Locals snag wins in Breck Ascent skimo series | SummitDaily.com

Locals snag wins in Breck Ascent skimo series

Max Bonenberger skins uphill at Breckenridge Ski Resort during Wednesday's final Breck Ascent ski mountaineering series event of the season.
Courtesy Vincent Hutton, Breckenridge Recreation Department

The 2019 Breck Ascent ski mountaineering series wrapped up on Wednesday with a criterium-format race, which saw skiers complete as many laps as possible within an hour.

Summit County local Brett Bonenberger won the men’s competition with seven laps while Summit County local Eva Hagen won the women’s competition with six laps. Michael Hagen also completed seven laps for second place in the men’s competition.

The criterium course on Breckenridge Ski Resort’s Peak 7 required skiers to ascend via bootpack hiking and kick-turns in the trees before descending on a lower portion of the Monte Cristo trail.

Other skiers to finish six laps included second-place female Jill Sorensen, Daniel Kosel, Nick Truit, Devon Darby, Daniel Kraft, Jeremiah Vaille and Max Bonenberger.

Skiers who completed five laps included Guy Gadomski, Scott Yule, Becca Spiro, Eric Black, Kim Eytel, Jake Sklanka and Jaime Falcone.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.