Musser shines at RMD moguls finale |

Musser shines at RMD moguls finale

WINTER PARK – Team Summit freestyle skier Andy Musser won the final dual moguls competition of the Rocky Mountain Division season Sunday.

Musser notched six head-to-head wins on the day, beating skiers from Vail, Steamboat, Telluride and Winter Park on his way to the semifinals, where he faced and beat his former teammate, Eric Banghart.

In the final, Musser stayed consistent while his opponent, Eddie Kaiser of Steamboat, couldn’t land his second air. Steamboat’s Scott Vos took third.

Musser finished third in the Nor-Am dual circuit this season. A win would have earned him a spot on the U.S Freestyle Team.

In the women’s dual contest Sunday, Katherine Lynch was the highest Team Summit finisher in sixth. Teammate Jenny Haywood placed eighth. Steamboat’s Lauren Crawford and Carly Gmeiner took first and second, respectively, and University of Colorado skier Kara Johnson was third.

At Friday’s singles contest, Musser came away with a second place behind U.S. Team member Brady Johnson of Winter Park. Summit’s Jim Schad took third, and Kris Pepe was seventh.

For the women, it was Crawford, followed by Jill Norman of Winter Park and Gmeiner in third. Lynch was the top local finisher, placing fifth with some sloppiness throwing helicopters off the airs.

In the junior ranks, Telluride’s Jonathan Discoe edged out Team Summit’s Johnny Eaton for the boys’ title. Eaton crashed trying to land a corked 720-degree spin off the bottom air. Ryan Gillespie landed a D-spin to earn fifth place, and local up-and-comer Justin Henceroth finished a disappointing 14th.

Haywood was third for the girls behind Vail’s Alison Levy and Steamboat’s Erica Damon. Team Summit’s Leia Barnett had a breakthrough performance and finished eighth, while Whitney Henceroth was third and Sarah Ruckreigle was fourth for J3’s.

The United States Ski and Snowboard Association (USSA) Junior Olympics of freestyle take place in Steamboat this weekend. Team Summit skiers Justin and Whitney Henceroth, Eaton, Gillespie, Scott McDonald, Haywood, Ruckreigle, Jordan Poyfair, Caitlin Shay and Mikaela Mathews will compete.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User