Watch: Harlaut, Lundquist win Newschoolers skier of the year awards |

Watch: Harlaut, Lundquist win Newschoolers skier of the year awards

Henrik Harlaut takes a quiet moment before the start of the men’s big air final during X Games Aspen on Jan. 30.
Photo by Kelsey Brunner / The Aspen Times

Henrik Harlaut and Taylor Lundquist, respectively, won male and female skier of the year at Thursday’s virtual freeski awards show.

The annual show — which last year took place at Copper Mountain Resort during Dew Tour — celebrates the best in freeskiing, from the competition scene to filming.

Harlaut also won Trick of the Year for the “Griselda Flip.” The trick was a double nose-butter front flip where Harlaut pressed and rode the tips of his skis into the top of the X Games Aspen knuckle-huck before flipping forward on his vertical axis but backward, and blind, horizontally down the hill before landing backward at the knuckle-huck base.

This year’s award winners also included:

  • Outstanding Video Project: “Keeshfile 20,” Keeshlife
  • Best Short Video: “Forrgive,” Forre
  • Crew of the Year: Carnage
  • Best Style: Antti Ollila
  • Comp MVP: Ferdinand Dahl

Newschoolers also inducted Will Wesson and Andy Parry into its hall of fame.

For more information on the award winners, visit

To watch a replay of the show, visit

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Summit Daily is embarking on a multiyear project to digitize its archives going back to 1989 and make them available to the public in partnership with the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection. The full project is expected to cost about $165,000. All donations made in 2023 will go directly toward this project.

Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.