Cosgrove ekes out win in return to peninsula |

Cosgrove ekes out win in return to peninsula

Jason Starr

FRISCO – The return of Emmett Cosgrove was the end of Wade Swarm’s stay at the top.

After missing the previous two tournaments in the AB/High Country Disc Golf Series while playing in pro tournaments out of state, Cosgrove returned to the peninsula Wednesday and won with a 2-under-par 52.

Swarm, who had taken the previous two contests in Cosgrove’s absence, shot 1-over-par.

Not only was it the end of Swarm’s win streak, but he also will likely drop out of first place in the season points series. Greg Kingsbury came into the night in second overall and finished in the top five. He’ll probably take over the series lead.

“I’ve been riding the wave the last few weeks,” Swarm said. “(Today) I just sort of watched it go away, and Greg was on fire.”

The pair played in the same foursome for the first time Wednesday. When Swarm suffered his first double bogey of the year on the 15th hole, Kingsbury followed with five straight birdies.

“I was just missing birdies today,” Swarm said. “You gotta make those long birdie putts. That’s the whole difference. (Kingsbury) was making those long ones when he had to.”

But even as he was overtaking the defending champ, Kingsbury knew not to celebrate. Cosgrove was lurking. Five players tied Kingsbury for second at 1-under, and Tom Luhr won the playoff with a birdie on the second hole for second place.

Cosgrove, who is president of the Peak One Disc Golf Club, can still win the season series. But it won’t be easy. The series has reached the halfway mark, with four of eight events remaining.

“I might have a chance at it,” he said, “but I’d have to win the rest of them.”

Players get points for every person they beat, so the bigger the turnout, the more points the winners get. There are additional points for first, second and third.

“I’m not statistically out of it yet,” Cosgrove said. “But it would be pretty tough for me to do.”

This was the largest turnout of the four events so far, according to tournament director Lori Davis. Forty players came out. Only three were women.

The winner of the amateur division was David Alderman, who shot a 56. Mike Neal was second with a 57, beating Mike Harbers and Dave Matthias in a playoff.

Robin Hotle beat Robin Hill by four strokes in the women’s division. Tim Kroening won the junior division by one stroke with a 69 over Jeremiah Schwartz.

The fifth event in the series will take place July 31.

Jason Starr can be reached at (970) 668-3998 Ext. 231 or at

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User