Silverthorne rider named to U.S. Snowboard Dev Team |

Silverthorne rider named to U.S. Snowboard Dev Team

PARK CITY, Utah – Silverthorne’s Justin Goto-Reiter was named to the 2003 U.S. Snowboard Development Team this week. The Snowboard Team includes 11 men and nine women plus 13 riders on the development squad, head coach Peter Foley said.

High-riding Gretchen Bleiler (Snowmass Village), last season’s most successful female halfpipe rider, outstanding junior Hannah Teter (Belmont, Vt.) and six Olympians – including medalist Chris Klug (Aspen) – headline the 2004 U.S. Snowboard Team.

“Both the halfpipe and alpine teams are a solid mix of veterans and new talent, which makes for a great training environment,” Foley said. “The older riders are on the top of their game and serve as a guide to the younger team members, but at the same time the young kids are constantly pushing the veterans with their fresh aggressive approach to training and competition.”

Bleiler landed on the podium of every event she entered in 2003 and posted the highest halfpipe score ever with 48.6 points (out of a possible 50) at Mount Bachelor in the Chevy Truck U.S. Snowboard Grand Prix. She topped the overall Grand Prix and Triple Crown series, along with winning the Games and U.S. Open.

Hannah Teter (Belmont, Vt.) closely trailed Bleiler last season. Teter was voted Nintendo Rookie of the Year (by her peers at the U.S. Finals), Ski Racing 2003 U.S. Junior of the Year and was the 2002 World Junior Championships halfpipe gold medalist.

Entering his ninth season on the team, Olympian Tommy Czeschin (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.), returns along with World Championships bronze medalist Steve Fisher (St. Louis Park, Minn.) and Andy Finch (Fresno, Calif.), who not only won the 2003 World Cup opener but finished the season as the men’s U.S. superpipe champion. Seth Wescott (Farmington, Maine), silver medalist at the 2003 World Championships and U.S. champion in Winter 2003, is the lone snowboard cross rider.

On the alpine side, Ski Racing U.S. Alpine Riders of the Year Pete Thorndike (Meredith, N.H.) and Stacia Hookom (Edwards), are joined by Klug and two other two-time Olympians, Rosey Fletcher (Girdwood, Alaska) – the first U.S. rider to make the first Olympic Snowboard Team in 1998 – and Lisa Kosglow (Boulder).

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User