Rockies’ Tulowitzki, Gonzales win first Gold Gloves |

Rockies’ Tulowitzki, Gonzales win first Gold Gloves

Troy E. Renck
The Denver Post
Colorado Rockies' Troy Tulowitzki, left, celebrates driving in the winning run with Carlos Gonzalez against the Milwaukee Brewers in the ninth inning of the Rockies' 6-5 victory in a baseball game in Denver on Sunday, Aug. 15, 2010. (Special to The Denver Post, David Zalubowski)
DP |

Rockies manager Jim Tracy, though biased, believes Troy Tulowitzki has no peer defensively. He has called Carlos Gonzalez the most graceful player he’s ever seen running down flyballs.

Today, the Rockies’ dynamic pair won national recognition for their dynamic fielding.

“Tulo should get it. The range he showed, and his arm, he deserves it,” said former Red Sox all-star Nomar Garciaparra during the World Series. “But how’d he hit?”

Tulowitzki had a banner year offensively, batting .315 with 27 home runs and 95 RBIs, which should allow him to join Carlos Gonzalez as a Silver Slugger award winner when those are announced Thursday.

Garciapparra’s remark is traced to the Gold Glove’s recent history. It has become more of a popularity contest than a true measure of a player’s defense. Rafael Palmeiro won the award once at first base while serving primarily as a designated hitter. The Gold Glove winners are determined by a vote of managers and coaches of each league. They can’t vote for players on their teams.

With previous Gold Glove winners Jimmy Rollins and Rafael Furcal bothered by injuries this season, Tulowitzki was in position to be recognized. He took full advantage, committing just 10 errors in 609 chances.

Gonzalez excelled despite playing nearly equally in all three outfield positions. He had only one error. His selection was a bit of a surprise because 2010 was his first full year as a starter, but he made a huge impression on opposing managers.

“It would be a shame if he doesn’t get the Gold Glove,” Tracy said near the end of the season.

Before today, Colorado had only three Gold Glovers in franchise history – Larry Walker (five times), Todd Helton (three) and Neifi Perez (one) – and none since Helton trumped the competition in 2004.

Tulowitzki spoke about the Gold Glove prior to last season.

“Not winning it just builds that fire even more and provides motivation,” he said. “You only play so many years and it’s something I would definitely like to get.”

Read more: Rockies’ Tulowitzki, Gonzales win first Gold Gloves – The Denver Post

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Summit Daily is embarking on a multiyear project to digitize its archives going back to 1989 and make them available to the public in partnership with the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection. The full project is expected to cost about $165,000. All donations made in 2023 will go directly toward this project.

Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.