Recent Stories | SummitDaily.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Opinion | Knopf: Don’t go there: A guide to talking politics at the Thanksgiving table

November 20, 2018 — I was skiing with a friend who is not very active in politics and he said he and his wife feel they may have to drop some friends whose politics have become so virulent, so illogical, so vocal, they now find it difficult to spend

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Shame on you, town of Breck

November 19, 2018 — Shame on you, town of Breck I went to buy my parking pass for the North Gondola lot for this ski season. Talk about sticker shock. 2017 the parking pass was $219. Now the town of Breck is charging $299. Really! A 36.5 percent increase.

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: Time to end the Forever War

November 19, 2018 — Maybe it's finally time to go. Seventeen years, more than 2,400 dead and almost a trillion dollars later, we might consider the possibility that the best thing we could do in Afghanistan is leave. In 2001, following the 9/11 attacks plotted by Osama bin Laden

Learn more »

Biff America: A fragile front end in Paradise (column)

November 17, 2018 — I rolled into Paradise, California, in my mid-twenties, (late '70s) in a 1963 Studebaker with dings and dents and a bad front end. The car once belonged to a sweet old lady from Craig, Colorado. The lady only drove it to the liquor store and

Learn more »

Opinion | Hauser: Gratitude — and a promise from Colorado Mountain College

November 16, 2018 — In the recent midterm election, history was made. Aside from all the attention on national and statewide matters, Colorado Mountain College became the largest special district in the history of the state to successfully "de-Gallagherize" its revenue. By a margin of more than 2-to-1 (71

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: The environmental cost of a ski trip

November 16, 2018 — The environmental cost of a ski trip For the first time in years, I decided not to buy a ski pass in Summit County. I have been a Colorado resident and outdoor enthusiast for many years now. Each fall I have eagerly awaited ski season,

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Audi’s Q5 and SQ5 offer increasingly intense luxury SUV pleasure

November 16, 2018 — One of the strongest luxury SUVs on the market gets a range of updates, producing a 2018 Audi Q5 that is more powerful and smoother than smooth. It's a great car, but if you feel it's not quite intense enough for you, the 2018 SQ5

Learn more »

Walking our Faith: Worried about baggage at the dinner table? Here’s your guide to a better Thanksgiving (column)

November 16, 2018 — There were years when I lived in New York that instead of going home to Florida for Thanksgiving, I stayed in town and cooked elaborate feasts for friends who were no more than acquaintances. Most of the time I justified my absence by saying I'd

Learn more »

An illustrated debate: In honor of Stan Lee, which superheroes would ski or snowboard?

November 15, 2018 — One of the best aspects of being a real comic book fan is the arguments they create. Who's the better detective: Batman or Dare Devil? (Batman.) Who's the better underwater hero: Namor the Sub-Mariner or Aquaman? (Trick question, they both suck.) If you had to

Learn more »

Opinion | Knopf: Hate has no home here

November 15, 2018 — What? The election isn't really over? This week, we still had seven races in six Colorado counties too close to call. It turns out the latest numbers in the Colorado governor's race put Jared Polis a solid 10 points ahead of Walker Stapleton. We have

Learn more »

Ask Eartha: Demystifying the debacle of meat labeling

November 15, 2018 — Dear Eartha, I want to start purchasing more humanely-raised meat for my family, but I'm not sure where to begin with all the options, certifications, claims, etc. on labels out there. I'm a little overwhelmed. Can you help? Jonah, Silverthorne Jonah, I think this is

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: What the saga of Isak Hearstone the troll says about our community

November 15, 2018 — Isak Heartstone the troll has done exactly what trolls do: he has raised fear and anxiety, caused conflict between neighbors, incited peaceful warriors to a fury of rage, instigated name-calling and blame, emboldened harsh words and recrimination, and worse. Throughout their mythology, trolls are not

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: The rest of the story from Boot’s mouth

November 13, 2018 — And now for the rest of the story Re: Summit Daily News Nov. 11 article, "Tough as Boot." Thanks for the complimentary article. My daughter saw all the blue Summit Daily boxes with her dad looking out the windows and laughingly served me breakfast in

Learn more »

Littwin: How did Cory Gardner end up on the same side with the conspiracy nuts?

November 13, 2018 — In case you missed it, Cory Gardner was all over the Sunday news shows. At first glance, it seemed like vintage Cory, with Gardner — who chairs the National Republican Senatorial Committee — smilingly deflecting all tough midterm-election questions from Chuck Todd on Meet the

Learn more »

Opinion | Liddick: The election’s ugly aftermath

November 12, 2018 — Want outrage? At this point one should have it in spades. And not at President Trump's maladroit but accurate adjectives about the character of most of the American media. Want outrage? Consider that we are now living through a rerun of the 2000 Presidential election

Learn more »

Summit Daily letter: Support for fire districts is appreciated

November 12, 2018 — The board and staff of the Red, White & Blue Fire Protection District sincerely thanks the voting public of our fire district for your outstanding support resulting in the solid passage of Ballot Measure 6D. The passage of this financial stabilization measure allows our agency

Learn more »

Pet Scene: Summit County’s adoptable animals for the week Nov. 13

November 12, 2018 — CATS MISSY, 7 years, domestic medium-hair, tortoiseshell, spayed female CALLIE, 12 years, domestic short-hair, calico, spayed female GINGER, 9 years, domestic short-hair, orange, spayed female BELLA, 8 months, domestic short-hair, dilute calico and tortoiseshell, spayed female POOH, 3 months, domestic short-hair, buff, neutered male PIGLET,

Learn more »

Mountain Wheels: Lincoln’s Navigator Black Label channels Bentley for intense opulence (column)

November 12, 2018 — The grand winner of the Contemporary Automotive Overload award for 2018, if not for all time, goes to the 2018 Lincoln Navigator, specifically the extra-special Black Label edition. I'd say the $98,145 (as tested) Navigator handily encapsulates the spirit of our times — boisterous largesse,

Learn more »

Summit Daily letters: Preserve the history of the 10th Mountain Division

November 11, 2018 — Preserve the history of the 10th Mountain Division As one of the few remaining 10th Mountain Division veterans, I am writing to express my support for the Continental Divide Recreation, Wilderness and Camp Hale Legacy Act, currently being considered by our House and Senate. There

Learn more »

Walking our Faith: The most important relationships in our lives are these (column)

November 9, 2018 — On Wednesday night I walked outside at 2 a.m. A carpet of stars sparkled with brilliant intensity in the frigid night air. I stopped to admire their beauty and flung a prayer toward heaven as I turned back to my own version of Jesus' parable

Learn more »