Opinion Columns Summit County Colorado | SummitDaily.com

Columns

Hey, Spike! welcomes Blue Ribbon Bacon Festival back to Keystone

June 22, 2018 — What a combo — hot sizzling bacon and bourbon in a Keystone Resort setting. Brooks Reynolds of Des Moines, Iowa, is bringing his Blue Ribbon Bacon Festival tour to Keystone Resort's River Run Village today and tomorrow for the eighth time. It is now combined

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: Are We Still One Nation Under God? (column)

June 22, 2018 — "'I'm going to take your child to get bathed.' That's one we see again and again. … The child goes off, and in a half an hour, 20 minutes, the parent inquires, 'Where is my 5-year-old?' … And they say, 'You won't be seeing your

Learn more »

Gibbs and Ryan: The plan to fix the I-70 mountain corridor (column)

June 22, 2018 — Denver's Olympic and Paralympic Exploratory Committee recently announced its recommendation that Colorado should pursue hosting a future Winter Games. This has generated a tremendous amount of interest and discussion. One of the issues that consistently comes up is I-70. Can an already congested highway handle

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: HC3 hosts Resource Wise Sustainable Business Program

June 21, 2018 — Dear Eartha, I've been striving to live more sustainably over the past few years and want to make a better effort at my business. What tips do you have for someone trying to bring sustainability into the workplace? -Marc, Breckenridge While your efforts to live

Learn more »

Liddick: Isn’t Trump just enforcing the law? (column)

June 18, 2018 — It's impossible to understand the open-borders Banshees currently howling about "family separation" and "tent cities for kids" without grasping the psychological phenomenon of projection, wherein the subject attributes characteristics she or he finds objectionable in him- or herself to others. No, separating families is not

Learn more »

Mountain Town News: One ski town gets another hotel, but proposals elsewhere struggle

June 16, 2018 — SNOWMASS VILLAGE– In six or seven months, Snowmass Village will get another hotel as well as two other buildings. The 99-room hotel, will be branded as a Limelight, a relatively new chain of four-star lodging created by the Aspen Skiing Co. Limelights already exist in

Learn more »

Biff America: Changing a monkey’s mind (column)

June 16, 2018 — "Never discuss politics or religion with friends or family." I have been unable to locate the source of that quote. For some reason I thought it was Mark Twain. It was not. Twain did say, "In matters of religion and politics, a man's reasoning is

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: What happens to your recycling? (column)

June 16, 2018 — Dear Eartha, Recycling has been in the news lately, and it reminded me about a thread I saw on Facebook last year. Can you set the record straight — what happens to my recyclables after I put them out on the curb? Sarah, Breckenridge Thanks

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Big box bounty in GMC’s loaded Yukon XL Denali

June 15, 2018 — I cannot say that the Yukon XL Denali represents a truly affordable alternative to the fullest of full-size American luxury SUVs, the Cadillac Escalade ESV, but that logic seems to have put a lot of this fancified GMC version of the Suburban on the streets

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: We find our purpose as we find God (column)

June 15, 2018 — How we find God is a mystery as individual as our fingerprints. I believe it begins as a whisper within our hearts. Whether that represents a longing our souls have for union with our Creator, or whether it is our heart responding to God's call

Learn more »

Anderson: Driving in my car with Jesus (column)

June 13, 2018 — I'd just turned onto Upper Bear Creek Road in Evergreen, an incredibly scenic road on any day. But on that day, I snapped off the radio, and through tear-blurred eyes, I began pouring out my heart to Jesus. These few years later, I can't tell

Learn more »

Pepper Trail: When it comes to climate, normal isn’t normal anymore (column)

June 13, 2018 — Ah, "the new normal" — how many times have you heard those words in the past few years? Endless security lines at airports? Bitter partisan politics? Working multiple jobs with no benefits? All of these are "the new normal." Nowhere is this phrase more overworked

Learn more »

Liddick: Slick Willie wades into the Me Too moment (column)

June 11, 2018 — Is the long national nightmare at an end? Is it possible that the Clintons are finally over? The initial phase of Bill Clinton's new book tour suggests the answer might be yes. In a "Today" show interview with Craig Melvin, the former chief executive appeared

Learn more »

Biff America: Pungent courtesy (column)

June 9, 2018 — What a beautiful day: clear skies, cool temps, scintillating podcast and a nearly full bag of manure. Life is good. "From each according to their abilities to each according to their needs." That creed gets painted with a bigoted brush since it is often associated

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Green demolition diverts waste from landfill

June 7, 2018 — Dear Eartha, I recently read about a new hostel-style hotel being built in Silverthorne and the owner's goal of diverting 80-90 percent of the old building materials away from the landfill. Can you tell me more about "green" demolition? Jake, Silverthorne Jake, let me first

Learn more »

Mountain Law: Landlord considerations when the tenant breaks the lease

June 5, 2018 — This article is about abandonment issues. No, not the kind you might get from childhood loss, the kind a landlord has when a tenant prematurely vacates the premises in violation of the lease. Wrongful eviction. If a landlord improperly concludes that a tenant has abandoned

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Outdoor adventure requires a sense of safety

June 4, 2018 — Outdoor adventure requires a sense of safety I was saddened by the article about the death of the acclaimed mountain climber, Charlotte Fox, and especially surprised that it was likely the result from falling on her stairs inside her own home. In the same issue,

Learn more »

Liddick: Cary Kennedy’s carelessness on full display in Colorado gubernatorial race

June 4, 2018 — Memo to Cary Kennedy: most politicians wait until they are elected to begin breaking campaign promises. Second memo to Cary Kennedy: don't make a broken promise worse by acting as though your campaign knew nothing about it. "We can't legally coordinate with political action committees"

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Open-air grace and comfort in the new Mercedes-Benz E400 cabriolet (review)

June 2, 2018 — My first time in the all-new Mercedes-Benz E-Class was a middle-of-the-pack bonanza, a beautifully updated and technologically overwhelming E400 convertible that drifted ominously close to $90,000 with a page and a half of options. Committed online auto enthusiasts may have heard some recent speculation about

Learn more »

Mountain Town News: Confederate leader’s name may be replaced on Tahoe-area peak (column)

June 2, 2018 — MARKLEEVILLE, Calif. – Locally elected officials have recommended that a volcanic plug near Lake Tahoe named after a famous Confederate leader in the Civil War be renamed with a phrase used by the indigenous Washoe tribe of native Americans. The 9,065-foot-high Jeff Davis Peak honors

Learn more »