Opinion Columns Summit County Colorado | SummitDaily.com

Columns

Ask Eartha: Adventure and travel don’t require a big carbon footprint

January 17, 2019 — Dear Eartha, I love to travel, but I know it's not the most sustainable activity. Do you have any tips for decreasing the carbon footprint of my adventures? — Jessie, Frisco Jessie, thanks for your question. I love to travel, too, and there's tons of

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: We can fund the government

January 17, 2019 — It's time for all of us to stop wringing our hands and realize we have the power to fund our government. It's a democracy. Call Mitch McConnell: 202-224-2541. Call Cory Gardener: 202-224-5941. Tell them to get off their butts! Tell them to call the bill

Learn more »

High Altitude Baking: How to make sophisticated mocha brownies

January 16, 2019 — Editor's note: High altitude makes cookies spread in the pan, cakes fall and few baked goods turn out as they do at sea level. This twice-monthly column presents recipes and tips that make baking in the mountains successful. PG-13. That's how this bar cookie should

Learn more »

Biff America: Seeking iron ladies (column)

January 12, 2019 — I'm sick of the rancor. This nation is as divided as I have ever seen it; and I've lived through Bay Of Pigs, Vietnam War protests, Watergate and Dan Quayle adding an "e" to the spelling of potato. Those days were a love fest compared

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: A Muslim, an atheist and a lesbian walk into a bookstore (column)

January 11, 2019 — The religious beliefs of my family probably resemble those of America. One member was raised in the Pentecostal Church, baptized in the Holy Spirit and often speaks in tongues while praying. Another member attends a megachurch with 5,000 people and a rock 'n' roll band

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: A voyage through time in two of the industry’s oldies

January 11, 2019 — As cutting edge and forward-looking as the auto industry tries to be, there are also plenty of examples of vehicles which, aside from minor facelifts and USB plug updates, remain virtually unchanged. I recently spent time in two of them, the Toyota Sequoia TRD Sport

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Trump’s wall stalemate blocking progressive ideas

January 10, 2019 — "I hope the Democrats will come to the table. I mean, right now, they're just saying no, they won't even come to the negotiating table," said Rep. Debbie Lesko, R-AZ. What? They passed a bipartisan bill to reopen the government, despite the fact the president

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Resolve to do more for the environment

January 10, 2019 — Dear Eartha, I already recycle and had an energy audit on my home. With the new year ahead of us, I'd like to step up my commitment to the environment. What can I do that will be most impactful? Maddie, Dillon Happy New Year, Maddie.

Learn more »

Home Cooking: You’ll ski faster if you come home to these apres-ski soup and sandwich combos

January 9, 2019 — Today's column was inspired by a sandwich that Wally and Maggie Ducayet brought us from the Amazing Grace restaurant in Breckenridge. Pat Hoogheem was having her annual Christmas cookie sale at St. John's during the first week of December, and I was helping out, mainly

Learn more »

Opinion | Littwin: It wasn’t just Polis who made history — it was also Colorado’s voters

January 9, 2019 — It wasn't just Jared Polis who made history as the first openly gay man to be sworn in as governor of any state. Most of that history was made by Colorado voters. And by Colorado politicians, for whom I'll take a moment to actually say

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: Rocking the government’s foundation

January 7, 2019 — "Our government is made for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other." — John Adams Yes that John Adams, co-signer of the Declaration of Independence; vice president and later president; friend, then enemy and finally friend again

Learn more »

Biff America: A fine ride and good intentions (column)

January 5, 2019 — Nick Cappa was a "no sweat babe" type guy. He smoked Tiparillos during a time where you could smoke almost anywhere; and he did. Nick drove a 10-year-old Cadillac, wore thick, yellow tinted aviator glasses and a leather jacket that looked to be made of

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Hey Mercedes: Say hello to the SUV of the future

January 4, 2019 — My first fully legitimate experience in a time machine came as I got a Christmas Day sneak peek during a typically challenging I-70 ski trip in the not-yet-available 2020 Mercedes-Benz GLE 450. The ultra-futuristic SUV, for sale in spring next year, pretty much takes the

Learn more »

Walking our Faith: When you’re struggling with a fear of failure

January 4, 2019 — When I went to Florida for Christmas, there was a beautiful pine cone wreath with a red plaid bow on Mom's front door. But when I entered her apartment there was not a Christmas decoration in sight nor did we exchange Christmas gifts on Christmas

Learn more »

Opinion | Reagan: Son of flake

January 4, 2019 — What's with Mitt Romney, the newly minted Republican senator from the great red state of Utah? Mitt hadn't even been sworn in yet and he put his name on a New Year's Day op-ed column in the Washington Post bearing the headline "Mitt Romney: The

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Portraits of a narcissist

January 3, 2019 — So often we talk about caring for our environment, caring for each other and our community efforts to create a better world. On the other end of the spectrum, we have the Narcissist in Chief. I'm not the first to apply the term. I think

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: The world through Janus’ eyes

January 1, 2019 — OK, everyone. Take a long, slow breath. Let it out … and consider the new-found quiet. After the angst-and-avarice-filled festivities of the Christmas season, it's time for a new beginning. Time to consider Janus, the two-faced Roman god of duality and transitions; of gates and

Learn more »

Biff America: Breeding and new beginnings (column)

December 29, 2018 — There were about 10 of us at a remote cabin on a long ago New Year's Eve and things looked to get cozy. Depending on how the next few days played out, we would all have a few great days of backcountry skiing OR the

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: Looking forward

December 28, 2018 — I have a couple books with me while visiting Mom this Christmas. One of them is "Christmas at Eagle Pond" by Donald Hall, former poet laureate of the United States. He describes a Christmas morning in 1940 spent at his grandparents home in the snowy

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Charity begins at home

December 27, 2018 — I can hardly believe it. The president shuts down the government to leverage an expensive, impractical wall nobody wants. He promised Mexico would pay for it! People talk to me about the president's abrupt decision to pull troops out of Syria, without any coordination with

Learn more »