Vote today in state primary |

Vote today in state primary

Jane Reuter

SUMMIT COUNTY – Summit County residents can cast votes in today’s primary election between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.

Today’s vote is key for two local races: treasurer and coroner.

Incumbent Treasurer Larry Gilliland is facing off against Marty Ferris, and coroner Dave Joslin is vying to regain his seat against Joanne Richardson.

Gilliland, treasurer for 16 years, believes his experience is the key to a continuing successful office. He cites improved technology made under his tenure, and said he’d like to continue making it easier for taxpayers to pay their taxes and access the treasurer’s office.

Ferris, county finance director, said she’ll make the treasurer’s office more efficient. The best part of her job, she said, is interacting with people and if elected, she intends to improve customer service.

Joslin, coroner for the past six years and a deputy coroner for four years before that, said he has a “help those in need” attitude. He also works with Summit County Ambulance.

Richardson is a paramedic, and has worked as a deputy coroner. She said she enjoys the challenge of information gathering and problem solving, along with the human need to provide closure to people during difficult times.

Voters must have a major party affiliation.

Those who can vote include “affiliated Republicans, affiliated Democrats and unaffiliated who declare themselves Republican or Democrat prior to voting,” said Vicky Stecklein, the county’s elections administrator. “Green party, Liberal, Libertarian, Reform party, any of those minor parties cannot.”

Votes may be cast for a wide variety of positions, including U.S. Congressional District 2, Colorado Senate District 16, Colorado House District 56, Regent of University of Colorado District 2, U.S. Senator, Governor, Colorado secretary of state, state treasurer, Colorado Attorney General, county clerk and recorder, county treasurer, county assessor, county sheriff and county coroner.

The seats for county clerk, treasurer and assessor are uncontested.

Jane Reuter can be reached at 668-3998, ext. 229, or by e-mail at

Polling Places

-Precinct 1, at Upper Blue Elementary, includes voters from Hoosier Pass to Farmer’s Korner west of Highway 9

-Precinct 2, at Father Dyer United Methodist Church, includes voters from Hoosier Pass to Farmer’s Korner east of Highway 9

-Precinct 3, at Summit Cove Elementary, includes all voters in the Summit Cove area

– Precinct 4, at Snake River fire station, includes all voters from Keystone and Montezuma

-Precinct 5, at the Dillon Town Hall, includes voters from Dillon and Dillon Valley

-Precinct 6, at the Silverthorne Recreation Center, includes voters from the Silverthorne area east of Highway 9 from Ptarmigan Mountain to Quaking Aspen Creek line

– Precinct 7, at the Silverthorne Town Hall; includes voters the Silverthorne area west of Highway 9 from Wildernest to Boulder Creek line

-Precinct 8, at the Lower Blue fire station, includes voters from the Heeney area from Boulder Creek and the Quaking Aspen Creek lines to the Grand County line

– Precinct 9, at the Frisco Town Hall, includes voters throughout the Frisco area from Farmer’s Korner to Giberson Preserve including Copper Mountain.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User