Team Summit fairs well at freestyle champs |

Team Summit fairs well at freestyle champs

Special to the DailyTeam Summit freestyler Jordan Poyfair ,left, poses with her Go For the Gold Award and the combined women's Grand Prix Award for the Rocky Mountain Division. Sarah Ruckriegle poses with her Don Banghart Award which she won for women's dual Grand Prix in the division.

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS – Team Summit Freestyle Team’s Jordan Poyfair and Eric Lehman captured junior mogul gold medals at the Rocky Mountain Division championships last weekend in Steamboat Springs.

Poyfair was joined by teammate Sarah Ruckriegle, who finished sixth, as season award winners, as well. Poyfair captured the Go for the Gold Award, which is given to the athlete who embodies the spirit of going for it.

Former Rocky Mountain athlete Melanie Palenik created the award. Palenik represented the United States in the Winter Olympics in Calgary, when freestyle skiing was still a demonstration sport.

Ruckriegle took home the Don Banghart Award given to her overall performance this season in freestyle skiing.

Poyfair was second, while Mikaela Matthews was fourth in the overall points.

The event in Steamboat was the final chance for athletes to boost their points and land a spot in nationals at Heavenly Valley, Calif., March 26-28. While Lehman, Ruckriegle, Justin Henceroth, Poyfair and Jenny Haywood have already qualified, a few other athletes will find out today about their status.

“Hopefully this event made the difference,” Team Summit coach John Dowling said. “The more the merrier. We definitely want to bring a full team out there. Five is good, and if we get more, that’s terrific.”

One of those on the bubble is Jake Iverson, who finished seventh in the halfpipe, third in Big Air and 26th in moguls last weekend. Another is John Eaton, who increased his chances with a third-place finish in championship moguls.

Nick Ross placed 10th, while Henceroth landed in ninth. Thomas Hussa, Colin McDonald, Matt Robichad, Scott McDonald, Riley Campbell, Derek Sakamoto, Louis Cirillo, Nickolas Wolf, Derk Slottow, Jordan Chivarelli, and Erik Berntsen also represented the boys for Summit.

Whitney Henceroth, Rebecca Miller, Paige Eggebrecht and Caitlin Shay also competed for the girls.

This weekend, the Development Championships will be held at A-Basin.

Aerials is scheduled for Friday, while the moguls competition will be held Saturday.

Ryan Slabaugh can be contacted at (970) 668-3998, ext. 257, or at

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User