Letters to the Editor | SummitDaily.com

Letters to the Editor

Summit Daily letters: The who, what, where, why and how of county’s short-term rental regulations

September 20, 2018 — The who, what, where, why and how of county's short-term rental regulations Who? Who are the owners that offer rooms, condos or homes in unincorporated Summit? The county doesn't have the answer but they seem to think we need to be regulated. Sept. 17 was

Learn more »

Letter | Peterson: Chris Willard helped keep our creative sparks alive

September 17, 2018 — I wrote some of 2015's "Curves Ahead" for the Backstage Theatre. I am also a worker bee in the Summit County community since I moved up as a Denver native in 2002. Chris Willard and I became friends through my participation in The Backstage's Children's

Learn more »

Opinion | Newkirk: On bullies and fieldhouses

September 14, 2018 — Two recent unrelated articles in the Summit Daily deserve more attention than they'll probably get. The first is the bullying issue in Summit schools, with its rightful focus on victims but curious neglect of why bullying happens. With our current president setting new lows in

Learn more »

Letter | O’Brien: Summit County’s Tenderfoot decision didn’t address housing problem

September 13, 2018 — County's Tenderfoot decision didn't address housing problem It's very disappointing to see the Summit County commissioners eliminate 102 beds from our already strained employee housing market with this week's decision to reject Vail Resort's application to temporarily extend the Tenderfoot beds program at Keystone. No

Learn more »

Letter | Bird: Parting words from a long-time letter writer

September 13, 2018 — Parting words from a long-time letter writer Now being exposed to the pile of excrement that is the Supreme Court nominations, the notion that the process is a non-biased, non-political exercise is laughable. We all know by now through his life history and at least

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Why Backstage is important to our mountain town

September 12, 2018 — Why Backstage is important to our mountain town Emotion allows us to experience life's greatest joys like watching our children take their first skiing lesson, fiercely kick a soccer ball into the goal or bravely stand on a stage and sing in front of an

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: The Keystone bunkbed debate rekindled as Vail Resorts seeks county OK

September 10, 2018 — County should approve Keystone's request for bunk bed extension As we begin the activity and excitement of another school year, I urge all of us to pause and recommit to the most pressing issue facing our community: affordable housing. One of my sons is entering

Learn more »

Letters | Dorton & Cope: Boycotting Breckenridge Backstage Theatre is the wrong approach

September 7, 2018 — Boycotting Backstage is the wrong approach In a recent letter to the editor, a local couple recommended boycotting the Backstage Theatre to express outrage over the board's lack of support for Erin Gigliello and Chris Willard. As volunteers and season supporters, we hold that this

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Boycott the Breckenridge Backstage Theater

September 4, 2018 — The recent developments at Breckenridge Backstage Theater are a disgrace. Artistic Director Christopher Willard is one of the most talented creative forces we've ever witnessed. He could easily have had huge success in Los Angeles or New York City, or any other major metropolitan city.

Learn more »

Letters: Breckenridge theater’s loss a community tragedy

September 2, 2018 — In our little corner of theatrical nowhere, we have been blessed with two high quality community theaters, Lake Dillon and Backstage. Both have presented Broadway quality performances such as Other Desert Cities, The Velocity of Autumn, Chicago and most recently Annie. The announcement of Chris

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Liberal bias on display

August 30, 2018 — Clear-cutting questions – answered and not In his Aug. 23 letter "Let the Forest Service do its job," Terry Cochran laments: what it takes to make a buck as a logger; public opinion influencing forestry operations; pine beetles; and not replanting clear-cut areas. To make

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: A waiting list for pre-K students is shameful

August 29, 2018 — Act now before it's too late In response to the Summit Daily reporting that "345 children on pre-K waiting lists due to lack of space, staffing shortage." What if the article had said, "345 Summit high school students on wait list due to lack of

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Lake Hill workforce housing development an assault on Frisco

August 25, 2018 — Lake Hill an assault on Frisco Dillonthorne and Wreckenridge are uninhibited by natural boundaries, they can grow from Kremmling to Fairplay. The talk about a 400-unit Lake Hill project on the Dillon Dam Road is an assault on the town of Frisco. The forest island

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Why we’re expanding access to orthopedic care in Summit County

August 23, 2018 — Why we're expanding access to orthopedic care in Summit County We're glad Summit County is talking about orthopedics and how to get the best possible care. We're proud partners with St. Anthony Summit Medical Center in creating a new, local team for orthopedic surgery and

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Centura’s trauma surgeon decision flawed

August 22, 2018 — Centura's trauma surgeon decision flawed My husband and I, both doctors, moved to Dillon from Houston in July 2017. During his 23 years of practice in a large surgical group, U.S. health care changed radically, so we are very familiar with today's challenges to patients,

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: The looming water crisis a threat to our way of life

August 21, 2018 — The looming water crisis After reading "Water, Water, Everywhere: The Great Western Fallacy" in August, several members of the Summit County Page Peakers Book Club gathered for a discussion led by Genia Gallagher, Breckenridge resident and author of the book. Gallagher's intensive research clearly indicates

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Stepping back from the media frenzy

August 20, 2018 — Greed trumps respect for community, physicians When we moved fulltime to Summit County over a decade ago, we quickly learned that the finest and most trustworthy orthopedic care we would receive came from the outstanding surgeons and staff at VSO. The patient-doctor relationships formed since

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Column on Trump’s ‘Fake News’ rhetoric shows Summit Daily’s bias

August 17, 2018 — A difference between fake news and bias So much for independent journalism! I guess we shouldn't be surprised that the Summit Daily News would follow the lead of the Boston Globe on Thursday and chime in to the opining, aka whining, about our President's relationship

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Reactions to ‘President Trump, the enemy is not us’

August 16, 2018 — Reactions to 'President Trump, the enemy is not us' Thank you for your editorial. Unfortunately "We are not the enemy" can be said about many things happening in our communities, country and the world, both right now and in times past. I appreciate your viewpoint.

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Mountain bikes have no place in the wilderness

August 14, 2018 — Mountain bikes have no place in the wilderness RE: "Mountain bikes are here to stay" by Daniel Greenstadt, Writers on the Range, Aug. 10th I enjoy reading articles by Writers on the Range and don't recall ever seeing one by a writer whose opinion I

Learn more »