Opinion Columns Summit County Colorado | SummitDaily.com

Columns

Littwin: How did Cory Gardner end up on the same side with the conspiracy nuts?

November 13, 2018 — In case you missed it, Cory Gardner was all over the Sunday news shows. At first glance, it seemed like vintage Cory, with Gardner — who chairs the National Republican Senatorial Committee — smilingly deflecting all tough midterm-election questions from Chuck Todd on Meet the

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: The election’s ugly aftermath

November 12, 2018 — Want outrage? At this point one should have it in spades. And not at President Trump's maladroit but accurate adjectives about the character of most of the American media. Want outrage? Consider that we are now living through a rerun of the 2000 Presidential election

Learn more »

Pet Scene: Summit County’s adoptable animals for the week Nov. 13

November 12, 2018 — CATS MISSY, 7 years, domestic medium-hair, tortoiseshell, spayed female CALLIE, 12 years, domestic short-hair, calico, spayed female GINGER, 9 years, domestic short-hair, orange, spayed female BELLA, 8 months, domestic short-hair, dilute calico and tortoiseshell, spayed female POOH, 3 months, domestic short-hair, buff, neutered male PIGLET,

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Lincoln’s Navigator Black Label channels Bentley for intense opulence (column)

November 12, 2018 — The grand winner of the Contemporary Automotive Overload award for 2018, if not for all time, goes to the 2018 Lincoln Navigator, specifically the extra-special Black Label edition. I'd say the $98,145 (as tested) Navigator handily encapsulates the spirit of our times — boisterous largesse,

Learn more »

Walking our Faith: The most important relationships in our lives are these (column)

November 9, 2018 — On Wednesday night I walked outside at 2 a.m. A carpet of stars sparkled with brilliant intensity in the frigid night air. I stopped to admire their beauty and flung a prayer toward heaven as I turned back to my own version of Jesus' parable

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Enjoy a sustainable Thanksgiving

November 8, 2018 — Hi, Eartha! With the holidays coming up I want to be conscious of the impacts holiday traditions have on our planet. How can I practice a more sustainable Thanksgiving? Elsie, Dillon Valley Elsie, thanks for reaching out! The Thanksgiving holiday is all about expressing gratitude.

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: What separates a patriot from a nationalist

November 7, 2018 — On this day after the election, some of us feel victorious and others dejected, defeated. Let's all celebrate the process that distinguishes us from so many other governments and political systems. In a recent episode of "Madam Secretary" there is a speech that quotes our

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: Election Day won’t change our entrenched political squabbles

November 5, 2018 — So today's the day; the day we discover the shape of our government for the next two years. And tomorrow, regardless of the result, the 2020 presidential campaign will begin. What we will see depends largely on who wins what. Nationally, if the averages of

Learn more »

Opinion | Reagan: Birthright citizenship is wrong for America

November 4, 2018 — The president rolled another flash grenade onto our political stage this week, and it sent the Trump Hate Media into a predictable tizzy. Trump was called a racist — for the umpteenth time — because he said he plans to use an executive order to

Learn more »

Opinion | Young: What’s a fear-based demagogue to do?

November 4, 2018 — It was a bad day for President Fear and the folks at Fox News. They had planned jointly to set pheromones aflame with high-decibel sounds about a caravan of people headed to our borders from Honduras. Oh, my: people in brown skin coming to do

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Jaguar’s stunning XF Sportbrake is one sexy beast

November 2, 2018 — After a summer and early fall that saw opportunities to drive all the big hitters in the luxury SUV world, I gotta say that I'm still a sucker for a fast, sleek wagon — and Jaguar's absolutely one-of-a-kind XF Sportbrake definitely wins as one of

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: This is not who we are (column)

November 2, 2018 — They were 11 children of God killed in the house of God because they were Jewish. I have grown up believing that the scale of anti-Semitism which produced the Holocaust could never ever happen here. Yet when I read about the massacre at Tree of

Learn more »

Home Cooking: What says football, winter and community dinners? Chili! (column)

October 31, 2018 — Last Tuesday, I started my fourth year on a winter team serving the community dinners at St. John the Baptist Episcopal Church in Breckenridge. Our first dinner is often chili, which means chili signals the start of the winter season in my mind. I've also

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Clear choices on Colorado ballot

October 30, 2018 — He's done it in front me, several times. With a puppy-dog grin pasted on his face, he flat out lied. I could never vote for Walker Stapleton, not even for dog catcher. Jared Schutz Polis (aka Jared Polis Schutz) is our best choice for governor.

Learn more »

Liddick: Migrant caravan could have been avoided (column)

October 29, 2018 — Forget the bright, shiny object: a bombing campaign whose bombs don't explode, seemingly produced by a conspiracy between Marinus van der Lubbe's great-grandson and Wiley E. Coyote. As nasty and un-American as it is, it's a diversion. The real story is happening in south-central Mexico.

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Take a trip in Toyota’s wayback machine, the Land Cruiser

October 26, 2018 — The oldest old-school SUV experience there is, Toyota's venerable behemoth, the Land Cruiser, stands alone in its perennial position atop of that company's vehicular food chain. And if you guessed that the Land Cruiser, in production since 1951 and sold in the U.S. since 1957,

Learn more »

Letters: Vote yes on 1A

October 26, 2018 — Vote yes on 1A As the executive director of Early Childhood Options, I have recently been fielding several questions from community members about referred measure 1A. Why the bundling? Where do these programs and strategies come from? How do we know this is the best

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: What to do about unanswered prayers (column)

October 26, 2018 — On Wednesday mornings the men arrive at Saint John the Baptist at 7 to study the Bible for an hour. At 8 a.m. I arrive for work and join the men in the chapel for a very unique communion service. Rector Charlie Brumbaugh sits in

Learn more »

Polis: Crossing the finish line (column)

October 26, 2018 — After three years of trying, finally, it became law! All newly manufactured helicopters are now required to be equipped with safer fuel systems. The amendment I co-authored with Rep. Ed Perlmutter passed the House of Representatives, Senate and was signed by the president in early

Learn more »

Opinion | Littwin: National GOP giving up on Coffman, but do CD-6 voters still believe?

October 25, 2018 — I know better than to believe — I mean, really, truly, from-deep-in-my-gut believe — that Mike Coffman is going to lose his CD-6 seat in Congress. Sure, it looks like he's going to lose, but haven't we been here before? Haven't we seen the five-term

Learn more »