Tech’s Knight publicly reprimanded for comment on officiating | SummitDaily.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Tech’s Knight publicly reprimanded for comment on officiating

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech coach Bob Knight was given a public reprimand by the Big 12 for comments about officiating after a loss to New Mexico earlier this month.The reprimand, issued Monday, pertained to Knight arguing about Lobos freshman Dairese Gary’s one-handed 47-footer at the halftime buzzer in New Mexico’s 80-63 victory Dec. 15. Knight didn’t think Gary released the shot in time.”I thought it was a horrendous call,” Knight said after the game.Knight’s comment violated the Big 12’s sportsmanship code, which prohibits public comments about officiating, the conference said in a news release.Knight and his spokesman couldn’t immediately be reached Wednesday.The Big 12 reviews officials’ performances, including the accuracy of judgment calls, and coaches are given the opportunity to provide input, the release said. The season-long evaluation determines whether officials get future assignments in the conference.New Mexico’s win was the second for Lobos coach Steve Alford against Knight, his coach at Indiana.


Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

As a Summit Daily News reader, you make our work possible.

Now more than ever, your financial support is critical to help us keep our communities informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having on our residents and businesses. Every contribution, no matter the size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality, local journalism.

For tax deductible donations, click here.
 

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User