership elects a chairman every three years. Two Council members are elected each year for three-year terms.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.