Recent Stories | SummitDaily.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Opinion | Guidi: California’s apocalyptic fires are a side effect of modern life

September 21, 2018 — Megafires, firenados, constantly drifting smoke: The words seem to come straight out of the latest apocalyptic superhero flick, but lately we've been tossing them around without giving it too much thought. The Thomas Fire that destroyed parts of Ventura and Santa Barbara counties last December

Learn more »

Letter | Gansmann: Enough is enough on county requests for blank checks

September 21, 2018 — Enough is enough on county requests for blank checks We applaud Rob Phillippe's Aug. 25 letter for "outing" our county manager and commissioners for their $1.75 million purchase of 44.8 acres of land (a.k.a. Lake Hill) along I-70 near Frisco Exit 203 in 2016 for

Learn more »

Walking Our Faith: An imperfect, cobbled-together life of gratitude (column)

September 21, 2018 — On Wednesday evening, I rushed home from work to make another pot of soup before I was due at St. Mary's for 5 p.m. Mass and 6 p.m. Formed Bible Study of Acts. I had two different soups already prepared which I'd made for my

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: The who, what, where, why and how of county’s short-term rental regulations

September 20, 2018 — The who, what, where, why and how of county's short-term rental regulations Who? Who are the owners that offer rooms, condos or homes in unincorporated Summit? The county doesn't have the answer but they seem to think we need to be regulated. Sept. 17 was

Learn more »

Recipes: Smoked salmon chowder and velvety squash soup

September 19, 2018 — As we followed the dusty path, the Aspen glowed orange-yellow against the overcast sky, the lake rippled steel gray, and Joyce Mueller described a smoked salmon chowder that her husband, Ted, had made. It wasn't only that a smoked salmon chowder sounded like the perfect

Learn more »

Letter | Peterson: Chris Willard helped keep our creative sparks alive

September 17, 2018 — I wrote some of 2015's "Curves Ahead" for the Backstage Theatre. I am also a worker bee in the Summit County community since I moved up as a Denver native in 2002. Chris Willard and I became friends through my participation in The Backstage's Children's

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: Jared Polis appropriates 9/11 for political gain

September 17, 2018 — I was minding my own business when my email alarm chimed. I looked and noted an arrival from Colorado's own Jared Polis, which I opened, despite knowing better. Good thing I have a healthy heart and a strong stomach. "Dear Morgan," it began, and a

Learn more »

Hey, Spike! spools up thread bobbin with Paul Schiff’s story

September 14, 2018 — It may not be as glamorous as teaching skiing at Breckenridge or being a commercial airline pilot and flight instructor, but Paul Schiff has taken up sewing — for world good. Born in Newport, California, one of the Golden Bear state's hoity-toity coastal cities, Paul

Learn more »

Opinion | Newkirk: On bullies and fieldhouses

September 14, 2018 — Two recent unrelated articles in the Summit Daily deserve more attention than they'll probably get. The first is the bullying issue in Summit schools, with its rightful focus on victims but curious neglect of why bullying happens. With our current president setting new lows in

Learn more »

Opinion | Koehler: My summer of stewardship

September 14, 2018 — I recognized that Colorado is "loved to death" and wanted to contribute to its health and healing. That desire sparked my summer of stewardship. On June 6, over 35 people gathered for National Trails Day to help heal the heavily used Salt Lick Trail system

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Infiniti’s full-size SUVs offer peerless comforts and style

September 14, 2018 — Looking back over this year's crop of hot rides, the trend is definitely skewing bigger and bolder — we still have a few old-fashioned actual passenger cars to address before the snow really flies — but the SUV revolution continues to be in full swing.

Learn more »

Walking our Faith: If you ever lose your faith in God

September 14, 2018 — It can arrive like a cloud that covers the sun on an otherwise beautiful day. It can happen anywhere, to anyone, it happened to me in the middle of Mass one day. It can be an unexpected medical diagnosis that changes our future. It can

Learn more »

Letter | O’Brien: Summit County’s Tenderfoot decision didn’t address housing problem

September 13, 2018 — County's Tenderfoot decision didn't address housing problem It's very disappointing to see the Summit County commissioners eliminate 102 beds from our already strained employee housing market with this week's decision to reject Vail Resort's application to temporarily extend the Tenderfoot beds program at Keystone. No

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Gas stove tops wood burning for environmental factors

September 13, 2018 — Dear Eartha, My neighbor has been busy chopping wood all summer to get ready for the winter. I'm a bit jealous of his ability to heat with wood because it seems more natural. What is better for the environment — his wood stove or my

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Wake up to our plastic world with new Easy Being Green program

September 13, 2018 — Did you know there are five plastic islands floating in our oceans, and the biggest one — The Great Pacific Garbage Patch — is more than twice the size of Texas? It's floating halfway between California and Hawaii. It's been described by ocean travelers and

Learn more »

Letter | Bird: Parting words from a long-time letter writer

September 13, 2018 — Parting words from a long-time letter writer Now being exposed to the pile of excrement that is the Supreme Court nominations, the notion that the process is a non-biased, non-political exercise is laughable. We all know by now through his life history and at least

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Why Backstage is important to our mountain town

September 12, 2018 — Why Backstage is important to our mountain town Emotion allows us to experience life's greatest joys like watching our children take their first skiing lesson, fiercely kick a soccer ball into the goal or bravely stand on a stage and sing in front of an

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: The Keystone bunkbed debate rekindled as Vail Resorts seeks county OK

September 10, 2018 — County should approve Keystone's request for bunk bed extension As we begin the activity and excitement of another school year, I urge all of us to pause and recommit to the most pressing issue facing our community: affordable housing. One of my sons is entering

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: The clowns at the Kavanaugh hearing

September 10, 2018 — The circus came to Washington D.C last week. It was only a one-ring performance, but it featured more clowns than one could count and enough blubbering children to try the patience of a saint. Yes, it was hearing time in the Senate Judiciary Committee, as

Learn more »

Quandary: Why you can’t pedal with power on Summit’s recpath

September 8, 2018 — Dear Quandary, I want to purchase an e-bike because now, at age 76, I have a hard time pedaling up big hills such as the recpath from Frisco to Copper or Vail pass. I understand presently they are not legal on the Summit County recpaths,

Learn more »