Breckenridge native Jaxin Hoerter nominated to U.S. freeski halfpipe rookie team |

Breckenridge native Jaxin Hoerter nominated to U.S. freeski halfpipe rookie team

Breckenridge native Jaxin Hoerter executes a trick high above the Copper Mountain Resort superpipe during training for the December 2018 Toyota U.S. Grand Prix.
Summit Daily file

Breckenridge born-and-raised Jaxin Hoerter will compete again as a member of the U.S. Ski & Snowboard Halfpipe Rookie team in 2019-20 after a successful first season.

Hoerter, whose season peaked with a top-five finish at March’s Mammoth Mountain California Toyota U.S. Grand Prix event, was nominated to the men’s freeski halfpipe rookie team on Friday along with Dylan and Connor Ladd of Lakewood, Sammy Schuiling of Steamboat Springs, Hunter Carey of Winter Park and Cassidy Jarrell of Aspen.

The freeski halfpipe pro team will be led by veterans in multiple-Olympic gold medalist Davis Wise of Reno, Nevada; 2019 halfpipe world champion Aaron Blunck of Crested Butte and 2019 X Games halfpipe gold medalist Alex Ferreira of Aspen.

Also nominated to the men’s pro team is up-and-coming Winter Park freeskier Birk Irving, as well as Basalt’s Torin Yater-Wallace, who continues to recover after suffering a scary lower-leg injury at the Dew Tour at Breckenridge Ski Resort in December that forced him out of competition the rest of the winter.

And the final men’s halfpipe pro team nominations are Lyman Currier of Boulder and Hunter Hess of Bend, Oregon.

On the women’s side, the pro halfpipe team nominations include Brita Sigourney of Carmel, California; Devin Logan of West Dover, Vermont; Maddie Bowman of South Lake Tahoe, California; Annalisa Drew of Andover, Massachusetts; Carly Margulies of Mammoth Lakes, California; and Abigale Hansen of June Lake, California. There are two women’s halfpipe rookie team nominations: Svea Irving of Winter Park and Hanna Faulhaber of Carbondale.

The group of men’s freeskiers nominated to the slopestyle/big air pro team is led by a strong group of veterans, including part-time Breckenridge resident Nick Goepper of Lawrenceburg, Indiana. The rest of the pro team includes Alex Hall of Salt Lake City, Utah; Mac Forehand of Winhall, Vermont; Colby Stevenson of Park City, Utah; Kiernan Fagan of Brownfield, Maine; Willie Borm of Chaska, Minnesota; and Joss Christensen of Park City.

The men’s slopestyle/big air freeski team also includes four rookie nominations: Cody LaPlante of Truckee, California; Richard Thomas of Orono, Minnesota; Deven Fagan of Brownfield and Hunter Henderson of Madbury, New Hampshire.

On the women’s side, pro team nominations include Maggie Voisin of Whitefish, Montana; Julia Krass of Hanover, New Hampshire; Caroline Claire of Manchester Center, Vermont; and Darian Stevens of Missoula, Montana. The women’s rookie team includes nominees Grace Henderson of Madbury along with Marin Hamill and Rell Harwood of Park City.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User