Results from the Steamboat and Aspen golf invitationals, plus 2015 overall Summit Mountain Challenge Series |

Results from the Steamboat and Aspen golf invitationals, plus 2015 overall Summit Mountain Challenge Series

A racer crosses French Creek during the 2015 Fall Classic mountain bike race in Breckenridge. The ride has changed little since its early days in the '80s during the first big mountain-biking boom.
Louie Traub / Special to the Daily |


The first race of the 2015 Colorado High School Cycling League mountain bike series, held Aug. 29-30 at the Frisco Peninsula. The race marked the series debut in Summit County, with more than 750 male and female riders from Colorado, Wyoming and New Mexico.

Division I team overall

1. Fairview

2. Boulder

3. Battle Mountain

Division II team overall

1. Summit

2. East High School

3. Vail Ski and Snowboard Academy

Varsity girl’s overall (DI and DII)

1. Ezra Smith, Summit — 57:34

2. Molly Madden, Fairview — 1:01:54

3. Chantal Kershner, Fairview — 1:02:04

Varsity boy’s overall (DI and DII)

1. Will McBryde, East HS — 1:15:36

2. Stuart McKnight, Fairview — 1:16:28

3. Jack Tanner, Fairview — 1:16:52

5. Slav Uglayer, Summit — 1:17:05

JV girl’s overall (DI and DII)

1. Sarah Smith, Battle Mountain — 1:05:56

2. Keilea Barth, Fairview — 1:06:34

3. Kit-Kat Gruner, Casper Comp — 1:07:24

JV boy’s overall (DI and DII)

1. Rainer Barth, Boulder — 51:37

2. Nolan Herzog, Vail Ski and Snowboard Academy — 51:40

3. Michael Barrett, Battle Mountain — 52:27


The fifth tournament of the regular golf season, held Sept. 2 on 18 holes (Par 71) at the Aspen Golf Club with varsity and JV teams from nine Rocky Mountain teams. The Summit A squad had been lowering its combined score throughout the season until the Aspen tourney, when it slid to a season high.

Team overall

1. Aspen, 236

2. Basalt, 237

3. Fruita/Monument, 242

5. Summit, 278

Varsity leaders (Summit only)

1. Ethan Moroco, 92

2. Graham Gaspard, 93

T2. Keegan Cancelosi, 93

T2. Hay Braner, 93


The sixth tournament of the regular golf season, hosted by Steamboat High School on 18 holes (Par 72) at Haymaker Golf Course. Despite a deep and stacked field — 18 varsity teams started the day — the Summit team performed better than the previous day, shooting a combined 22 strokes lower than at the Aspen tourney. Glen-Michael Mihavetz of Montrose took first over Canon Olkowski of Grand Junction in a single-hole playoff on the 18th hole.

Team overall

1. Grand Junction, 222

2. Steamboat, 231

3. Montrose, 232

10. Summit, 256

Varsity leaders (overall)

1. Glen-Michael Mihavetz, Montrose — 69

2. Canon Olkowski, Grand Junction — 69

3. Trevor Olkowski, Grand Junction — 70

Varsity leaders (Summit only)

1. Graham Gaspard, 82

2. Keegan Cancelosi, 86

3. Tyler Horii, 88


Held Sept. 5 at Beaver Creek Resort, with 13 boy’s and girl’s teams from the Front Range and central Rocky Mountains.

For complete results, see and click on the results tab to search individual race results and statewide standings.

Varsity girl’s team overall (10 teams)

1. Battle Mountain

2. Cheyenne Mountain

3. Elizabeth

5. Summit

Varsity boy’s team overall (13 teams)

1. Durango

2. Battle Mountain

3. Cheyenne Mountain

11. Summit

Varsity girl’s leaders (Summit only)

1. Ruthie Boyd, 23:31 (5th overall)

2. Noelle Resignolo, 25:37 (22nd overall)

3. Morrison Donovan, 26:21 (30th overall)

Varsity boy’s leaders (Summit only)

1. Alex Lehman, 21:21 (31st overall)

2. Alex Mason, 23:13 (55th overall)

3. Ray Salazar, 25:32 (73rd overall)


The seven-race Summit Mountain Challenge Series took place just about every other Wednesday from June 3 to Sept. 6. As usual, this year’s series drew youth, elite locals and visiting pros. Here are the final standings:

Junior boys (under 16)

1. Jack Cronin

2. Galen Grohusky

3. Cooper Orr

Junior girls (under 16)

1. Brina Babich

2. Tai-Lee Smith

3. Aislinn Wehrman

Sport men

1. Colin Stingley

2. Jonathan Tashkin

3. Kevin Malone

Sport women

1. Kelli Jones

Expert men

1. Scott Yule

2. Jeff Cospolich

3. Thomas Messerschmitt

Expert women

1. Kristin Moyer

Elite/pro men

1. Mike Schilling

2. Nick Truitt

3. Josh Bezency

Elite/pro women

1. Amy Freeman

2. Sydney Fox

3. Christena Ward

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User